We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamaya Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Tamaya Resort is located a short 15-20 minute drive outside of the Albuquerque metro area and nestled in the desert by the Rio Grande. The architecture is all southwest adobe - and I love it. We stayed there 3 days and every one of them was great.

The valet was always there with the car - making sure to clean off my car's windows before we took off. The attendants, house staff, front desk and grounds keepers were all out-going and friendly in a sincere manner.

Our room overlooked the "basque" (forest lining the river) and mountains. It was an impressive view. I watched the sun rise over the mountain from my balcony in the mornings and then took the a stroll along the river. The trail to the river is well marked and maintained. The trail itself is dotted with exercise stations for those inclined to do something more than stroll through the woods. I highly recommend the trail - I saw river otters playing in the river...a pleasant surprise. Another guest spotted turkeys in the trees...I didn't see them.

We found the staff always very polite, very helpful. We ate our first dinner on the back porch at the Santa Anna Cafe. Excellent pizza - and excellent beer. My wife and I never have seen Road Runners before - but they had one little fellow outside who was interested in anything we'd toss his way. The swifts were just starting to arrive and establish territories - It was pretty interesting watching them chase each other. It's a very relaxing area to sit and look out over the basque and mountains. If you're just enjoying a beer or waiting for somebody to show up this is a comfortable and beautiful area to enjoy or wait. Very scenic, and serene.

The pool areas are attractive and enticing - very welcoming, one pool is separate and set aside for adults only. Didn't use the exercise room or even look for it. I recommend the Regency Club where you can fill up on breakfast - talk to the concierge there at your leisure, get drinks - it's all very convenient.

The rooms we had were expansive and comfortable. The grounds were quite, well maintained. I'd stay there again because I don't care to be rushed - and I want to look out at something other than a city scape. Best place I could find in ABQ area and I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cliffs or basque - either are inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello Ollie T,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted we had you with us for 3 days and you enjoyed each one! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We are pleased to hear you found our service and staff to your liking, as well as our pools, rooms and your dining experiences. We are also glad you were able to explore our hotel grounds and you experienced some of our wildlife. We are certainly in a beautiful area with many different residents! We hope we can welcome you back to our Resort again soon and make your next trip to New Mexico as memorable as this one!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here prior to our tour of New Mexico. We couldn't have chosen a better start to our trip. It was quiet and beautifully furnished. The staff and service were excellent; the restaurants all had excellent food. The pool areas were delightful and there were enough activities to keep us busy between jewellery making, bike riding, walking trails, etc. It honoured its spiritual location and heritage and we felt very rejuvenated and rested before the start of our trip. The view of the mountains and river and desert were remarkable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello Andrea M,
We are so happy to hear that you and your husband chose to stay with us prior to your tour of New Mexico! Your feedback regarding our staff and their service is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed our pool areas, furnishings, your dining experiences and some of the many unique activities we offer at our Resort! We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our cultural heritage here at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya and you felt rejuvenated and rested before your trip. Thank you for your feedback Andrea M. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property the next time your travels bring you back to New Mexico!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are interested in getting away - really away, this is the place. Outside of Albuquerque and on the way to Santa Fe, a beautiful location. Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. Indian dancing and music at the bar add to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fschargel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello Frank3473,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and some of our Resort activities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Regency Tamaya for a future stay!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights...my room was perfect, very clean and really comfy beds! There was a security/safe box in the closet, which is always nice. Nice view with trees looking into the center plaza area. I'd recommend an outside room on the east side, you'd have a beautiful view of the sunrise. I loved the trails around the property. The fitness room was small but the treadmill did the job. Room amenities were awesome, always useful...thank goodness for the toothpaste as I had run out. I didnt visit the bar, I did have lunch in the restaurant, once, the soup was yummy...but I didnt want the buffet and everything else was not of interest to me. No complaints, except the food was a bit of a disappointment. Also all the extra fees, even for wifi:-( I probably wont stay here again, not because it wasnt nice, it was just far away from a lot of activities.

Room Tip: outside room, east side, you'll have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtoCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello Luvtocancun,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations and the view of the plaza. It is wonderful you were able to explore the trails around our property, they are truly beautiful this time of year! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our fitness room and room amenities. We appreciate your comments on your dining experience. Your comment will be forwarded to our F&B Team for further review. We use our guests comments to continue to improve our overall guest satisfaction. Thank you for choosing to stay at our Resort. We hope to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Tamaya in the future.

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Tamaya Resort for three days in early July to celebrate my birthday. The resort has the potential to be top notch, but unfortunately the lack of attention to detail keeps this resort from achieving its full potential.

The pros:

-Beautiful grounds and views. I really enjoyed the nesting cliff swallows and how the resort has become a haven for neglected and abandoned horses.

-Staff was friendly and accommodating.

-Food was delicious and portions were generous. We ate breakfast three mornings at the Santa Ana Café and dinner twice and loved our meals each time. We also ate the BBQ at the bar and enjoyed the food there as well.

The cons:

-Even though the staff was friendly, the service at the restaurants and bar was not good. During our meal at the bar, we ordered a salad with our meal. When the food arrived the salad did not and when we asked the server about the salad he said “It’s coming.” The salad never arrived nor did the server re-appear for another half hour. When he finally returned to our table we asked about the salad and he admitted he forget to place the order for it. We had a similar experience during breakfast at the Santa Ana Café where we had to wait 15 minutes in an almost empty dining room for a server to arrive to ask us if we wanted coffee. Then we had to wait another five minutes for the coffee to arrive after we ordered it.

-The hotel itself was dirty and overflowing trash & recycle bins. The guests next to our room ordered room service and their dirty plates and glasses sat outside their door for at least a day before staff finally removed it. We were in a corner room and numerous times had trash dumped in the corner near our door and staff failed to clean it up promptly.

-But the real disaster was our final evening when our hotel room was literally invaded by over two dozen flying beetles. The weather stripping on our room door was partially missing which basically gave a swarm of beetles free access to our room. We saw them crawling under the door into our room! In order to stop the invasion we jammed towels under the door, but unfortunately we spent the next three hours killing at least 20 beetles that were already in our room. Yes, we could have called the front desk to be placed in another room, but it was already near midnight and after three days in the room we were too exhausted to pack up all our stuff and move to another room. I understand the resort cannot control nature, but replacing the weather stripping would have stopped the beetle invasion into our hotel room from happening.

Again, the lack of attention to details is keeping the Tamaya from being an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Buffy T,

We would like thank you for taking the time to post the review about your recent stay at our resort. Though we are happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences, our staff and our property, we would like to sincerely apologize for the other less than satisfactory aspects of your stay. The problems you encountered have been noted and shared with the appropriate manager for their review. Regarding your experience with your hotel room, please contact us directly so we can resolve this issue. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence on a future stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments; they will help us to improve upon our daily operations.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the 2nd consecutive summer we have come to Tamaya for a getaway weekend. We live in Albuquerque so it's a "stay-cation", but it feels that you do get away from it all.

It's a great place for kids. My 5 year old daughter loves it there. The pools and numerous activities are enough to keep any kid busy and happy.

Service was great as usual. My only knock with the hotel are that some of the prices (especially for NM) can get a little excessive (like $6.25 for a beer!). But overall it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hello Golobos,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know this is your 2nd time staying with us for a summer getaway! It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed our service and your daughter enjoyed our Resort activities. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just got back from a 6 night stay at this very nice resort in New Mexico. I was overwhelmed by the attentive and courteous staff. The concierge desk was wonderful and the pool service was excellent. We got several excellent dinner recommendations from the hotel staff. Breakfast was great although the poolside food was average. We had lunch at the Santa Ana Café and that was good and reasonable for this type of resort(Ahi Tuna Salad generous portion for under 13$). The gift shop featuring Starbucks coffee and ice cream also had some salad and sandwich options. The hotel had nice trails leading down to the Rio Grande which were great for walking and running. We also went river rafting and hot air ballooning with companies recommended by the hotel. Eric at the front desk was very helpful and extremely friendly. The pools were nice especially the adult only Kiva pool. The main pool included a slide and bar which made very good but unfortunately weak drinks. This hotel is a slam dunk very relaxing .

Room Tip: Request Mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Mkx2,
We are so happy we had you with us for 6 nights! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found our staff to be attentive and courteous, and you enjoyed our dining options. Eric was tickled to be mentioned in your post and is glad he could be of service to you. We are also happy to know you were able to partake in our River rafting and Hot Air Ballooning! Both of these activities truly showcase the beauty that surrounds us at Tamaya, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Regency Tamaya for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Sandia Resort & Casino
#33 of 144 in Albuquerque
520 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
159 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,432 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range: $181 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 550 acres of the Native American Santa Ana Pueblo between the legendary Rio Grand River and Sandia Mountains, Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa is the perfect home base to explore Santa Fe and Albuquerque, New Mexico. At Tamaya, you can relax and enjoy the stunning Southwestern beauty, splash in one of our three sparkling pools, indulge yourself at the award-winning Tamaya Mist Spa & Salon, hit the links at the championship Twin Warriors golf course, or take a horseback ride on a rescue horse at the Stables at Tamaya. We also offer incredible indoor and outdoor meeting venues that are sure to inspire any group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing