We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food”

Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 550 & 528
Description: The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I tried the two dine for $60. It was delicious. I had the quail and my wife lobster ravioli. The Pinot noir was excellent as well. The staff was so attentive. Will definitely be back! My only suggestion is the men's bathroom needs updating. Other than that, perfect!

Thank ClaimsMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant/ Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Please accept our thanks for providing valuable feedback from your recent visit to Prairie Star. We are pleased you enjoyed our Wednesday evening promotion. It has proven to be an ongoing favorite with our patrons since 2009. Chef Olsen enjoys providing a unique menu each week, so we do hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

We came here after our wedding, and had a really good time. The French onion soup was tasty. We had trout for our main course, and it was very yummy. The dessert was a dark chocolate cheesecake, and it was amazing. The staff was very nice. We will definitely be back!

Thank purpletabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

On behalf of the staff and management, thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to Prairie Star. Congratulations on your marriage and wishing you many more happy memories! We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We occasionally go to Prairie Star because their menu offers a variety of options and the chef is always willing to prepare gluten free entrees upon request. we have been pleased with every meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gabrielemW9880GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Thank you so much for visiting and recommending Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar. We truly appreciate you taking time to provide feedback and to rate Prairie Star so highly. Chef Olsen is great, very proud of his work, and always happy to meet the dietary needs of our patrons as best as possible. We do hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Celebrated a birthday there and the staff was very congenial and the food was good. It is a place to celebrate special events...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayrae2138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant/ Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

On behalf of the management and staff, thank you for taking time to review Prairie Star so positively. We appreciate the great rating and so glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Prairie Star is noted as a special occasion destination, but we hope you will return to enjoy a casual dinner or drinks on the patio before the next celebration! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Prairie Star never fails as being one of the best restaurants in New Mexico.
The ambiance is Southwestern with simplicity mingled with art; the location is on the edge of the beautiful gold course at the Hyatt. And the smell of pinion in the air can't be beat. We started out with drinks by the fire and watched the sunset - perfect. We moved into the main dining room where our server was friendly and a total professional. My lobster and shrimp relleno was delicious along with a tempura fried Autumn veggie salad. My husband had the pork lion which was tender yet packed with flavor. Prairie Star all around is an excellent choice for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWGC_PrairieStar, Executive Assistant | Web Manager at Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

What a lovely review! On behalf of the management and staff, I want to thank you for the five star rating and the great comments. We truly appreciate you taking time to share your dining experience and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
 

Been to Prairie Star Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing