We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Parkside
Nearby Hotels
Baghmara Wildlife Resort(Sauraha)(Great Value!)
$13
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Jungle Resort(Sauraha)(Great Value!)
$9
$8
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unique Wild Resort(Sauraha)(Great Value!)
$24
$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$20
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
320
127
13
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
127
13
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguide gopalcanoe ridejungle walkchitwan national parkelephant safarihis knowledgehis jobeye hospitallocal communitythe riverelephant bathbirds and animalslocal childrenbaby elephantearly morningwonderful guiderecommend hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 475 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

In Kathmandu in late October 2012 we bought a tour to Chitwan National Park staying at Hotel Parkside in Sauraha. We had had no time to research tours because this was at the end of a very hectic 3-month journey, visiting 11 countries, For $120 US each we were transported to the park by bus from Kathmandu (and back), had 3 nights accommodation (1 night excellent the other 2 not quite so good because we had to move to an overflow hotel). All our meals which were excellent were included, there was free Wifi, and our time was completely filled with numerous tours. The tours included a 2-hour elephant ride, a jeep ride hunting for wildlife, an early morning boat ride down the river, a visit to an elephant breeding centre, and several jungle walks. Our guides found us 2 rhinos hiding in the jungle. One of the highlights for us was going for a birding walk with Gopal, a birding enthusiast who is also a guide at the hotel. We are birdwatchers from Australia, and with Gopal's expertise added 40 species to our bird list. He is one of the very best bird guides we have been with on our frequent travels.
The hotel was located out of the touristy village of Sauraha (20 minutes walk away), in the middle of a road with little shops for local people, and about 10 minutes from the river bank. The bank was a fantastic spot for wildlife watching and our sightings included a few elephants out for their afternoon forage, 2 truly wild rhinos having a scrap, a baby rhino, and many birds.
If the opportunity to visit Nepal again arises we will do a return trip to Chitwan and Hotel Parkside, but in March/April when the very tall grasses have fallen over and wildlife is more visible.
We rate this tour as excellent value.

Room Tip: Try to get into the main hotel rather than the overflow one, which was a 10-minute walk away, and less comforable.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had very comfortable rooms in the garden.The room and bathroom was spacious and very clean.In the restaurant you share dinner and breakfast with the other guests which creates a very informal atmosphere.On top of that the trips into the park are organized by the resort under excellent guidance.The management is very active in giving the guests a special experience.
We had a wonderful time thanks to everybody at the resort.We sincerely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

it is great hotel,all the staff are friendly...service is excellent...if u go to this hotel you will not feel that your are far away from home. Mr khagendra (tour guide) is really professional tour guide.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahendra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Rooms are very clean and nicely sized. My room was located in the oldest building which has a nice historic touch. The food at Parkside is good. Amount of people staying in the hotel can be quite large, but with all the different activities you can still visit the jungle in a small group. And, like many said before, Gopal is a fantastic guy and excellent guide.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stevescubasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel had great reviews, hence my friend and I deciding to book it for 2 nights. Not only was our room very average for the price we paid, but also the staff were not expecting us (even though we booked online)! The staff were less than helpful when we were seeking information, we believe this may have been due to the fact that we were travelling independently and not as part of a pre-booked package tour. Each time we attempted to book activities at for the park (eg, elephant riding, jeep tour) there was just no-one around. The office was empty every time we went to seek info and no-one seemed to care or approach us. We were trying to book activities through our own hotel simply because we read that this was the appropriate etiquette for independent travellers in Chitwan. After booking activities elsewhere, through more approachable tour organisers, the men that apparently "worked" at the hotel started to ask if we had booked anything. When they found that we had booked elsewhere they treated us quite rudely. Originally we tried to book from Kathmandu and the quoted through various agencies was approx USD$200. This price was inclusive of hotel, food, activities and transport, however we weren't interested in all of the activities, and wanted to choose our own. As independent travellers we spent approx AUD$60 on 2 nights accomm, food, transport, and many of the activities that were included in the packaged tours. This hotel was definitely the least friendly and helpful that we have stayed at in Nepal, as well as being overpriced for its (lack of) facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadeasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews