We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise by the river”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sauraha
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise by the river”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had this booked as part of a tour package so had no idea what to expect. Had a beautiful little cottage with clean and comfortable beds and bathroom. Everything worked and it was set in lovely peaceful gardens. A nice place to rest and recover after treking or surviving the chaos in Kathmandu.
The staff were super freindly and helped with any request or query. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they remembered who everyone was though it was a busy group hotel.
Very happy with my time there wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDweller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
39
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Berkshire.
Level Contributor
274 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here as part of a tour group and were allocated upstairs rooms which had high vaulted ceilings and large verandas with a table and chairs overlooking the well maintained grounds. Large spacious bedroom and wet room both lovely and clean and a mosquito coil placed on the table should we need it (we didn't encounter any great mosquito problem). Only a couple of minutes walk to the river for dug out canoes, elephant washing, etc. and next to a selection of shops and restaurants. The doctors/pharmacy is apporox. 5 - 10 minute walk away down the main street. A lovely tranquil place - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Moriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a cottage close to the dining room and had WiFi reception when the power was on and the WiFi was running. The "wet style" bathroom had hot water and we moved the toilet paper when we showered so that it wouldn't get wet. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the birds in the nearby trees. The staff was very friendly and kept the room clean and gave us fresh towels daily. We made use of the laundry service and the clothes came back clean and pressed. The manager arranged various tours for us each day and our guide Fule was excellent. We saw about 7 species of mammals and 100 species of birds during our various excursions. The location was close to stores, the river (great place to sit, have a drink and watch the sunset), and other restaurants. The German bakery supplied excellent rolls for breakfast. Too bad the swimming pool is empty as it was hot enough for a swim in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in one of the separate little cottages, which offer a clean, spacious bedroom with a couple of chairs and a table, a roomy bathroom with hot water and outside a little verandah with two chairs. The beds had firm mattresses, nice pillows and top and bottom sheets and blankets, which after what we'd been used to was a bonus! There's a good feel to this place. There's lots of places to park your chair and just relax. Staff here are really nice and we can't say enough about management, they were efficient and very kind when 2 friends became very ill.
At the restaurant you can eat from the buffet or order from the menu and the food is okay, but compared to the food we'd eaten in India for 2 months prior to this, it was bland. The restaurant does like to close up early though, by 9.30p.m. There are enough eateries outside. This hotel is at the end of the tourist strip but there are plenty of shops and a couple of atm's nearby. (The trekking pants we purchased at these shops rivalled any of the cheaper options in Katmandu.) Elephant rides, national park forays, local village walks (don't miss it) are efficiently organised by the front desk. Frankly power outages are a way of life in India and Nepal so we weren't particularly bothered. Lighting at this place is not fantastic, but this really is no different from any other place we stayed in, in Nepal or India. Pack a head torch.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages that are separate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineCoastMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there for a few days. My room was in one of the "apartment" blocks and was very basic and so far away from the reception that the wifi didn't work. It was also a bit noisy being very near to the next door business. However, the setting is in a well tended park/garden area with lots of well maintained cottages and common area's. The hotel is nearly at the end of the "strip" and close to the shops and restaurants. There is a bar and a seperate restaurant.

Room Tip: get one nearer the reception area and your wifi will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The resort is situated near the river, and the rooms are placed in small cottages. Clean and simple rooms. There is a nice restaurant and a bar in the garden. In the afternoon coffee, tea and biscuits is served outside free of charge.

Just outside the gate you find the main street with all kinds of small shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BentDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went with my class and had a fabulous time. The rooms were big, the beds were soft, there was a porch with a nice view, and the rooms were spread out. The food is basic but you can go out to eat if you want. The pool could just hold the entire class but you couldn't swim very far. If you want to wash a elephant, don't tell the hotel manager because he will not allow you. Only bad point is that you are not next to the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieS339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 11 in Sauraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 7 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 11 in Sauraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Green Mansions Jungle Resort
1.0 mi away
Sapana Village Lodge
Sapana Village Lodge
#1 of 26 in Sauraha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 15 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: Sauraha, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing