We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis amongst nature & wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sapana Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Sauraha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis amongst nature & wildlife”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved Sapana Village Lodge! It felt like a very special place... The accommodation is comfortable and charming, the grounds are beautifully kept, and the setting has great views out over the river, the surrounding paddie fields and, on a clear day, even the snow capped Himalaya, which you can admire from the comfort of a hammock... Dhurba the owner, Naran the manager, and the rest of the staff are super friendly and smiley, and they can organise all the normal Chitwan activities. They also have their own elephants, who seem to be well looked after, as well as any domesticated wild animal can be (? Be prepared to be upset at the sight of shackled animals though, especially at the breeding centre...) but the Sapana elephants are particularly happy at bath time, which is a great sight to witness... The food is pretty good, although maybe slightly limited for a vegetarian. The best thing about Sapana is that they work with the local villages to improve education opportunities for kids, development skills for women, and ensure the Thara cultural traditions are respected and stay alive. I would highly recommend staying here...!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    90
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
106
190
67
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We (myself, my wife and our three kids) stayed at Sapana Village Lodge at the end of October for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed much longer. In fact, our kids have informed us that if we come back to Nepal they want to stay there for longer and in other places for fewer days. From the e-mail communication ahead of time to every aspect of the stay, Naran and the staff were very helpful and accommodating and great with the kids. The lodge has very nice grounds which provided the kids a nice place to run around and the adults with hammocks and swing chairs and many other ways to relax. There are many activities or you can just lounge about. The favorite for the kids was the elephant washing where they got to swim with and help bathe the elephant and have it spray them with water. I am not surprised that this place gets such good reviews. It was a highlight of our trip and we will make a point of staying longer the next time we are in Nepal.

Room Tip: For families they do have a couple of family type rooms with extra beds but you need to make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodai-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at Sapana Village Lodge. The honeymoon suite is nicely decorated and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and nice.
The hotel manager Naran has been amazing with us: I had to receive several professional phone calls from Europe and he lent me his personal mobile every time I needed it. He was always around when we needed to ask him a question and made sure everything went smoothly.
The guides from Sapana Lodge were very professional and friendly. And the private driver they hird to take us to our next destination in Nepal was very helpful and nice too.
Sapana Lodge is not only a great hotel and tour organizer: it is working on supporting the local community in many ways and projects. This made our stay even more interesting and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Using all the local resources, Sapana Village always gives first priority to the clients with their quality services. Staffs working as a Sapana team are from the local community and share their story with the guests when they have bit of free time. They like being closer to guests to share their experiences.

Your inspiring comment in this popular travel site will definitely add strength to be the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived at Sapana Village Lodge and I knew we where somewhere special. Upon arrival we were seated in the lovely outdoor area and were given cold refreshments - a lovey touch. The Lodge is simply stunning and the staff wonderful. There are plenty of activities on offer - canoe rides down the river, a local village visit, elephant rides, jungle walk, cooking classes and a day spa or if you want to relax you can laze the day away in a hammock or one the many outdoor areas. There is also a lovely little gift shop which sells many items and is very well priced and supports the local community. The restaurant overlooks the river and has a good menu. I am a vegetarian and had plenty of choices - the vegetarian momos are AMAZING! The rooms were sweet and had plenty of windows so you could enjoy the views all around you and the buildings blended in with the landscape of the resort. The staff were amazing, when we placed food/drink orders they knew exactly what room number we were and our names. It was a nice experience and made you feel like you were part of the Sapana family. We met the Operations Manager, Naran, numerous times while there and he was always welcoming and warm and made me want to stay longer. I absoutely recommend the Sapana Village Lodge to anyone who is looking for a charming and special experience while in Chitwan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Our staffs would like to be around and talk to guests to make them feeling like being at home. This will help to find out if there is any problem at the lodge or in the room.

Thanks for visiting us and enjoying your days. Your suggestions always help us to make Sapana Village a better place to have good holiday to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 nights in Sapana. We chose here after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and in particular liked what message the Sapana had about the good causes it supports.

We arrived on the Greenline Tourist bus from Kathmandu and was assured someone would be there to meet us as the bus park. Unfortunatly i think there was a bit of communication problems as when we arrived at the bus park there was other lodges who were waiting with signs for their lodge or their guests names. We didn't see anyone with our names or a sign for the Sapana but there was four men who were asking us where we were staying and saying they could taxi us. Perhaps us being over cautious but we explained that we had arranged to be collected and our lift would be here and we didn't need a lift. Numerous times we asked them who they were waiting for and where they were going to try and ascertain if they were our 'lift' without actually saying where we were staying as we didn't want to end up being taken to a different lodge or being ripped off. In the end we rung Sapana and they did come to collect us promptly and explained that they had arranged for us to be collected, and yes you guessed it, by the people above. Had they just had cards with our name or greeted us by saying Sapana we'd have known it was them instead of thinking we had a bunch of random men offering us taxis!

That aside, we arrived at Sapana to be given a welcome drink and a booklet to choose activities. We were then shown to our room 503 which was basic, but beautiful with lovely artwork painted on the walls and furniture and was beautiful and clean. We spent the afternoon chilling out in a hammock and watching the birds. The evening meals were lovely and reasonably priced and after this we retired to our room and slept perfectly.

The next day we went on our excursions we had booked which was the elephant safari which was a started a short 5 minute drive away from Sapana. In the afternoon we did the elephant washing in the river which the Sapana restaurant overlooks. The Sapana also has their own elephant which was at the back of our room and many an evening we would go round to our enclosure and give it a fuss.

We bought some toothpaste and toothbrushes as suggested on the website, our only disappointment was that these are left at the Sapana and we would have liked to have given them to the children along with other gifts, but we have faith that these will still go to those who need them.

All in all, yes we would stay at Sapana again in a heartbeat. Everyone we came into contact with was happy, polite and helpful. There is free wi-fi and a computer terminal for use in the games room. There is also a water ststion where you can refil water and give a donation if you so wish.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaRaRachelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Sorry for confusing you at the bus station regarding your pick up arrangement. Actually it was due to our greatest festival called Dashain or Durga Pooja, our staffs especially all drivers had gone home to receive Tika and blessing from the family. So one of the four came to ask you at the bus park was told to pick you up. It was really a communication problem and we assure you that we will improve in the coming days.
Secondly, we would like to thanks you for bringing tooth-paste and tooth-brushes to give them to the children. Our request to you was to leave with us at the hotel because we do collect all these health items and bring them with to remote villages during the medical check up every year. When you give them by yourself, then the children will have habit to beg with the every guest they meet.
Once again, thanks for being with us and we would like to welcome you at Sapana Village again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at the Sapana Village Lodge. I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and booked directly with the hotel. Before arrival we had lots of questions to ask and it was never a problem keeping in contact with Naran and the the team.

The rooms we stayed at were spacious and clean and well decorated. (Triple room is fan only, Honeymoon Suite has A/C).

The food at the restaurant was great and of reasonably priced, excellent Chicken Momo’s and I loved the Nepali style Tagliatelle.

Lots of activities to choose from, I would highly recommend cooking at the Tharu Village, I got to cook and eat one of the best meals in Nepal (even my Nepali partner said it was one of his favourite experiences too) with a wonderful family and had fun with the local ladies dressing me up.

Throughout our stay, all of the staff was helpful and friendly. I would definitely come back to this hotel if I visit Nepal again.

Room Tip: Depending on budget and time of year: Triple room is fan only (Room 404), Honeymoon Suite has A/C. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for your visit to Sapana Village. We would like to apologize for the accommodation we provided you on the first night (A triple room with fan) even though your reservation was in Honeymoon Suite. Sorry for this and it was just because the other clients who booked this room extended for one extra night. The reason was they loved the room and one of them were sick.

Thanks for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recommend Sapana to everyone who loves serene. We were two girls and lived in Sapana when travelling in Chitwan one week ago.
Sapana is located at Rapti river. Sitting at restaurant, I just could enjoy the scenery of Tharu village beyond the river, the native pasture of buffaloes and goats, children bathing in Rapti River ...it was a very beautiful view and what I loved most in Sapana.
And also Sapana itself is a very charming place, far from the noisy area full of lodges one by one. I deep felt the peace and leisure when staying there. Spacious courtyard, several separated lodges well decorated with Tharu-style, clean rooms and good hot water for shower, tasty food by restaurant cook... Everything is great!
Furthermore, the service in Sapana is good too and the people there are very nice. Particularly, the manager Naran impressed me. He is very nice and humorous, likes joking but absolutely took care of us very well.
We took 4 days 3 nights package Sapana provided, covering all of activities. That's a good choice!

Room Tip: If you like elephant, you could choose the room of the deepest lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Your visit to Sapana Village always benefits the local through various social projects because the lodge itself is a poverty alleviation project which targets to reach the poor and indigenous people of this areas.

Utilizing the local resources, we are trying our best to make Sapana Village the better place to during your holiday offering various cultural and natural activities. It is good to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Your comments inspire us to do even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
1.2 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sauraha
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Mansions Jungle Resort
0.4 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 15 in Chitwan National Park
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapana Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapana Village Lodge

Property: Sapana Village Lodge
Address: 3 Sauraha | Chitwan Nepal, Sauraha 32909, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapana Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapana Village Lodge is located in a fantastic location bordering beautiful Chitwan National Park area in the southern part of Nepal. With an approximately 4 hours drive by road or a 15 minutes flight from Kathmandu, Sapana Village is definitely a suitable destination for individuals, couples and families. A uniquely designed hotel with an authentic Tharu decoration, Sapana Village aims to support the local community. Started as a small business hotel, it has developed as the sustainable and responsible eco tourism project contributing to the indigenous people of the Terai region. Sapana Village Lodge has a small petting zoo for the children. We have rabbits, goats, peacocks , chickens and two elephants named Champakali and Chanchalkali. Our beautiful botanical and medicinal herbs and plants have become the residence for more than a hundred regular and migrant birds of the lowlands of Nepal. You will receive an amazing wake up call by these beautiful coloured birds! At the lodge, you can book a great variety of excursions.Sapana Village Lodge has 28 beautifully decorated deluxe rooms. All rooms have a private bathroom with toilet, 24 hour hot water, and a balcony or veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sapana Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapana Village Hotel Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing