We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Douglaston, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tamaya was a wonderful getaway. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful and views are spectacular. The rooms are fine. Staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. The location feel remote and secluded but is well located with easy access to Santa Fe and Albuquerque.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slakboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted you found our service to be attentive and helpful and you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    386
    101
    50
    22
See reviews for
433
473
49
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
381 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Another nice Hyatt hotel that resembles pueblo. The rooms are nice, also affordable. The downside is the locoation, in the middle of sage brush field and a few miles out of town. Front desk staff, one is pleasant and one is not. Nice place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our Pueblo Feel. The Resort is located on 500 acres of Tribal Land and was developed to take advantage of the native flora and fauna without disrupting the ancient setting that we are on. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm a local who was looking for a good haircut. A friend recommended Michelle and we came together, with my friend receiving a pedicure. We had a lovely afternoon! I really like the cut and included with the cost, at least in winter I believe, is use of the spa. The whirlpool contains a
"tube" that blasts the body with water (and felt like a massage), and the steam room was so full of steam (and eucalyptus), it was really enjoyable. When it's time for another haircut, I look forward to seeing Michelle and hopefully treating myself to the spa experience again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your spa experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your afternoon and were able to enjoy our spa amenities with your haircut. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel grounds are gorgeous!!! The lobby is cozy and inviting and the suites are very well done as well. It's a very relaxing, spa-like place to stay.
There were a lot of activities at the hotel for people of all ages. There were spa-type activities for couples and singles, cultural and Native American things for the whole family, plenty for kids--a great mix.
The food at the attached restaurant was fantastic as well. If anything, this place might have been a bit TOO big and too much for people who are hoping to get out and do things away from the hotel. It is secluded so they keep a life of their own and it is tempting to spend your entire trip here instead of exploring the town. It is definitely more of a resort than a simple place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed many aspects of our Resort and we were able to provide you with a relaxing and enjoyable stay! We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Tamaya for two days just before New Year's. I had been there once before, but my companion had not (we are locals). Tamaya is situated on beautiful grounds outside of Bernalillo, New Mexico (20 min drive from Albuquerque), but it feels very remote and secluded. Beautiful walking paths along the river, lovely grounds. Every staff person we encountered, from front desk to restaurants, was warm, friendly and helpful. Room was very quiet and we heard little noise from other guests.

That said, there are a couple things that do not make sense to me about this Resort & Spa:

1. Why aren't any of the three lovely pools, or the hot tub, indoors? We were unable to take advantage of these because it was simply too cold. The hot tub with rock waterfall looked great, but it was not easy to access from a building (pool area is a decent walk across a grassy area, enter through gate), and you therefore would need to be either clothed, or in a robe to get there. Unless you find the idea of walking across the courtyard in your swimsuit (in view of restaurant and rooms), in freezing temps appealing.

2. Why were we nickel and dimed for every "extra"? Amenities such as free in-room wi-fi, microwaves, and movies are routinely included in resorts of this caliber, yet there was a charge for all of these at Tamaya. There was free wi-fi downstairs in the lounge, but $12 for in-room access. Movies were available... for $15-$19 ea! Give me a break, a theater would obviously have been cheaper. $20 extra for a room with a microwave? Valet parking was not free either -- $18 overnight, if I recall.

It seems to me that this property may be trying to make up for low occupancy or other revenue losses by charging guests for every last amenity. I'm surprised there wasn't a meter in the shower that took quarters for hot water.

3. Why weren't there more vegetarian options on the menus of the two restaurants? There were fish selections, but for people who don't eat fish OR meat... good luck. The fare was meat-centered and uncreative (one "vegetarian special" on the fine dining menu, no pasta or greens-based plates that I can recall, although one could probably cobble something together with the vegetable side dishes offered). The children's menu was actually more health-conscious and inspired in this regard. Room service offered pizzas that could be made without meat. Brunch was very tasty.

We would probably return to Tamaya, but with revised expectations, as above.

Room Tip: There are two different kinds of rooms here -- some are inside, with a regular hallway, and others a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liveclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We truly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel resort is removed from the rest of the world. We relaxed and escaped. Parts of the hotel seemed a little worn out- it may need some updating, but overall a wonderful experience. A sidenote- a lot of movie stars and rock stars stay at this resort because it's pretty and secluded. When we were there, Denzel Washington was staying there while filming a movie, and I heard stories about Cameron Diaz and Scarlett Johansen's recent stays!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StressedOutTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your response, we are happy you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings while you were with us! Our resort is currently going through some upgrades and refurbishments to start off the New Year. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Tamaya for 5+ nights leading in to New Year's. Resort was lovely; great decor, quiet, relaxing. Executive suite room was comfortable. If we returned to NM, I would definitely return.

Room selection: Ours had a view of the inner courtyard, which was fine, but we really missed out compared to all other possible views. Be prepared for a long walk to the lobby.

Location: It's out there. If you're touring around NM, plan to rent a car and spend a lot of time in it. 30 mins to ABQ, 45+ to Santa Fe.

Parking: They offer paid valet and free self-parking. Sometimes, you'll find a van driving through the self-parking lot and they'll drive you to the entrance. A nice touch when it's 12 degrees out!

Staff: Very, very pleasant, but not always helpful.

Housekeeping: Below average for a hotel of this caliber. Toilet paper was not replenished frequently enough (1/4 roll left with no spare after morning housekeeping) so I had to contact the front desk on two separate days about this. (After the first time, I would have expected the same mistake not to be repeated. The "housekeeping alert" the front desk said they put on my room after the first time must have been a ruse.) Bathroom floor was not swept. I've got long hair. It's easy to see when shortcuts are taken. Flat surfaces were not dusted. During a 5+ day stay, this becomes noticeable. As a fellow reviewer noted, the sheets don't fit the bed. Every morning, I woke up sleeping on the mattress pad. Gross.

Activities: The Tamaya Times listed the available activities, most geared toward children. However, they didn't always follow the schedule, which was frustrating. Pueblo dancing was awesome -- incredibly talented young people!

Dining: We ate breakfast in the Santa Ana Cafe every morning. Buffet could have been better and was not comparable to other hotels of similar caliber. However, the off-the-menu food was fantastic and made up for the somewhat lackluster buffet. Cafe staff was professional, nice, friendly and fast.

BBQ food at the bar/lounge was OK. Staff was friendly and pleasant.

Corn Maiden on NYE was rushed and overpriced for the quality and selection offered. For $90/pp, it's not appropriate for the staff to sit in one of the dining rooms (while we were still there) and eat what looked like custom-made meals. The magician didn't make rounds, only seemed to select certain tables to visit, which was disappointing.

NYE ballroom party was well done. Wish it would have been described and publicized better; we would have had a better time there all night than at the Corn Maiden. Really well done -- great band, decor, bar and desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilac11wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share the details of your experience at our Resort. We take your feedback very seriously. When making a reservation please feel free to request a certain view or area of the hotel that you would prefer to stay in and we would be glad to arrange that for you if room availability permits. Our secluded and beautiful location is an integral part of the resort experience. We do offer shuttle services to nearby venues such as Twin Warriors Golf Club, the Santa Ana Golf Club and Santa Ana Star Casino.

Thank you for bringing your room experience to our attention. It is unusual for something like this to happen, please know that it will be investigated.

We are happy to hear our staff was pleasant and friendly throughout the duration of your stay. This is something we truly pride ourselves on. It is feedback like yours that helps to continually improve our services and what we offer to our guests. We hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,328 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,598 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,138 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#18 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trl, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing