We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hermitage
Nearby Hotels
Baghmara Wildlife Resort(Sauraha)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$17
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$23
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$20
$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$34
$27
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Jungle Resort(Sauraha)(Great Value!)
$13
$8
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $9/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$42
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
28
23
13
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
23
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirty roombird watchingthe rivernice swimming poolnational parkelephant ridejungle walkcomfortable roomnice hotelmonsoon seasonearly morningheritagebankbalconiesbirdsrhinoguide
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 68 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms and the grounds were beautiful, and the food was excellent. The staff were very kind and accommodating - even making me a Masala tea especially because they knew I had a hankering for one. :)

Best of all was the expert guiding of Santa, who knew so many species of flora and fauna, as well as the culture of the area, that he answered every question I had!

From there, with our guide, I went on a ride through the jungle on an elephant, went through again on a dugout canoe, and took the walking tour of the jungle (which was a little extra exciting when we could smell a rhino close by and had to beat a hasty path to avoid meeting it directly and possibly being charged by it). We saw monkeys swinging through the trees, and crocodiles resting on the banks of the river as well as rhinos bathing downstream.

We were taken on a tour of the Tharu village and entertained at the Hermitage with Tharu stick dancing - very impressive and beautiful to watch.

With all the tours, including that of the elephant breeding centre, we still had time to rest by the river or the pool with generous cups of tea or a beer.

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the Hotel Hermitage and would heartily recommend a stay there. The grounds are exquisite and the staff are kind and attentive to their guests. Many thanks to everyone I met there. A special thank you to Santa for your generosity in sharing your wisdom with all of us, and to Rabi for creating such a great environment in which we can all relax and explore. Namaste!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, and it's a very quiet place to stay. Beds are quite firm, and rooms are large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bonita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everyone was great from the minute we got here. I fell and cut my hand and had to have it looked at and they couldn't have been more helpful. The setting is relaxing, the food was good, and the room was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beachyogi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This delightful hotel sits on the banks of the Rafti river in Sauraha. We stayed here with a group on a 2 nights, 3 days package but it’s really 2 nights, 2 days because you usually leave early on the third morning on your onward journey. The rooms in the hotel (we stayed in the “Boathouse”) are spacious, clean and comfortable and all have nice little balconies. The restaurant is basic and in need of a facelift, but the meals, buffet-style, are varied and tasty, and there is a small selection of wines. We had an awesome guide assigned to look after our group for the duration of our stay. He was fantastic, spoke very good English, and was extremely knowledgeable about the Tharu people whose village we visited, the wildlife and birdlife of the area. He also led our jungle walk, our canoe ride and our visit to the Elephant Breeding Centre. This was my second trip to Chitwan and I haven’t seen a tiger yet, still it’s a very interesting place to visit, there’s lots to do if you want to do things, or you can just chill out with a cool beer on your balcony or by the swimming pool. Thumbs up to the Hermitage Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The room was clean, the gardens are beautiful.

Our guide was great. We had a walking tour of the town, elephant safari (we only saw deer, another group saw a rhino and her baby - no tigers), watched the elephants bath, went to a cultural show, learned how to play tiger move (very hard game) and went canoeing where our guide mimicked the birds. A very experience. Remember the insect repellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is situated a bit further from the main street, but in 10 minutes you walk to other restaurants etc. The Hermitage has a lovely garden, and a perfect view on the river and elephant bathing during noon. Also, you can use their swimming pool, and the upper rooms in the 'boat house' have a nice sunny balcony.
Unfortunately, the rooms look very old, paint comes off the walls, the bathroom needs to be replaced etc. (although the beds are new). If you spend most of the days outdoors and just need a bed, this is a good place to stay.
The restaurant is just as sad as the rooms, we chose to take dinner somewhere else, and you could just as well for breakfast, as this is not included when you are not taking the package deal (including elephant ride, canoeing etc).
Wifi is OK, power is also most of the times and hot water depends on the hours of sun during the day (in our case none, so after a cold rainy day there was no hot water).

Room Tip: They have a new building, it might be worth it to get a room there.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Im-I85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews