We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Guest EQUAL & SAME”
Review of Unique Wild Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unique Wild Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sauraha
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Every Guest EQUAL & SAME”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our visit & stay was pre-booked and paid in advance while at Kathmandu. We stayed here on the 15 & 16 May, 2013 and went through the (usual) Chitwan Jungle tour programme that is common there. Pl read my separate review on this for details.

This resort is very well maintained. It is as if you are dwelling amidst "near-jungle" environment. The garden area is well maintained even with some "unique" shrubs / trees (Example the Malayan Chiku fruit tree near thr restaurant). The restaurant serves clean, wholesome meals and the Chef often came to talk and find out guests dietary needs. Generally the Resort boss is very knowledgeable, helpful and provided interesting conversations. The sore point was our room No.12 aircon DID NOT work for the entire duration and no one bothered to help us in spite of me seeking help. The fan too as malfunctioning, either it rotated at FULL STRENGTH or not at all. So, obviously they knowingly dumped us in that situation. Other than this, the room was large, clean and with (too big) bathroom.

Room Tip: First check the room before paying especially if you are of (South) Indian origin. Sad to say this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 607tripreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
19
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amstetten, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've just returned from my 2days trip to this wonderful place where i got my first elephant shower. Its has a nice garden setting and the rooms are decent, clean and the water is hot. The hotel has big trees's around it to keep you cool from the sometimes burning hot sun. Once again I would like to thank the staff for their great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuncio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

It is unanimous in my family. All give the double thumb!

The rooms clean. A/C was awesome (although the electricity turns off from time to time in Nepal)

The landscapes compound beautiful and all the staff very kind.

Our tour guide, the best!!!! Very knowledgable of every bird, animal and plant. He was a good tracker and found a rhino and baby on our jungle safari walk.

Be ready to be overrun with otjer tourisys on the elephant safari. But still pretty cool.

Finally, all the meals were preplaned but good food.

Mosquitos were brutal... But hey we are in the jungle.

I will recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Unqiue Wild Resort for 2 nights. Its has a nice garden setting and the rooms are decent, clean and the water is hot. There was one or 2 staff that seemed to be helpful. However the food was not very good, they were trying to make something like sweet and sour etc and did a horrible job of it, I would have preferred a local dish like curry or dhal bat, simple but done well rather than the mass produced stuff which was inedible. My husband and I agreed that the food in the teahouses in the mountains were alot better than the stuff they served at Unique.
Even though we were in sort of a compound, there were stray animal wondering around that were clearly bothering the guests (howling cat and growling dogs) but the staff did nothing to chase them away. We had a nice room on the second floor but we were woken up by fighting stray dogs on the verandah (on second floor). We had 2 rooms for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 children), even though there were mosquito net one room was infested with mosquitoes while the other was OK.
Our guide was not very enthusiastic and basically marched us through our walks and tours with very little information. Infact I just go the feeling that Chitwan is a bit overloaded by the mass tourism. I felt like we were in a surreal Disneyland ride as canoe after canoe floated down the river and elephant after elephant were set off on our 'elephant' safari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashinMiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It surely was a unique experience. Booking was easy enough from Kathmandu a day before going to Sauraha. The Hotel was more than expected, perfectly located, a few kms from Tourist Buspark., near to every location like Tharu Cultural Musuem, Elephant ride, riverside (where we took Elephant bath), Jungle Walk, Canoeing. We were greeted by our local guide DIPASH, good young fellow with a great sense of hospitality. He did all he could to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable at Sauraha. He is totally recommended.
But, as if it would cost money to talk with us, the manager at the reception and in restaurant were a bit shady to talk to, as they preferred their staffs to do all the things. The employees did a great job at a restaurant serving good food and other cleaner staffs were always cleaning. (specially an old man, a gardener) They were the real backbone that made this Hotel a great place to stay. Overall 3 nights and 4 days passed like a day.

Room Tip: A dog howls and comes to stay outside the room at the left corner building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I really enjoyed my two-night stay here. The staff were very, very friendly and my tour around the area was fantastic. We went for a canoe ride on the river, the elephant sanctuary nearby and a jungle walk. I love Nepal and would go back to Chitwan. See my blog on Nepal at www.womentravellingalone.blogspot

Room Tip: A room towards the back would be best, away from the front desk and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had spent our 2N and 3D package tour with Unique W.L.Resort from 2nd November 2012 to 4th NOV 2012.We had a great accommodation, great guide and good food.The tropical garden, around which the rooms are situated, is filled with the sound of birds...very relaxing. Furthermore, the rooms are spacious and fitted with air-conditioning and mosquito nets. I would really recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Corner suites are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Green Mansions Jungle Resort
0.6 mi away
Chitwan Riverside Resort
Chitwan Riverside Resort
#6 of 12 in Sauraha
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seven Star
Hotel Seven Star
#2 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Wild Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Wild Resort

Property: Unique Wild Resort
Address: | Chitwan National Park, Sauraha 44200, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The UNIQUE WILD RESORT at the Chitwan National Park awaits you with all comforts but in agreement with local tradition. Where hospitality is not a profession but a tradition! We have spacious twin and triple bed rooms with bathroom running 24 hours hot and cold water AIR CONDITION room facilities. Our trained and experienced chef prepares delicious Nepali, Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes for you. We use potash or chlorine-treated water for cooking. Our restaurant also offers a small but beautiful bar stocked with local and imported liquors. More than a resort, we are a complete safari operation. You can observe the animals from the top of our elephants or take a jeep or go on foot with our skilled nature guide to explore the flora and fauna of the Chitwan National Park. A traditional dugout canoe ride in search of Gharials and other aquatic life is simply great. Focus with your binoculars the amazing birdlife of Chitwan. Chitwan offers more than 550 different species of residential and migratory birds. Enjoy a cultural tour to the village of the Tharu people, whose life-styles has an ethnobotanic background. This brings you back to human civilization of 100 years ago.You can take an elusive ox-cart ride to the elephant breeding farm where you will have the opportunity to see how elephants mate, how pregnant females are nursed, and how newly born babies are reared, trained and tamed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unique Wild Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing