We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sauraha
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here in December 2013 for a three day break from Kathmandu
We stayed in room 28

The room was excellent and spacious - it was rather large by comparison to our room in Kathmandu. The room was basic - it did not have a TV (that was not a problem for us) or phone. At night we joined several other Australians at the bar for chatting and comparing notes and a beer ( a forgotten art in this day and age)

The room was clean, neat and tidy and airy - the views were over the extensive gardens

The grounds were extensive - the rooms were laid our as lodges across the grounds - there were also two story blocks of rooms

Beds - comfortable compared to what we had in Kathmandu. We could sleep well here

Dining room - a limited range of food available for breakfast - but it covered what most people would eat and was sufficient. We also had dinner here a couple of nights - the food was excellent - portion size large and excellent quality. The pricing for dinner was cheaper than some other restaurants in Sauraha

Chitwan NP - we used this hotel as a the base for our tour of Chitwan NP - it was handy and close to both the river, river crossing and to the National park

We could walk for the hotel to the river for spectacular sunsets, views

Another important feature was that FULL electrical backup power was available when the power went off - in Nepal the power is intermittent - it goes off usually a minimum of twice a day for up to four hours. The Royal Park had full power back up - lights and power - which was important as one of our party used a CPAP machine to sleep at night

All in all - we would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road - towards the back of the property - much quieter here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
39
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Before even arriving at the hotel, we were wishing that it would be as good as the other hotels we have stayed at during the last 5 weeks of our travels in India and Nepal as we our agent booked us 3 nights at this hotel. We were given a room that was not cleaned, two luggages were still in the room, glasses of water were still half filled and we felt we just cannot stay 3 nights at this room comfortably. We complained and the Manager gave us another room, no airconditioning as it was not operable, mosquitoes outside the doorway and in the room, no complementary toiletries, two bath towels and when you take a shower, water just sprays all over the whole entire bathroom, including the toilet seat and sink. Then we thought this is possibly the only room available as we cannot possibly imagine an improvement. We then asked the Manager if we they have complementary water as we just arrived and he replied "no, you buy your water" then turned away. All our hotels provided complementary water. I guess it was just simply his attitude that turned us off because we can buy our own at 25 rupees each which was not the problem. We were happy to have a whole bottle of Deet left as we had to spray ourselves even at bedtime to prevent mosquitoe bites. Breakfast is okay. Now comes dinner (which is part of the deal). We felt that if not being served buffalo meat all the time, the food was looked like leftovers. We decided that we could no longer eat here at dinner, so we went outside for dinner. Maintenance of the room - it was only cleaned once and the other times, my husband had to ask for it to be done. Well, they redid the bed and gave us 2 fresh towels and that was it - did not even bother sweeping or washing the floor as it was already about 6:00 pm. I have complained with our agent, Plan Holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudley882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleupontyne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel was fairly basic and the restaurant menu is a little limited. We were on a visit to take in the sights of Chitwan NP and this hotel was well located. Opposite is a fixed price craft shop excellent value. Also some decent reasonably priced eateries nearby. Pool empty, bathrooms OK but showers do not work very well. We had a room in a 4 room block 2 on ground 2 on 1st floor spacious and clean aircon unit not working I think if you pay extra you get a room with working aircon. Bar reasonably stocked but again nothing special.

Room Tip: Not really much to differentiate between rooms if you pay more you get more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Like the previous reviewer we too enjoyed this accommodation. The rooms are spacious albeit basic. The rooms are reminiscent of Safari Style Lodges in keeping, of course with proximity of the Chtiwan National Park. The double storey units have largish balconies that would be perfect for relaxing with a G&T and taking in the view of the gardens and bird life.

The bathroom is large but again with a shower that permits the water to go EVERYWHERE. This is fine providing that you remove all clothing from the area and keep towels well out of the way. Our room had two double beds, excellent for unpacking the suitcases. The lighting and ceiling fans can be a little tricky and it was not until the second day did we realize that you had to turn on the switch outside the door on, to get the fans to work.

We had a view of the elephant stables from the bathroom and were woken to elephants trumpeting the new day....lovely!

The dining room is large and the food generous in portions. The breakfast buffet is basic, but gee, you are in Nepal and not in a 5 star Hilton. The Hotel is well located and it is only a 3 minute stroll to the river where you can watch the sunset with a cold beer ( make sure you specify cold or you may get luke-warm...not so good) from the bars. Our tour included organized trips but it appears that the Hotel foyer has a tour desk if you are traveling independently. Washing can be dropped off at the foyer and collected that night for a minimal cost.

There are small stores adjacent to the Hotel for basic commodities and drinks, plus loads of trinkets and local handicrafts. The hotel felt safe and the staff pleasant but the mosquitoes around the pool are enormous and are to be avoided. The cultural dance event held in the Hotel garden area was fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room so that you get an elevated view of the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISONAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very touristy and we felt like in a summer camp. However the room was really nice and the area is quiet. The hotel activities were a bit expensive but if you do not want to spend too much time looking for a cheaper option they are really well organised.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days, at the end of a hectic overland trip through India and Nepal.
The hotel is in a great area at the entrance to the Chitwan National Park. The hotel will organise amazing day trips for you from safaris , riding elephants and trekking.
The hotel itself is clean ,the accommodation is in chalets in the grounds as is the bar. I took a bus from Kathmandu takes around 4hours, the hotel sent a 4x4 to pick me up, a nice touch I thought.

Ps. No fitness suite, but then with all the activities on offer who needs it!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great as the hotel is on a level site, chalets 19/21/23 are near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berlinalan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely lodge.

Breakfast lacked variety but lunch and dinner were excellent. Some of the best food I had in Nepal.

Convenient location.

Out of the hotel turn left to the river. Nice bars and cares there to sit in and watch the sunset.

Lots of big tour groups and very touristy but you have to take it for what it is.

A relaxing end to a busy adventure holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure your windows are closed. I was nearly smoked out of my room one night by fire smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheresNextOnTheList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sauraha
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Green Mansions Jungle Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seven Star
Hotel Seven Star
#3 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: Sauraha, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing