We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend getaway.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good weekend getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A group of us plus one dog spent three nights here over Labor Day weekend. There was a special where the third night was free with a two-night stay, plus breakfast credit at the hotel cafe each day, which was great since this is several notches higher than the places where I generally tend to stay. The resort is tucked away and tranquil, with great views of the Sandia Mountains, especially late in the afternoon when the huge outdoor terrace is shaded and you can sit out there and have a drink.

This is a terrific place to get up early and go for a run or ride the hotel bikes along the trails in the morning, have breakfast outside on the patio of the cafe, and then spend the day lounging poolside. There were a lot of families with small children here, but there is a walled circular pool in the middle of the resort with signs designating this pool area as a quiet zone. While we were there families tended to stay at the other pools where there was a water slide and an outdoor dining area and more room to spread out. Generally if people with noisy small children didn't get that the circular pool was a quiet area, one of the other guests would eventually ask them nicely to pipe down, and they would comply.

One of our rooms had a mountain view; the room I stayed in faced out onto a slope that led to the golf course. But who needs a view from the room when you're outdoors all day? The room did have a private patio with table and chairs, and you could sit out there and enjoy mostly silence--the golfers never whizzed by in their carts until later in the morning. The room itself was very nice, and the beds super-comfortable. The breakfast in the cafe is excellent, especially the blue corn griddle cakes. Don't miss the bread they bake in the outdoor ovens mid-morning - slather it with the various flavored butters, especially the cinnamon butter.

All aspects of service at the resort are excellent, at every level and in every department. The only thing that marred our stay was that throughout the weekend it seemed like someone was smoking near the air intake, because the smell would come through our room vents, and sometimes it was strong. We mentioned this at checkout, and the desk clerk was apologetic and even knocked a little off our bill. He didn't have to do that, we had only suggested that maybe they post no smoking signs near the air intakes if that was the cause, but we appreciated the gesture. I would happily stay here again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MintLemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    377
    98
    47
    23
See reviews for
425
464
49
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here two nights while visiting grandchildren in Rio Rancho. The hotel is convenient to I25 and Route 550 and could be a base for travel in the area and into Albuquerque. The location is very quiet and contains walking trails, a golf course, restaurants, bars and all are up to Hyatt standards. The staff is courteous and we were always greeted by any staff member we passed. Our room was comfortable and quiet with a gorgeous view of evening sunsets. The hotel is within a five minute drive to a casino which has shuttle service to the hotel. This is our 3rd stay and we plan on many more in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or scenic view -- each has advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are a frequent guest of ours. We will be sure to pass along your feedback and hope to host you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The views from the resort are breathtaking. Our room had a covered patio that provided shade and a lovely place to drink coffee in the morning. We loved the pools and the waterside! The many activities kept everyone happy. The Corn Maiden was a first class dinning experience. The meal was just fabulous. The hotel staff was informative and friendly. A first class resort that was simply a pleasure to enjoy! Thank you Hyatt Tamaya for an awesome vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarmagnolia_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa! We are thrilled that you found Tamaya to be a first class resort! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our many activities, dining in Corn Maiden and our friendly and informative staff.
We pride ourselves in utilizing feedback like yours to keep our guests happy during future stays, so thank you for sharing your experience. We hope that you will join us again the next time you are in New Mexico!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a 2 room upgrade to a nice big room with a seperate living room overlooking the pools, BUT the bathroom needs a LOT of help. We have had much nicer bathrooms in way less expensive places and without upgrades. The concierges need a lot more knowledge to do that job. They didn't have any better info than we had when we arrived. Overall the entire resort was pretty nice. In order for this resort to upgrade to a 5 it also needs some work with the golf course. My rental clubs were a filthy mess when I got them, and the course itself could use a few dollars put into it. If you want a GREAT pool area, this is a good spot for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We take teh opinions and feedback fo all of our guests very seriously, so thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would love the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you want a quiet getaway in the middle of the desert, then this is your place. Like a 5 star compound, it is located off on its own in the middle of the desert. Fear not on being too secluded, there is a free shutte that takes you to the casino a few miles away or you can pay $5 p/p to make a trip to the Wal-Mart. The rooms are smaller, but the beds are amazing and there are patios off every room (I'm almost sure every room) that have beautiful views. Wake up early, grab a cup of coffee and watch an amazing sunrise. I went in the middle of Februrary...and it snowed so I didn't get to enjoy the pool, but it looked like a fabulous summer getaway. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganBodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the great feedback regarding your winter stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

In a word, the Hyatt Regency Tamaya is simply spectacular. I came to the Albuquerque region for 3 reasons in early August: 1) to celebrate being a half-century old; 2) to view the Perseid meteor shower; and 3) to do my own personal "Breaking Bad" tour of ABQ. As it was overcast the peak night of the meteor shower on August 11th, I wasn't able to achieve all three of my goals, though I did achieve the other two.

Although our trip didn't start out too well (as it took nearly a full day to get to ABQ from NYC due to flight cancellations, etc.), as soon as we stepped into the Tamaya, things brightened considerably. The front desk staff was extremely personable and helpful, and we were able to get a Regency Club room with a view of the Sandia Mountains, which I highly recommend.

Our room was extremely clean, comfortable and modern, and featured a flat screen TV, interesting art work, and a beautiful balcony. The pools and common areas are meticulously maintained. We especially enjoyed the kiva shaped pool, as it afforded us some privacy and quiet time. (Even though it was high season, and there were lots of families with children, it never felt crowded.) Another high point was the Hummingbird Garden which is used for weddings and other ceremonies. True to its name, this wonderful little spot is filled with gorgeous flowering plants, and frequented by beautiful hummingbirds. Indeed, there are birds everywhere, for all you birdwatchers, so don't forget to bring your cameras and binoculars! Make sure to look for the nesting swallows which, apparently, have been building their nests here for thousands of years!

Tamaya is filled with all sorts of great touches, such as the "fruit water," with fruits changed every day (one day it's watermelon, the next day it's mango, etc.). And be sure to drink a lot of water as this is the high desert, after all. Also, there is enchanting Native American music floating through all the public spaces which certainly puts you into relaxation mode. I also highly recommend you check out the Regency Club if you're staying in one of the Club Rooms. The staff are warm and accommodating, and the food and drink selections offered throughout the day are excellent. It was a great place to relax and catch up on my reading. (The New York Times is provided here, which is great!) Although I didn't avail myself of any spa treatments, I did tour the facilities and can see why this spa is rated one of the best in the country.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention that the Tamaya is located on sacred Native American land on the Santa Ana Pueblo. My husband and I did a lot of hiking on the ample grounds, walked along the banks of the Rio Grande, and were able to see some interesting wildlife. We also checked out the stables that are located on the property, and spent some time saying hi to the friendly horses, goats and donkeys. Staying here was a truly magical and mystical experience. Although we tend to avoid large chain hotels, Tamaya is unlike anywhere we have ever stayed, and we are already planning a return visit. I think it would be great to visit in the week or two before Christmas as I've heard the decorations are awesome. And the Gemenid meteor shower is scheduled to peak the night of December 13th, so hopefully visibility will be better this time around!

Room Tip: The Regency Club Rooms with a mountain view are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for the great feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are thrilled that you found Tamaya to be a magical destination and that it is unlike anywhere you have stayed.
You mentioned that you would like to return right before Christmas. We would be delighted to host you again! The Holiday season is a beautiful time at Tamaya, filled with many holiday activities and decor. We hope to see you again later this year!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

A very nice self-contained resort with three pools and at least three restaurants. The property is very well maintained, and the rooms we had were spacious with nice views. We booked rooms with access to the Regency Club which provided our family (divided between two rooms) a central gathering place, and also a substantial breakfast, soft drinks during the day and a nice selection of appetizers and dessert at the end of the day. There was also free wi-fi and parking. Very nice fitness room included in the resort fee. We took advantage of free bikes and lawn and board games. There was a very nice public space off the lobby. We rode horses one morning through the stable associated with the hotel, and it was a quality experience. There are nice trails for hiking and biking along the Rio Grande in back of the hotel. It was about a ten-minute drive to the interstate highway and pretty easy trips to ABQ and Santa Fe. If you want to leave for meals, there are other options including the Range Cafe only a short drive away.

We did encounter a rattle snake on an evening walk so you need to be careful. The hotel responded promptly, but you are in the real desert.

In addition to the rattlesnake, disappointments included the hotel occasionally closing off public spaces for private events, and there seem to be weekend rates offered to local residents who come to the resort in large numbers and party in large groups and a little too hard. We observed this on both Saturday nights we spent at the property Hyatt ought to reconsider these efforts to attract locals with cheap prices.

Room Tip: Regency Club on fourth floor was a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable eight nights with us and were able to participate in the many activities offered. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to our staff. We hope to host you again the next time you are in New Mexico.

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#18 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trl, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing