We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sauraha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiger Wildlife Camp
Ranked #24 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Sauraha
woodbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in April and really enjoyed the place, as well as the activities. The guides were great and the food was delicious, especially the dahl baht, which was the best I've every eaten! The place is a little shabby, but it's inexpensive so I wouldn't expect it to be in perfect condition. Our only negative interactions were with the owner, who was a bit rude.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petrina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

-room: average- clean beds, hot showers, paint is chipping on walls, pillows were like rocks

-food: good, but bland (but the dal bhat is delicious!)

-people: canoe guide smelled of booze, and manager was extremely rude. He seemed to be very lazy when it came to planning activities for the guests of the resort. He reused tickets for activities from previous guests (although we had paid for the full package) so HE could save money. He was very rude and made insulting comments about other guests while they were in the room. He attempted to get us to pay for activities, even though they were supposed to be all included- we had to be reimbursed money for some activities (the activities were cheap, but it's just that everything was supposed to be covered, and he tried to trick us).
The kitchen staff were very friendly and easy to deal with.

-Activities: Fun! The breeding centre and tour of all the chained up elephants is very depressing. Bathing with the elephants is a highlight!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteA915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sauraha hotels

1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just want few days ago food service clean very very good night very quiet we like manger hotel very helpful for us safari very good we like visit again this hotel all very good Sam andy elephant ride jungle walk beefing centre bud watching thuru dance village tour all are excellent

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on a hot afternoon after a treacherous bus ride from Pokhara, and were in need of good rest and good food. What followed was not going to satisfy those needs. One word of warning, if you are put in the rooms which are not situated in the main building, do not accept them. I was put in one of these rooms, and the first thing to greet me was a friendly lizard and the stale smell of unclean linen and an unclean room to match. The first thing I asked for was the bed linen to be changed, to be rid of the bugs and the old stains. This was done with no questioning, and was ready by the time we got back from our "riveting" afternoons activities. That nights sleep was hard, especially with a hard bed, lack of hot water and the constant scurrying creatures on the tin roof.

The next day we asked to be put into a room in the main building where there WAS hot water, clean rooms and clean beds which were comfortable. This again was done with no questioning. That days activities were great, elephant ride (had to be requested), elephant bath and jungle walk/canoe ride. The only thing to let us down this day, was the fact that we saw the room we had left had been given to another couple, without the sheet being changed or the room cleaned; only sprayed with air freshener and tidied up, proof that our sheets had been unclean. That nights sleep was also hindered by the sounds of the staff and owners enjoying a party and

The food was okay, although something left to be desired. The staff were also okay, friendly and helpful, especially the woman who owned the hotel. The man who owned it, I assume the womans husband, was truly horrible, constantly shouting, and often gave the feel of someone who could not be bothered to be there and did not care about customer service. Not the kind of service I would expect.


Overall this hotel is good for people who don't care about clean sheets, rude owners, acceptable food, and bedding down with lizards.

Room Tip: Not the outdoor "sheds", make sure your in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york,UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival we had to ask for clean sheets and these were changed, however they were NOT changed for the next occupants as we were in the garden area and able to view the process. The bed frames were filthy as were the walls, the floor and the bathroom. We saw signs of bed bugs on the sheets, the pillows were so dirty we had to sleep with scarves etc wrapped around them, also the 'quilt' was disgusting so i slept under my coat! On a positive note when we complained they did offer us a better room for the next night which was so much better.The female co-owner was very nice and helpful but her husband was a dreadful, rude man. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliep5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I we been Chitwan on aug12 one of best time in Nepal we been jungle walk elephant ride bird wach tharu dance all inc ticks back ktm all inc £ 60 3 night 4 days best service very good food the manger hotel uttam pathak very look after guest very good time we back next years james

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jame90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have Nepal in July one best time we have Chitwan sauraha in this hotel elephant ride jungle walk jeep safari tharu dance we love it hotel very good service room excellent the guide very good English will back next visit Chitwan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
1.4 mi away
Green Mansions Jungle Resort
0.1 mi away
Gorkha Hamlet Resort
Gorkha Hamlet Resort
#18 of 31 in Sauraha
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#10 of 27 in Sauraha
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#17 of 31 in Sauraha
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jungle Sunset Camp
Jungle Sunset Camp
#13 of 31 in Sauraha
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chitwan Tiger Camp
Chitwan Tiger Camp
#7 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Wildlife Camp

Property: Tiger Wildlife Camp
Address: Main Street, Sauraha 32909, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Sauraha
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing