We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, But Slow Service”

Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 550 & 528
Description: The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We visited on a Friday evening with reservations. There was music on the patio but we elected to be seated indoors. There was a long wait to place our order, then we had to request the complimentary bread be brought to our table. The restaurant was short-staffed as we noticed our server was waiting on tables both inside and on the patio. However, our server was attentive to our needs even though he was frazzled.
After 40 minutes with no food the manager came over and offered our table glasses of house wine to compensate for the delay. Our meals arrived 10 minutes later. The lamb was cooked perfectly and my wife and daughter enjoyed the salmon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mikejack52pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Thank you for taking time to share your experience dining with us. We strive to offer each and every patron the best experience possible but occasionally we do fall short of our expectations, and yours. I'm thankful the manager was able to address our shortfall with you personally, and appreciative of your generosity of spirit toward your server. It is great to know you did enjoy your meal once it arrived. Thank you again, and I hope this evening will not keep you from visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2017

Absolutely spectacular restaurant to celebrate a special occasion like an anniversary or birthday. The food was unique and very flavorful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Creechcr8v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you so much for the great rating and for sharing your comments. We hope to see you again for your next special occasion, or even sooner! We so appreciate you taking time to comment about your dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Good food, great chef. Reasonably priced. Had the steak, not large, but tender. No potatoes on plate? The bar band was way too loud. Loud doesn't make the music good. Turn down by half or put outside on the golf course. I am 1/2 deaf in one ear and 75% loss in the other and it was so bad it took away from an otherwise great meal with great ambiance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Thank you for the four star review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

I can certainly understand that the band disturbed your dining experience. It was the first evening of our outdoor Summer Music series, and unfortunately the Friday evening weather precluded holding the event outdoors as intended. Since the band was already on contract and advertised to the public, we had to pull them inside for everyone's safety and comfort when it turned out stormy.

I do hope you will visit again, as it is not a practice to have a band inside and we do regret the inconvenience and distraction it caused to your dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I tried the two dine for $60. It was delicious. I had the quail and my wife lobster ravioli. The Pinot noir was excellent as well. The staff was so attentive. Will definitely be back! My only suggestion is the men's bathroom needs updating. Other than that, perfect!

Thank ClaimsMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant/ Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Please accept our thanks for providing valuable feedback from your recent visit to Prairie Star. We are pleased you enjoyed our Wednesday evening promotion. It has proven to be an ongoing favorite with our patrons since 2009. Chef Olsen enjoys providing a unique menu each week, so we do hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

We came here after our wedding, and had a really good time. The French onion soup was tasty. We had trout for our main course, and it was very yummy. The dessert was a dark chocolate cheesecake, and it was amazing. The staff was very nice. We will definitely be back!

Thank purpletabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

On behalf of the staff and management, thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to Prairie Star. Congratulations on your marriage and wishing you many more happy memories! We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing