We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, wow, wow”
other travelers have booked this property
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Front side of the Villa (1) Front side of the Villa (2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Front side of the Villa (1)
Front side of the Villa (2)
Fantastic views over the pool
Infinity pool
Infinity pool with a view
Valley view from the garden
Third and fourth bedroom (with bunk-beds)
Pool party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mtunzini, Zululand, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
candj23
nantwich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our one week stay at Ongoye was the highlight of our holiday in South Africa. The house is wonderful, just like something out of Grand Designs! The pool and garden were amazing and the view to die for, especially very early in the morning sitting on the balcony with a cup of tea in hand! we were very well looked after by Mokey, the Service Manager, and enjoyed meeting the next door neighbours who were also very helpful. We also much appreciated the kindness of the owner and it was a pleasure to meet him. The village has everything you could wish for, including the nearby beach, which was beautiful at sunset. We would love to return, and for much longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVcvcv6
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view and lovely pool”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thanks for such a lovely two weeks in Mtunzini! The pool was beautiful, the view over the hills was spectacular and the house was spacious, comfortably furnished and great for all our kids and family. We felt well taken care of by the neighbors and staff, and look forward to coming back sometime.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This absolutely is a great house, decorated with a great sense of style, and facilitated with everyting you need, in de friendly village of Mtunzini, which actually means" " a place in the shade". Very enjoyable were the sunsets with a glass of wine, the liquor store and a supermarket are just around the corner.

The pool is great!

Closeby some fantastic beaches and ofcourse the nature reserves. I had a great time staying here a couple of weeks. Had coffee at coffeeshop The Fat Cat everyday, meeting friendly local people and enjoying a great view from the terrace. And cheesecake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Alleen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton v
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A strong recommendation, 5 star residence”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This residence in Mtunzini is simply great and a strong recommendation. "5 star". It is very well appointed, spacious, and really everything a demanding traveller expects is there. Both for a couple, as well as for a large family. More than sufficient bed and bathrooms. And everything is well maintained. Outside there is a large veranda, a large garden, a great swimming pool, and the views are stunning. Also the services are impeccable. One could hardly expect anything more. The villa is also very well located. Only an hour or so from Durban airport. There is hardly a better place to imagine to visit and experience all that Kwazulu Natal has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole package
Liked least: bedrooms rather basic
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimpcardi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil luxurious sanctuary with great views”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Five of us stayed for a week in this lovely villa in the village of Mztuni aprox 2 hours north of Durban. We wanted a spacious retreat near the Umfolzi wildlife reserve which we visited with friends who stayed with us for a night - and saw Elelphants, Rhino, Giraffe, Hippo and even lions- magical ! Also my son and I travelled up to Sodwana Bay where we dived and saw Manta Rays, even more a thrilling sight that the sharks near Durban. So this villa is ideally sited to see the wonders of the South African wildlife. The villa was spotless and looked after by a local who lives nearby. Great open plan layout with kitchen and barbecue facility and a marvellous infinity pool which we spent alot of time in - couldn't have asked for more. Owner was very helpful in the booking process.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas...
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“African beach paradise!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I spent two nights at Mtunzini and when we arrived at the house we were amazed how beautiful it was. The view over the green sugar cane fields was amazing. The house looks like it belongs in Habitat magazine, with a gourmet kitchen and a stunning infinity pool that looks over the large garden. When we arrived our bedrooms were prepared and there was a piece of nougat on each pillow, we felt like we were in a hotel.
The beach is close by and you can pretty much walk anywhere.
If you want a relaxed holiday where you can have your entire family along with you, this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing