We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”
Review of One-On-Hely

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mtunzini
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One-On-Hely
Ranked #1 of 6 Mtunzini B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The decor is stylish, the view sublime, the service exceptional. I highly recommend this spot whether the stay is for business or pleasure. The place is well positioned and the people are very helpful - including bringing an umbrella to my room when they knew I was going out and the rain had started pelting down.

Room Tip: Well positioned for trips to Mtunzini, University or Empangeni.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiouxMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a great little hotel, we stayed here for a night but wished we stayed longer ! Staff were very helpful withmegan going out of way to make us feel at home, anyone going up to st lucia area should stop over here, the beach is amazing and awesome walks in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very remiss that I haven't reviewed One on Hely before, we have family in the village and always stay here when visiting, not sure if this is our fourth or fifth visit since Anne opened. One of the best B & B's we have experienced in SA (and there have been many over many years). The girls are all so welcoming and the standards way exceed anything one would expect in sleepy Zini! Would be just as impressed if it were in Cape Town. Don't bother looking anywhere else stay here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed three nights in this place, we were looking for a nice and relaxing place and that was totally fulfilled.
The rooms are nice and spacious, you have a wonderful view over trees and to the ocean. Everything is clean and you even have a small coffee maker in the room.
A little bit awkward was the door to the bathroom, its just covers the view but not the sound ! :)
Our hosts were really nice, they made all kind of recommandation what to do in the area.
The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, eggs however you want them and the best, at the time you want to have breakfast.
One on Hely is right next to the main street. At the first moment we thought it would be a problem with the cars, but we did not really hear anything, because it is not a lot of traffic.
There is not a lot to do in Mtunzini, we enjoyed the beach and saw a lot of monkeys. There are also to good restaurants, but in the evening it gets a bit quite.
So if you are looking for a lovely place to stay some relaxing days, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cococay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Simply the most wonderful place to stay in a heavenly little resort. We saw whales from the beach, zebra in the village and my partner enjoyed birdwatching in the local reserve. The hotel has fantastic and helpful staff who were outstanding when we had a problem with our documents whilst staying there. The rooms are large and comfortable and there is a lovely little pool with a fantastic view. Breakfast was also outstanding. Thanks One on Hely.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gathornegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

One on Hely is a wonderful guesthouse, and feels much more like a luxurious boutique hotel than a B&B!

My colleagues and I were lucky enough to have the 5 rooms at the top of the propert, with stunning views of the ocean. The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. The bed was the best I have ever slept in, anywhere in the world!

Breakfast was superb, freshly made to order every day. Drinks etc are available all day, and at very reasonable prices.

The service was fantastic. Megan and Ann went out of their way to accommodate us, even collecting our pizzas for us when we wanted to eat in one night. I cannot thank you both enough for your amazing, friendly hospitatlity. I hope to be back one day very soon!

Room Tip: Make sure you get down to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

if you want to unwind and relax in a stylish and yet homely environment with the sound of birds surrounding and the cool pool inviting you - then one-on-hely is the place for you!

-- rooms: stayed in the upper luxury rooms with a private balcony.
lovely views of the forest and raphia palms and in the distance the indian ocean....lots of birds....
tastefully furnished; with space and all comforts of home! tv, safe, fridge, kettle with a variety of tea and coffee was not instant but the real thing! oh even complimentary chocolates!

-- breakfast: smart room which has an outside veranda towards the pool.
very good food - just the way you ask for it...background music!
...and if you miss this, you can go down the road to the 'fat cat' cafe and have late breakfast there (same owners) very convenient when your taking it easy on holiday!!

-- lunch/dinner: you need to book on request (and a must on sundays as no restaurant serves dinner in mtunzini!) candles and delectable dishes makes dining a real treat here! you really tend to over-indulge!

-- pretty garden surrounds

-- very clean

-- adequate parking area

-- charming owners and staff!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mtunzini hotels
0.3 mi away
Hunters B&B
Hunters B&B
#2 of 6 in Mtunzini
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ngoye Lodge
Ngoye Lodge
#2 of 2 in Mtunzini
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Country Inn
Tradewinds Country Inn
#6 of 6 in Mtunzini
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zululand Country Lodge
Zululand Country Lodge
#5 of 6 in Mtunzini
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to One-On-Hely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One-On-Hely

Address: 1 Hely Hutchinson Street, Mtunzini 3867, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Mtunzini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mtunzini
Price Range: $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — One-On-Hely 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing