We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and amazing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel, Eshowe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshowe
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The Goer'ge Hotel is very different from the description I saw. Rooms were very clean and beds queen size veru comfortable, the swiming pool is beautiful and was clean too. I don't understand this critic. The house is antic so windows and floor are charming, even some rooms are a little bis small is very clean and conofrtable. Graham is a real "white zoulou" entirely involved in projects to help the rurall community (chennells projet volunteers something) and he bult more than 300 School with the money he found from sponsoring and bring some volonteers. He is a famous personnage here and you can come to a real zoulou weeding or healing ceremony with sangoma with is tour fro a small price, the experience was very strong and incredible, I was pround to not be in Shakaland with trouist groups and an artifical dance for them in a false attraction parc !
To talk more about the hotel, you have diffrents room for diffrents standing, the staff is kind and professionnel, and the bar is fantastic (the music about 11 pm is not a cataclysm the women who left the comment is really grumpy to not accept any noise). The bar is friendly and the pics exhibition fantastic. Go there if you want to know the Zoulou culture, really.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmilleparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2009

If we had read the one-star review below before our visit to Eshowe (and I have not given the rooms at the George a rating because we did not stay in the hotel, though we ate there) we would probably not have visited at all. That would have been a pity - for reasons that have everything to do with the people we met here rather than the smartness or otherwise of the hotel. Service was kind, helpful and charming - and not polished. There are times when warmth counts for more than polish.

For a start, take note that Eshowe is not on the major tourism route; it's on the edge of Zululand and it takes quite a long time to drive there from Durban. It's a 'real', unpretentious place in lovely countryside. It enjoys a certain remoteness and it also has considerable charm, wrapped as it is around a Forest at its centre, and with many traces of a comfortable and elegant past.

The George was once, no doubt, comfortable and elegant too - certainly Chennells, where we stayed, the home of the hotel's owner, Graham Chennell (now often absent), has been - and still is - very beautiful, even though it too is these days in far from perfect decorative order.

Richard Chennell, in the next generation, is in the early stages of a major overhaul of the entire enterprise - and the coffee shop, which occupies one corner of the hotel (the only thing that gets a plus from the other reviewer!), is one of the first aspects of what should eventually become a much better venue. For example, the attractive, sympathetically styled verandah that wraps itself around one side of the hotel is actually brand new too - but you wouldn't know it because it looks as though it has been there forever. That's good design. And there are many further plans in the pipeline. But all of this takes time and persistence and limitless energy, not to mention cash!

Richard is a character, a larger than life burst of enthusiasm for Eshowe and everything that happens there - and wonderful, wonderful things are happening there. We spent three days with Richard and his 'team' learning about Zululand, visiting the market in Eshowe itself, going round the Zulu villages in the company of the local people, seeing some of the excellent projects that Richard and his family have set up and continue to support. One of these is a technical college, where young people can learn skills that will make them employable as builders, car mechanics, dress makers and so forth - an incredibly worthwhile and much-needed resource in this hard-pressed community.

I can truly say that our time in Eshowe was the highlight of our three weeks in South Africa, not because of the sophistication of the accommodation, certainly, but because of what we experienced there. In our three days we visited Zulu homes, schools, an orphanage full of tiny, lively, HIV-affected children, a church, and a museum and craft centre; we even attended a deeply moving Sangoma (faith healer/herbalist) ceremony - all in the company of Karen, a very remarkable person who, from a white Afrikaans background, has become an accepted part of the Zulu community and who took great pains to help us understand a culture that was so strange and new to us. If an insight into a 'primitive' way of life doesn't appeal to you, don't for goodness sake book this tour - but if catching a very personal glimpse of an ancient way of life that offers great spiritual depths and may not survive much longer has an appeal, do.

Richard, we applaud everything you and your family and colleagues are trying to do. Don't give up - and remember that we, at least, are still intending to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank North-easterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This place is in drastic need of repairs and is definitely not worth staying in. This is my first review and since I was having trouble finding reviews about this place I decided that I should warn others. I have included photos below to ensure you that I am not exaggerating.

Overall everything is old and in need of some sort of repair or replacement in this place.
-The beds are very dirty and the sheets are paper thin. Our bed frame consisted of part bed frame and the other part was made up of stone bricks holding up the mattress.
-The TV had partial color and manual buttons
-The toilet seat cover was broken and only partly attached
-The shower head was broken and not adjustable and shot water straight backwards in a steady stream, flooding the floor after a 2 minute shower. The ripped & tied shower curtain was another joy
-Most of the windows were falling down and unable to close or lock, and with a low roof under the window you would not feel secure leaving anything of value in the room.
-The pool was not usable as it was totally filthy
-The attached bar can be quite noisy if trying to get to sleep before 11pm
-I also did not enjoy having my table set with a used spoon.

On the plus side:
-There are some great photos on the wall
-Coffee shop was nice and served good snacks

It seems as though the owners are more interested in running the bar as a business and have really let the hotel slide.

I would not even consider staying here. There should be many other hotels/motels around and even some B&Bs. If you are still out of luck consider staying out of Eshowe as there are many other towns within a 30minute drive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveldog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuluBlonde, Manager at The George Hotel, Eshowe, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Yes, the hotel was in pretty bad shape in 2009. Old country hotels are hard work to maintain but we managed to do it and also rustle up enough funds to refurbish. We have actually refurbished the whole place over the last few years. The Bar is now at the back overlooking the Forest and the pool has been removed and made into a lovely garden. We have new rooms and new facilties including a new restaurant, new coffee shop, new beer garden, new car park, new Pizzaria, new Conference facilties. You must come back and take a look. or check out website www.thegeorge.co.za. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lene42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Swengirella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank stefano_and_debora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eshowe
5.2 mi away
Shakaland
Shakaland
#1 of 1 in Nkwalini
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
InnZululand Guest Lodge
InnZululand Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Eshowe
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleys Guest House
Thornleys Guest House
#6 of 16 in Eshowe
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eagles Nest Guesthouse
Eagles Nest Guesthouse
#5 of 16 in Eshowe
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
#10 of 16 in Eshowe
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Birds of Paradise B&B
#9 of 16 in Eshowe
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel, Eshowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel, Eshowe

Address: 36-38 Main Street, Eshowe 3815, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Eshowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshowe
Price Range: $87 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel, Eshowe 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the site of the British Residential Commissioner, Sir Charles Saunders's residency. Originally Tavernors then The Provincial Hotel. Land was aquired in 1896 and present Hotel Built in 1906 adjacent the Great 300 hectare Dlinza Forest. The Hotel during the mining boom of the 1920s, was operated as a Stock Exchange for four months. This Hotel has been through the Bambata Rebellion, Union, Apartheid era and now part of the changing new South Africa. Ideal base to have the complete 101 Things to do in Eshowe! We are close to beaches, big five, Anglo Zulu and Zulu battlefields Route, Zululand Birding Route, KZN Brew Route, Great Five Forests, Zululand Historical museum, Vukani collection, Mbongolwane wetlands, Shakaland, Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift. Amatikulu Beach Prawn braai on Sunday.There are over eight beautiful fully represented churches in Eshowe which makes it a great Wedding venue. The George Hotel can cater for a wedding reception of up to 90 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel, Eshowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing