We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninteresting”

Elephant Breeding Centre
Den Dungen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uninteresting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Small park. You can walk trough it in 10 minutes. You see in between 10 and 20 elephants chained to poles.

I'm sure that the elephants are treated well, but it is just not interesting to walk past them...rather spot them in the jungle. Your better of donating the entrance fee to the breeding centre and not going. In this way you still help the elephants and you have more time for better things!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    107
    91
    42
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Something different in Chitwan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for something different in Chitwan then you must go to this place. Most of the time a visit to Elephant breeding center will be arranged by your hotel if you are doing a package trip. Its not far from hotels so if you do a small walking then you will reach here. I am sure that you will have something new experience in the breeding center.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhythm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Mixed exerpience due to chained elephants”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had mixed emotions at the elephant breeding centre as many of the elephants were tethered at one foot by chains. We were told this only happens in the evenings, but it was upsetting to see and reminded us that these animals are bred for work in the tourist trade - not part of a conservation effort.

If chaining the elephants is necessary for their safety and not cruel - it needs proper explanation as most of the visitors were questioning this practice. It certainly made us and many others uncomfortable.

The highlight of our visit was that a baby elephant came out of the fenced off area and played around with our guide and group - this was a special experience

Much as we loved our elephant experiences at Chitwan, this visit made us seriously question whether we were doing the right thing. We would look more carefully at the conservation/welfare issues next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a walk from the hotel and free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

You get to see elephant babies up close and if you go around 5:00 PM or so you can see the Mahouds prepare little packets of elephant grass, rice and molasses and feed them. Best of all, it's free and you can hang out as long as you want.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PulpFiction_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one more great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

i didnt have any disliked experience throughout my trip to sauraha. whereever i went i just enjoyed my self .the local pub local restaurant to the riverside pubs all place are great.as u feel to be more adventures u can just visit to the breeding centre.this is just near by the park and community forest,best location u will always thinks to visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay 999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Breeding Centre also viewed

Sauraha, Chitwan District
Chitwan National Park, Chitwan District
 
Sauraha, Chitwan District
Chitwan National Park, Chitwan District
 

Been to Elephant Breeding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing