We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Tamaya is a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Our corporate group always prefers the Tamaya & now I know why! I traveled out with my collegues for a job and wished I could have stayed longer. The bed is unbelievably comfortable, the resort is so relaxing and the staff was very professional and helpful. The group sales staff jumped through hoops due to our many changes, all with a smile! The check-in and check-out for all of our guests was flawless. I hope to make it back to the Tamaya for some "R&R"!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,819 - 1,825 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

Throughout my entire time in NM, this experience was the ONLY hitch...we love NM so much that we plan to move there (it is our dream) and have found that the people there are nothing short of wonderful.

But here is my bad review of the Corn Maiden restaurant nonetheless:

I mistakenly chose Corn Maiden for my wedding night dinner. I asked our waiter (R.) to take a bottle of champagne (a wedding gift from my uncle in CT!) home because we preferred wine w/dinner, which went better with meat selections and didn't want to drink both to the point of getting drunk b/c we had a long drive back. After much back & forth, he said that they allow wine to be taken home, but not champagne(!). He kept saying he would speak to the bartender to see if they could re-cork it, but that he didn't think they'd be able to. After much back and forth, he finally said that they would "allow" it but that we were responsible if the cork came out, and it had to be placed in a sealed bag, etc. Which was fine - we just didn't want to leave a bottle of champagne that was a wedding gift, at the restaurant for other people to enjoy! I guess the waiter didn't care for this too much, so his spitefulness and sarcasm thereafter resulted in the following disruptive events: a blatant insult made to my husband (he was talking about another restaurant, how good the food was and said (extremely sarcastically), "but I don't think they have to- go bags for champagne THERE"); our pork was undercooked and the side items were cold; the cappuccino was spilt all over the dish beneath it (which shouldn't happen in a restaurant of this calibur), our dessert came on a dish which had "Happy Anniversary" written on it and the waiter made another sarcastic comment about how he knew it was our wedding night but it's really our anniversary, too, because we'll only have one anyway (??). Also, for a dinner that should have lasted an hour and a half or so (several other couples came and left), we were there - from start to finish - for four and a half hours! Our waiter had a large party of 15 and left us to wait incessantly long periods of time. We were enjoying the scenery outside so much that we didn't complain much but when it took 30 minutes to get our check, and after we put up with his arrogance for so long, we finally started to lose our tempers (which really takes a lot for us - we hate making a scene). I just got home from our trip to NM last night, but I plan on writing a long letter expressing my disappointment that night at the restaurant. My advice to anyone who may read this, make sure you don't get a waiter whose name begins with an "R" at the Corn Maiden. The food was good (would have been VERY good if we had another waiter) and the scenery is unbelievably breathtaking (you can't beat a view of the Sandia mountains at sunset!). But the arrogant, cocky waiter who went on and on about what good taste he had in food and wine, and listing all of his dining experiences around the world wasn't exactly the best way to spend our wedding dinner. For the price we paid, and the type of establishment it was, I am extremely disappointed - especially to happen on such a special occasion. To be honest, we had a much better dining experience at Andiamo in Santa Fe - heck, even at Tia Sophia's for breakfast (Tia Sophia's is a MUST!!!!) as well as every other place we ate at during our trip there. Thumbs down for me.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaJaNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My grandmother took my mother, daughter, and I to this place. My daughter loved it. Especially the swimming pool with the slide. The casino is close and I hear the golfing is great. Since we won a bunch of money at the casino we ate at the restaurant and went to the spa. Wow!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I live in Albuquerque, but have never stayed at Tamaya. I go to the spa quite often for manicures, pedicures, etc and it's fantastic, so I was excited to have the opportunity to stay the night there.

The property is fabulous - secluded, relaxing - with beautiful pools. Rooms are spacious and mine had a small balcony looking over the pool area. I did think the decor was pretty ordinary.

The service left a bit to be desired. I was there for a conference and it took three tries to check in. Every time I approached the front desk there was a long line and it seemed as though it took them forever to get people checked in. Same with the valet service. When I arrived there was no one to park my car and when I was leaving there was no one to go get it. I went to the restaurant for dessert just before they closed and it was obvious they wanted to close - not wait on last minute customers. I could understand if this were a diner, but it's a pretty pricey restaurant and hotel.

One serious drawback - it was extremely difficult to get cell phone service. I had to use the hotel phone to make a long distance call and it was $9.95 for less than a minute!Couldn't use my Internet card for my computer because I couldn't get cell service. Hotel wireless service was $9.95.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just spent 5 days at the Hyatt Tamaya as part of our family's summer vacation to New Mexico. We loved it! The setting is spectacular. The fact that it was off the beaten path was very appealing to us. There was lots to do as a family. We rode bikes (provided by resort) almost everyday. The pool was not crowded and the kids (8 year old twins) loved the water slide. The staff at the pool was extremely attentive. They often came around to see if you needed water (it was blazing hot). The food at the poolside cafe was prompt and tasty. We went to the rodeo at the Tamaya Stables. Very family oriented. We also did some of the Native American cultural activities provided by the resort. We all loved "Stories and Smores" held outside under the stars. We thought the food was very good for a resort and definitely not overpriced compared to other hotels/resorts. It is a great place to stay as a family. If you like fresh air, breathtaking views, lots of outdoor activities on/nearby the resort and polite/friendly staff, the Hyatt Tamaya is a great choice. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed at the Tamaya resort during Father's Day weekend. We stay there at least twice a year, and we love it! The spa is beautiful and relaxing without being pretentious. The hotel offers babysitting and Camp Hyatt, which our six year old loves, and so do we as it allows us time to be alone as a couple. The hotel is situated in such a way that it appears to be in the middle of nowhere, but is actually quite close to Bernalillo/Albuquerque area. We like the illusion of being away from town without actually being far away. The restaurants are a bit pricey, but for a special occasion The Corn Maiden is fun as the menu contains exotic items such as elk and quail. The pools are outdoors, but very beautiful with a water slide. It is pricey, but not out of line for what you get. The service is excellent, and everyone is friendly and willing to help. Always a rejuvenating stay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TencatNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

While I was in town at this resort for a meeting, I was so impressed with the resort, I am taking my family on a surprise vacation later this summer. Wow! What an incredible resort. I have never seen such a unique resort. I travel for work, and have had the opportunity to experience several of the Hyatt Resort portfolio, but this is one of my favorites. It is built on an old Indian Reservation and designed around the Native American pueblo look and feel. They have a great spa (althought I didn't go) and a fabulous golf course. They were hosting some PGA of America tournament while I was there so couldn't play, but the course looked incredible. The restaurants were delicious and nothing beats drinks out on the terrace overlooking the Sandia Mountains.

I strongly urge you to check out this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianbklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,409 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,707 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#33 of 143 in Albuquerque
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,819 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range: $203 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 550 acres of the Native American Santa Ana Pueblo between the legendary Rio Grand River and Sandia Mountains, Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa is the perfect home base to explore Santa Fe and Albuquerque, New Mexico. At Tamaya, you can relax and enjoy the stunning Southwestern beauty, splash in one of our three sparkling pools, indulge yourself at the award-winning Tamaya Mist Spa & Salon, hit the links at the championship Twin Warriors golf course, or take a horseback ride on a rescue horse at the Stables at Tamaya. We also offer incredible indoor and outdoor meeting venues that are sure to inspire any group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing