We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Santa Ana Cafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our daughter, husband, their two children along with my husband and myself met for dinner at the Santa Ana Cafe last evening, Sunday August 11th 2013. First we started with drinks and snacks at the Rio Grande Lounge which service was good as were the snacks, we found it odd the server would give the opinion of "don't order the beer pretzels" as they were not a good value. We went onto the Santa Ana Cafe and had once again very good service but my daughter was told one of the appetizers was pricey and not a good value for the cost. I ordered the Roasted Pumpkin Soup which the menu described having chipotle yogurt, julienne apples and toasted pepitas which it did. The menu did not mention the heavy curry flavor which the server confirmed it indeed had curry, the flavors were very muddled, not at all what was expected. My daughter and I each ordered the Natural Chicken Breast which the menu described as having a rosemary tequila pan sauce, our dinners lacked the pan sauce. we knew we ordered a 4oz chicken breast which was laughable, I didn't know a chicken could be that small, very skimpy 4 oz.s. The meat was dry and tough. The dinner price was $18.00. I asked to speak to someone from the kitchen who was polite and our dinners were removed from the ticket. What is surprising is that any of this happened. Our family has visited Tamaya since it opened, we live in Albuquerque and have had many staycations at the resort, more dinners, lunches and breakfasts than we can count. I have celebrated my birthday there now several years in a row but next August will not find me at Tamaya.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello Michele A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We regret to hear your dining experience was unsatisfactory and you were disappointed with your meals. Please contact us directly so we may discuss these matters further. Your review will be read and discussed closely by management. We sincerely hope we will have an opportunity to remedy your experience the next time you and your family visit us.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,520 - 1,526 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for a work training trip. Room was beautiful, pool area was fantastic, hiking trails around grounds beautiful, and staff were attentive and provided great service. I hope to be able to return for a vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cy1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello Cy1229,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is wonderful to hear you found your room to be beautiful, enjoyed the pools, trails and our staff. We always enjoy hearing our guests had a great stay with us and we hope to have you with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for two days at the end of our Southwest vacation tour. It is somewhat remote, but close enough to Albuquerque to get to most attractions within fifteen to twenty minutes. There is also a casino that is within a three minute drive. Shuttle service is available if you don't feel like driving there. The service is first rate, and the amenities are excellent. The rooms are well appointed and we did not have any issues during our stay. Although, having stayed here at the end of our trip, we could have used a laundry room. There is only a laundry service which takes at least a day and is somewhat expensive. The burritos at the Trading Post were very good, and made for an excellent conclusion to the family's balloon excursion. We would stay here again, but not if we needed laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VHG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello VHG2013,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you found our service to be first rate, you enjoyed our amenities, rooms, and you were able to partake in a balloon excursion with your family! We have forwarded your thoughts regarding our laundry service to our management team. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you and your family on a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This Hyatt location is marvelous - simply rejuvenates the soul with the spectacular mountain views. Make sure to take advantage of the nature trails. The restaurants served delicious meals that brought out the areas cultural flavors.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello Mrsadiaz,

It makes us very happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences and our beautiful views. We are grateful for the kind feedback. We hope to see you again for a future stay!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recently stayed here last week for the 5th time in 3 years. We have a black lab and trying to find a place to stay with a pet can be difficult. The resort is about 15 or so miles north of ABQ on the way to Santa Fe. Rustic, rooms are always clean, staff is always very polite. There is a lounge bar where you can sit outside and watch the moon or take in the views which is very very calming. Lots of trails for exercise....NICE trails. We always stop on our way out of Phoenix to take a break before traveling on to the midwest.

Room Tip: If you have a pet then ask for a room on the ground level. You can open the slider to the patio and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello PhoenixMB,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are so happy we were able to accommodate you and your pet; we know they are important family members! It is wonderful to hear you were pleased with our service, rooms, and you were able to enjoy the beautiful views and trails we have on property. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort on your next trip through New Mexico.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here on our way back to Alb after a business road trip for a relaxing afternoon swim and evening. The property is beautiful. only negative is that it can be a long walk around. What a nice break.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuctionRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello Auctionroadwarrior,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope to have you with us again soon for another nice break!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I am a frequent guest at the Hyatt, platinum/diamond level. Having been a patron at Hyatt properties across the globe, Hyatt Tamaya certainly does not even come close to Hyatt standards that we have come to expect. Property is at a great location with several interesting activities for guests as well, but the service level and staff attitude we experienced here was horrendous.

1) When we checked in, there was no acknowledgement for a frequent guest
and neither was any offer for a platinum guest made (late checkout etc).
2) In the room we checked in, the bathroom was not functional - bathtub would
not drain. After a call to the front desk & housekeeping and a reminder
call 25 minutes later, someone showed up 10 minutes after the reminder call
to fix the issue.
3) When we ordered room service on the 1st night of our stay, we were told
delivery would be in 30 minutes or less. The food arrived over an 1 hour
later and all of us were asleep when the food was delivered!
4) At checkout time, we had to wait for 15 minutes without any
acknowledgement whatsoever from the lady attending the desk who was on the
phone the entire time. To clarify, we were the only ones waiting to
checkout. When she got around to helping us, she did enquire about our stay
and when we said we had a disappointing stay, there was not even a cursory
apology for our experience.
5) To add insult to injury, we were given a preaching by the attendant at
the front door about safe driving and I chose not to respond (after all
this, all we wanted was to get out of there as soon as we could). To top
things off, he did not stop there and went on to threaten us about calling
security (mind you, I had not responded to his earlier comment whatsoever).
Finally, after all this when it came time to load our luggage, mysteriously
everyone in the area vanished.

I would not go back here.

Room Tip: Room facing the hills to the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheenu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hello Cheenu S,

thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We will be calling you directly to discuss.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
176 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#33 of 144 in Albuquerque
523 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,438 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range: $211 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 550 acres of the Native American Santa Ana Pueblo between the legendary Rio Grand River and Sandia Mountains, Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa is the perfect home base to explore Santa Fe and Albuquerque, New Mexico. At Tamaya, you can relax and enjoy the stunning Southwestern beauty, splash in one of our three sparkling pools, indulge yourself at the award-winning Tamaya Mist Spa & Salon, hit the links at the championship Twin Warriors golf course, or take a horseback ride on a rescue horse at the Stables at Tamaya. We also offer incredible indoor and outdoor meeting venues that are sure to inspire any group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing