We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life in ABQ! Just a short drive north, and you're in a lovely setting that gives you the resort experience you're craving. My SO and I took a hike on the property, ate at the Corn Maiden restaurant, enjoyed drinks on the patio, viewed the golfers on the course behind the hotel, and generally had a fabulous weekend. We can't wait to return. Everyone we encountered was interested in making our stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go to Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello Go to Gal,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We are glad that your weekend get-away was just what you were looking for and that our staff made your visit enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

It's a beautiful property with some ugly service problems.

During most of our three days / two nights in February 2014 a large corporate meeting basically took over the resort, making regular guests, even Hyatt Gold Passport elite-level guests, an afterthought. Hundreds of hard-partying pharmaceutical sales types flooded the bar, commandeered the only breakfast restaurant (other, regular guests were barred), and staged a noisy, booze-fueled, property-wide scavenger hunt that echoed through the room corridors until 130am.

I appreciate that conferences are important to a big place like this, particularly in the off-season, but it's offensive to make regular guests paying a full rate feel like they're imposing. On our second day my wife and I actually fled and took the train to Santa Fe rather than compete with the pharma conferees for the attention of the staff.

As for service: there were too many lapses, in too many corners of the resort, to be coincidental. In the main Corn Maiden restaurant, the Santa Ana Cafe and the bar, servers were always friendly but glacially slow, forgetful, and sometimes not competent. (Our Corn Maiden server did not know the food he was presenting; one entree arrived incomplete; another, a pasta with olives, was oversalted to the point of inedibility.) Bar food menu was slim and generic -- the bland "smoked turkey" in the sliders might as well have come from the Safeway deli counter. You are expected to dose it with barbecue sauce from cheap, shabby plastic bottles dropped on your table as if you were at a ballpark condiment station. Deeply unimpressive.

(While in the bar we overheard the slow-moving servers advise a guest to drive off premises and go eat at the big casino a couple of miles away, on the main drag, rather than at the resort restaurant; wonder what management would have thought of that.)

We discovered someone else's bloodstains laundered into a bedsheet, a commode that clogged and stalled repeatedly; and a shipping pallet of computer gear for the conference attendees dumped in the elevator lobby near our room for hours, turning the space into a loading dock. As my wife, a corporate meeting vet, remarked: This place has some serious back-of-house issues.

Closing the sole breakfast restaurant to paying guests, offering them a comped cup of to-go coffee from the gift shop instead? Inexcusable at a resort of this nature. A fine-dining server who forgets to recite specials and literally doesn't know what's on the plate he sets before you? Inexcusable. Plastic squeeze bottles with "bar food" in an allegedly upscale lounge where snacks and a couple of rounds of drinks can run $75 to $100? Inexcusable. Allowing a horde of noisy meeting attendees to run amok all night? Well... you get the idea.

On top of all this the Tamaya had the effrontery to add a daily resort fee to our bill, although the manager took it off when we mentioned some of this.

It's a gorgeous, scenic, secluded setting and the buildings, rooms and decor are lovely. But as for service... well, we stayed at a Hampton Inn elsewhere in New Mexico for a couple of days beforehand, and frankly had better, more competent attention.

I'm sorry to report such a flawed stay but I think something is rather amiss at the Tamaya.

Room Tip: The Tamaya's wings extend for some distance in multiple directions. Ask for a close-in room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BearX220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hello BearX220,

We sincerely apologize for what happened to you. As we understand our Front Desk Manager tried to rectify the situation upon your check-out, but we did not go far enough. We’ve tried to contact you directly to offer compensation, and acknowledge the fact there were service issues during your stay. Please contact us so we can discuss further. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope to hear from you.

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just finished a conference here. The hotel facility, view of the mountains, and staff was impressive. Had a great time.
The two observations I have about this hotel are:
1) It is very spread out, so I would request a room closer to the lobby. Otherwise, you may spend a lot of time walking between meetings.
2) This location is fairly remote and a real hike from the Albuquerque airport. As long as you are aware of this, or maybe you prefer this, you should be happy.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hello Manzanitabay,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your conference at Tamaya. Our staff strives to provide excellent guest service and we are delighted to know that you were pleased with the level of service during your stay. We hope that you are able to return to Tamaya once again!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The other reviews peg the geography of the property as it is very spread out. I was overly impressed with the staff as they worked hard to meet any request. I was there for a conference where we ate on property for all meals. The food was top notch and the room was clean with plenty of space. The only disappointment was the quality of television reception for the room. Most programming was in standard definition which doesn't fit the quality of the rest of this property. Overall I would return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlsimp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello mlsimp2,

Thank you for your review and valuable feedback! We appreciate the comments about the experience you had with our attentive staff. We are always happy to know that our staff went above and beyond to provide the best possible service. We appreciate your comments regarding the TV reception in your guestroom. This information is something we will be passing on to our management team for further discussion. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamaya soon and are glad you enjoyed your conference!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Every year my two adult daughters and I take a vacation together. We have stayed in resorts in Arizona, California, Florida, and New Mexico. By far, the Hyatt Tamaya Resort was the very best.
My daughters would go to the spa while I played golf—great course. The fitness and spa area was superb. The food was excellent and so was the service throughout the resort. We enjoyed
horseback riding at the resort and hot-air balloon adventures nearby. Aside trip to Santa Fe was really nice. The resort was clean and the grounds were beautiful. It was about 3 years ago that we were at Tamaya. We plan on making this our annual destination in the future!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the golf course. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello DrJFY,

Wow! Thank you for the great 5 star review! We are delighted that you and your daughters enjoyed your visit with us. It sounds like you took advantage of a lot of the outdoor activities that make New Mexico and Tamaya unique! We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we anxiously await you and your family's return! Safe travels to you!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our family (and pet) stayed at this hotel over new years -first week of Jan- because our flights back east were all cancel. We were all so pleased we found this hotel! the grounds are beutiful and the entire staff is more than accomodating and knowleable. I will use this hotel next time we come to NM. the Hotelis about 14 miles from Albuquerque... Nice Santa Ana Hotel near by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManhattanTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello ManhattanTower,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us-even if it was by accident! Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We continually strive for excellent guest-service. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel was nice, not great or lavish.
The trouble came when it was time to check out.
I went with a group and some members had dinner at the hotel restaurant, paid the bill in full (but despite paying in cash were asked to put their name and room number on the bill anyway) when I checked us out they charged me again for the dinner that had been paid already.
I understand that sometimes mistakes happen but one week after calling them alerting to the mistake they still haven't gotten back to me.
If you go to the Hyatt check your bill and make sure they haven't double billed you.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank RR R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello RR R R,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay. We regret to know that you were unhappy with your final bill at check-out and do understand your concern. We do hope that an associate reached back out to you regarding your bill and if not, please call us directly so we can resolve any pending issues. Again, we thank you for your comments which will help us avoid this type of issue in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tamaya again! Safe travels to you!

Sincerely,
Kathleen Manicke
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Sandia Resort & Casino
#31 of 143 in Albuquerque
515 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,727 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
143 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#25 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range: $198 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 550 acres of the Native American Santa Ana Pueblo between the legendary Rio Grand River and Sandia Mountains, Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa is the perfect home base to explore Santa Fe and Albuquerque, New Mexico. At Tamaya, you can relax and enjoy the stunning Southwestern beauty, splash in one of our three sparkling pools, indulge yourself at the award-winning Tamaya Mist Spa & Salon, hit the links at the championship Twin Warriors golf course, or take a horseback ride on a rescue horse at the Stables at Tamaya. We also offer incredible indoor and outdoor meeting venues that are sure to inspire any group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing