We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem! Just what you've always looked for....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Treille Muscate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Treille Muscate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cliousclat
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A gem! Just what you've always looked for....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife & I stopped overnight on a road-trip back from Nice to Suffolk, UK. Tucked away a few minutes from the autoroute in a magical little village (Cliousclat) near Montelimar. Our large and characterful room had a lovely terrace with a fabulous view over farmland and a row of extinct volcanoes!
The bathroom may have been a little dated and quaint but was in character and it all worked.
The hotel is a maze of little stairways and rooms all beautifully furnished in country style.
We were made welcome by all the cheerful and obliging staff from the moment we arrived.
Pre-dinner drinks were served in a pretty lounge - or outside on a terrace with lovely views.
The restaurant comprises several rooms and was full the night we were there. The menu was varied and presented regional specialities. The standard of cooking and presentation was unexpectedly high and we enjoyed all three courses of our meal. The wine list was also more than adequate. Service was cheerful and efficient with helpful and knowledgable waiting staff.
After a peaceful night we also enjoyed an excellent breakfast in the dining-room served by similar pleasant and helpful staff.
The village itself is very picturesque and well worth a stroll round.
A great stop-over we were sad to leave as we both felt we could have stayed there a few days longer to explore the area - and the menu! - in more detail.
The rooms are all different but you can see them all on their web-site and there are prices to suit all pockets.
In summary: a charming, tucked-away bolt-hole with a lot to offer locally for a longer stay.
We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Columbus92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
22
124
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed here as a stopover, and I'd chosen it on the basis of restaurant reviews, which did not disappoint - very good food, and on a terrace with a superb view up the Drome valley. The room, a twin, was tiny and dark although to be fair, clean and functional, which was all we needed for a one-night stop. However, I wouldn't want to stay longer, it felt more like a restaurant with rooms than a hotel with a good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirehog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Not only is this gem in a beautiful old village with stunning views,the dinner was absolutely five star.
Only five minutes from the autoroute near Montelimar, an ideal overnight for those travelling to the south from Calais.
Rooms comfortable and stylish.
Will appeal to those who do not like big or flash.
An old original house and a large summer terrace looking over the valley to the Rhone has been tastefullly restored to retain original character.
A bonus is safe off street parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedjspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We chose this hotel to break up our drive and were really impressed with this beautiful, quaint village. It is so much more than a stop-over, I recommend a stop here to anyone in the area. The restaurant is lovely, the view down the valley is superb and the room was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful and this very old, but very well appointed hotel fits into this lovely setting to provide an experience that shouldn't be missed. The drive up to the village is a little interesting, but the whole atmosphere is so much better than staying in a larger city.

Room Tip: A room that has a balcony with a view down the valley is a highlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Small, charming, very French hotel with small (Hot) rooms. Panoramic views of the Rhone Valley countryside. Tiny Provencal village with many potteries. The Restaurant garden in summer was full every night with a brilliant atmosphere and wonderful gourmet food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I always check out trip advisor reviews before I book a hotel and I have to admit I was nervous after reading the latest two reviews . It didn't make sense especially since the rest of the reviews were all so positive and wonderful! I decided to ignore those two cranky posts and to follow my instincts! So glad I did, La Treille Muscate is just as wonderful as most guests described it: the hotel is so charming and comfortable..Our room was very spacious, had its own balcony and was very well appointed ( especially at such a reasonable rate), the staff is attentive and friendly, and the restaurant is first class ( highly rated in all the best guides such as Michelin and Gault et Millot).
I will make La Treille Muscate a regular stop when I am in France, perfect stopover between Paris and the cote d'azur.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paskypass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Pathetic Hotel.You cannot stay with family as there was lots of noice outside our room.
For both the days there were people in the hotel who were drunk and making noise using abusive language till late night.

Pillow and blanket were stinking.The room had a closed balcony with another building in front so really of no use.Hotel reception was not at all polite .

Overall very bad hotel.Not good for family stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank MM_TravellerGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cliousclat
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Mirmande
Hotel de Mirmande
#1 of 2 in Mirmande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Capitelle Hotel
La Capitelle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mirmande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Les Oliviers
Hotel Les Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Loriol-sur-Drome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Auberge la Plaine
Auberge la Plaine
#1 of 1 in Chabrillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant la Cardinale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Treille Muscate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Treille Muscate

Property: La Treille Muscate
Address: 26270 Cliousclat, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Cliousclat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cliousclat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Treille Muscate 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Treille Muscate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Treille Muscate Cliousclat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing