We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Turtle and Crocodile Eco Tour from Huatulco with Mangrove Boat Ride
23

Book in advance
from
$49.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience La Ventanilla
from $49.00
More Info
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
45
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
45
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip boat ride release sea turtles guide island lagoon birds preserve coconut past couple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 52 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2016

Visited La Ventanilla again in February with a friend. Took the camionette from Zipolite and walked in from the main road. It is a very pleasant walk. I noted quite a bit of development in the several years since I was last there. There are two different groups offering tours of the mangrove swamp. There is a kiosk at the corner manned by the red shirt team. Their tour does not include the island in the middle of the swamp, restricted to boating through the mangroves. The white shirt team is located near the beach; their tour includes the swamp and the island in the lagoon with various wildlife on display. I suggest taking the tour with the original white shirt group; ask for Lalo, who speaks English very well. The cooler hours of the morning are the best time to go. The mangroves are home to many birds, several varieties of iguanas and crocodiles. Aside from the chatter of thousands of birds, the boat ride through the lagoon is very peaceful.

Date of experience: February 2016
4  Thank dougzipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 22, 2016

In the tiny, peaceful town of La Ventanilla, we were very happy with our 3 night stay at the "cabañas" run by Servicio Ecoturismo (the guys in the white shirts, as the previous reviewer mentioned), the organization that has been working for many years to rehabilitate the lagoon and its crocodiles, as well as the sea turtles.

The cabaña facility consists of three small two-story buildings, situated around a treed courtyard. There was a pleasant second floor thatched-roof balcony between the upstairs rooms. Some of the cabañas have shared bathrooms. Ours had its own full bathroom. The room was light and airy, and had a good fan.

The cabañas also have the bonus of a good WiFi service. The personnel were lovely, and the place was clean and very quiet.

The town is tiny, with about three restaurants - our favourite was the one run by Servicio Ecotourism. There are also a few very small tourist oriented shops. You can buy water, snacks and souvenirs, but little else. The beach is beautiful and long - getting to it meant briefly wading through the lagoon water. The sand closest to the lagoon consists partially of iron and magnesite and is naturally black. We swam in the lagoon (near the mouth, well away from the crocodiles!) but never did find out whether it's safe to swim in the ocean there.

The popular tourist town of Mazunte is about 15 minutes away by camionetta, collectivo or taxi. We enjoyed going there for a day, but were happy to be stationed in the tranquility of La Ventanilla.

To get there, take a bus from Puerto Escondido or Pochutla to San Antonio. From there you can get a collectivo or taxi.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank faychris83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 21, 2016

We were staying in Zipolite and decided to take a late afternoon trip to Playa Ventanilla. We stumbled upon the crocodile ecotour, which is well worth it (I think it was 65 pesos/person). We were 2 and had an English-speaking guide who took us to the lagoon to see the crocs. After a 5-10 minute walk, we reached the boats, got in and started exploring the small lagoon. To our surprise, there were many birds, including species that have been declared endangered in Canada, including the acadian flycatcher, which I helped protect when I worked for the Canadian Wildlife Service - what a treat that was!

The guide was very helpful with bird identification - he would spot them in the most hidden spots and knew all the species names. We got to see several crocs, including a massive female that was being checked for an eye problem. There are animals to check out on a little island that is also part of the tour - horses, caimans, spider monkeys, deer, etc. A hoot for kids.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank RishiBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

The visit was about 2 hours in total, partly because I think our guide was so informative and it wasn't too busy in the AM. We went on Dec 31 so it was a busy time for domestic tourists but we went early enough that he seemed like he had time to spend with us - crocodiles, a monkey, deers, other animals were cared for due to injury and are let back out into the wild when healed. Self sustaining and I truly believe that, while there was a commercial aspect to it, they feel that it is for the animals and the community. Make sure you go with the "white" shirt staff - as they are the ones that bring you onto the island to see their sanctuary, otherwise, so it seems the red shirts just bring you on a boat tour of the canals.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank silverxterra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Thankfully I found and read the previous reviews before we drove to Ventanilla for the crocodile tour. My wife, son, and his girlfriend drove up from Huatulco for the tour and I just happened to be searching on trip advisor for any other suggestions of things to see and do in the Zipolite and Mazunte towns after the croc tour. As previously mentioned, when you drive into Ventanilla, the road will take you right to the beach, and dead end there. There are parking lots along the road if you are driving your own vehicle. As we neared the beach, there were guys in red shirts waving you over and telling you where to park which was fine. These guys also give tours but from a different company. The "red shirt" guys are not allowed to stop on the lagoon island so the tour is really half of what you get if you go with the white shirt guys. As per another review, by chance the English speaking guide we ended up with was Nicholas as well. Very well spoken, and a very genuine and interesting guide. The lagoon tour took about 3 hours start to finish and cost $100 pesos per person. The guide is paid primarily from tips so if you are happy with your guide, tip well. We ended up on the island having a few cervesas so our tour took longer by 30--45 minutes than if you didn't relax with a cold beer.
All in all a great tour and trip through Zipolite, Mazunte, and Puerto Angel. I will also mention we stopped for breakfast at a hotel along the Zipolite beach and was excellent. The beach is clothing optional so we had a good view of some naked guys throughout breakfast, but we kind of expected this anyway knowing the beach was a clothing optional beach.
Mazunte is a very clean little town with some shops and lots of bars and restaraunts as well, so many places to stop throughout your day if you want.
A very good day trip from Huatulco. We have our own vehicle there as we own a condo so was really nice being able to drive ourselves, versus a tour or taking a taxi. The trip up is less than 1 hour, so an easy day trip there and back with lots of time for food and beers.

I recommend this tour for sure and also strongly recommend you use the tour company guys with the white shirts (cannot remember the company name).

Date of experience: February 2014
3  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews