We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 550 & 528
Description: The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Good food, great chef. Reasonably priced. Had the steak, not large, but tender. No potatoes on plate? The bar band was way too loud. Loud doesn't make the music good. Turn down by half or put outside on the golf course. I am 1/2 deaf in one ear and 75% loss in the other and it was so bad it took away from an otherwise great meal with great ambiance.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Thank you for the four star review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

I can certainly understand that the band disturbed your dining experience. It was the first evening of our outdoor Summer Music series, and unfortunately the Friday evening weather precluded holding the event outdoors as intended. Since the band was already on contract and advertised to the public, we had to pull them inside for everyone's safety and comfort when it turned out stormy.

I do hope you will visit again, as it is not a practice to have a band inside and we do regret the inconvenience and distraction it caused to your dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I tried the two dine for $60. It was delicious. I had the quail and my wife lobster ravioli. The Pinot noir was excellent as well. The staff was so attentive. Will definitely be back! My only suggestion is the men's bathroom needs updating. Other than that, perfect!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank ClaimsMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant/ Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Please accept our thanks for providing valuable feedback from your recent visit to Prairie Star. We are pleased you enjoyed our Wednesday evening promotion. It has proven to be an ongoing favorite with our patrons since 2009. Chef Olsen enjoys providing a unique menu each week, so we do hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

We came here after our wedding, and had a really good time. The French onion soup was tasty. We had trout for our main course, and it was very yummy. The dessert was a dark chocolate cheesecake, and it was amazing. The staff was very nice. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank purpletabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

On behalf of the staff and management, thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to Prairie Star. Congratulations on your marriage and wishing you many more happy memories! We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We occasionally go to Prairie Star because their menu offers a variety of options and the chef is always willing to prepare gluten free entrees upon request. we have been pleased with every meal.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gabrielemW9880GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Thank you so much for visiting and recommending Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar. We truly appreciate you taking time to provide feedback and to rate Prairie Star so highly. Chef Olsen is great, very proud of his work, and always happy to meet the dietary needs of our patrons as best as possible. We do hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Celebrated a birthday there and the staff was very congenial and the food was good. It is a place to celebrate special events...

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayrae2138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant/ Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

On behalf of the management and staff, thank you for taking time to review Prairie Star so positively. We appreciate the great rating and so glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Prairie Star is noted as a special occasion destination, but we hope you will return to enjoy a casual dinner or drinks on the patio before the next celebration! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing