We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Citadel Resorts, Jiya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rakkh Resort(Dharamsala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Sai Gardens(Palampur)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Surbhi(Palampur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Ridge Hotel(Dharamsala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Thamsar(Palampur)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
59
35
9
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
35
9
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature loversflowing riverpacked foodconnecting roadvillage calledhotel is locatedbadminton courtmemorable experiencethe entire staffserene locationbeautiful naturelocation is excellentsnow cladcool breezeroom balconyboard gamesindoor games
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my family visited this hotel earlier this year and had a fantastic experience. The location was amazing, the staff even more amazing, the service brilliant the views breathtaking.

The location was serene and the views from the rooms were amazing. The staff were the nicest people you could meet and attended to all our needs whatever they were and whenever we asked. Vijay and Ankush attended to our every need without any fuss. Ravi the security guard was a gentleman personified and made wood fires for us every night. We would then sing and drink by the fire in the fresh mountain air.

Rajat the manager was always available and made sure that all of our requests were promptly dealt with.

All I can say is if you are visiting the Kangra / Palampur region then this is the place to base yourself. Whether it be for relaxing or adventure activities....

Citadel - I hope that you can continue to maintain this standard for years to come and I look forward to seeing you all again.

Ketan, Trupti, Neha and Nirav and Surekha from London England

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ketan_dave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts, Jiya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Ketan Bhai..,
Thank you for the great review and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya.
The views speak for themselves and the Great Snow capped Dhauladhar's and the Baner River next door are a sight to behold.Your positive words are a great source of Encouragement for the Team at the Resort.It is our responsibility to make your stay as comfortable as possible .

We are an Extended home of your's in India.Would love to see you more at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya. We all miss you a Lot here.Our Team often speaks about you .What a wonderful time we had with you as guests at the resort.
Pay our Regards to Mataji ,Mam and love to the children"s.
Looking forward to greet you at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya again ....

With warm Regards

Jai Shri Krishna!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rajat Chauhan
094188 79512

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Living in big cities makes it imperative to take some time out and spending quality time with family itself is a luxury. I traveled to Dharamshala and McLeodgunj with my mother. I didn't book any hotel as I wanted to see the property before I could check in. Trust me I had checked more or less every hotel in those places and was greatly disappointed. Then I got the no. of Citadel hotel from TripAdvisor and my expedition to hotel searching started. As I am one of those who do not settle for anything less but excellent and was very skeptical whether this one will live up to my expectations, but when we reached I realized that it did.
Even though it was a task to find it as we were travelling for too long and was persistent to give my mother an experience that she remembers for a long time.

The view from the famous rooms i.e 205, 204 were impeccable, The moment I opened the door of the balcony I took a sigh, you really need to be there to feel it.The Mountains were as if living next door and as we were so tired we ordered food and bid goodbye to the mountains and slept like we never did in Delhi. The staff was very cordial & friendly, I am sure a few of us are too used to a particular way a waiter behaves but that's what makes these places so different. They are like home and not a 5 star hotel.

Apart from the hospitality and the location, I must recommend the visit to the monastery that's 3 km away from the resort.
This place is out of this world.

Regards
Lipika

Room Tip: If you get the Room # 204, 205 you are in for an experience .
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lipika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts, Jiya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mam,
Thank you for the great review and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya.
The views speak for themselves and the Great Snow capped Dhauladhar's and the Baner River next door are a sight to behold.Your positive words are a great source of Encouragement for the Team at the Resort.It is our responsibility to make your stay as comfortable as possible .
As you Rightly said we are a Home away from Home.
Looking forward to greet you at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya again ....

With Warm Regards

Rajat Chauhan
094188 79512

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful serene destination away from madding crowd and nestled in the lap of nature.
You feel the nature play at its best. An unexplored destination where you can simply relax and are at total leisure to enjoy the ambience. You can go to nearby Mc Leod Ganj or, kangra or Chamunda Temple. Bir Billing Indian paragliding Haven is also nearby. Tea gardens are at a stones throw. Best place to unwind for 3-4 days.

Room Tip: Go For Room No. 203,204,205 or 206 these Rooms have balconies towards the River Side
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anupam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts, Jiya, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mr Khanna,
Thank you for Patronising The Citadel Resorts,Jiya .It is a pleasure to have you with us at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya every time on your Visits. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Resort and the team right across was able to delight you with the small touches that we try and do for our guests.
The Citadel resorts is located in the Heart of the Kangra valley with Dharamshala,Mcleodganj on one side and Palampur,Baijnath on the other.Tea Gardens,gopalpur Nature Park and the rice fields of Jiya Village in the background of the snow Capped Dhauladhar mountains are a sight to behold.
Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to more visits from you with us.

Thanking You

With warm Regards

Rajat Chauhan
094188-79512

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we were a group of 15 people (4 families). we had a very comfortable stay at citadel! the rooms were good with each individual room providing a wonderful view of the dhauladar mountains and a river. the resort which is in the midst of natural beauty provides peace and calm. during our stay from 14th of august to 17th of august a cultural evening was also held where a local dance and music group showcased their traditional heritage and we ended up dancing and singing with the group. the staff and service was exemplary and all are needs were fulfilled. we went on long walks to the river admiring the nature all around. there are places to visit near the resort as well such as McLeodganj(where one can shop and visit his holiness dalai lama's monastery) ,tea gardens,palampur (where we went swimming in the river),dharamsala cricket ground, norbulingka institute,etc.. basic services such as television and internet are available and there is carrom and chess for kids as well. the hosts are extremely welcoming. all in all we had an amazing stay at citadel resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andymittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts, Jiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Mr Mittal,
It was a pleasure to have you with us at The Citadel Resorts,Jiyal. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Resort and the team right across was able to delight you with the small touches that we try and do for our guests. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to more visits from you with us.

Thanking You

With warm Regards

Rajat Chauhan
094188-79512

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First off, be absolutely sure of the reason you are on holiday. If you're looking for absolute peace and quiet and isolated from the hustle and bustle of the city - this is the place for you.

However, if you're the type that needs constant excitement, various menu options and things to do - then this is NOT the place for you.

The hotel is a 60 minute drive from McLeod and is nestled on top of a mountain with an absolute brilliant view of the Dhauladhar ranges. We stayed right on top in their Super Deluxe rooms (204) and the view was breath taking.

The resort is in its 2nd year and has friendly and involved owners who do their best to keep you content. The resort, however, looks good from outside but suffers from quite a bit of seepage in their corridors and lobby areas - probably that can be attributed to the heavy rainfall but its not something I'd expect at a classy resort.

The rooms are nice and functional - comfortable beds, hot/cold water, a gorgeous view and a clean, well maintained washroom. TV Reception - extremely hazy - being told that the signal is weak in rooms is not an answer a well traveled guest will buy.

Service has immense areas of improvement. Vijay Kumar stands out as an exceptional concierge/ room service / steward / phone attendant (all rolled into 1) - he was the reason the service stood out with his attention to detail and pre empting requests. The other staff seemed to be lacking in training or F & B Service etiquette. Examples: There were multiple occasions that we were alone in the restaurant with no one to ask if we wanted more of anything. The layout on some tables was different than the rest - inconsistent. They had arranged a buffet for a large group but the rates for that buffet were not published anywhere for family guests like us.
The restaurant is small and I got the feeling that the 2 waiters just did not have the ability to deal with a full house. There were days that 14 people filled up the restaurant and people ate with their plates on the food stations or standing. Chairs could have been offered or set up outside to deal with spillover guests.

Food is homely and the menu is limited.The menu is mostly Indian fare so do not expect a lavish breakfast spread of sausages, bacon, hash browns (no meats). Expect Paranthas, Puri Bhajji, Egg Bhurji etc.

If you are looking for extensive menu options and wish to try clay oven pizzas, momos, thupkas and various continental fare for all your meals - then this resort may not be the best option.

Do not expect reliable Internet access due to the remoteness of the resort. The aim is to be close to nature and away from city life.

The hotel did organize a folk dance program on 1 night and that was appreciated. Besides, Chess and Carrom - there are no activities or recreation rooms for kids. You might want to carry your own entertainment.

Hotel does not have a BAR.

Overall, a decent property - not over the top - satisfied with the room, location and Indian food. Service and Interiors could do with some work. Maybe an addition of a recreation room /activities for kids will help the parents enjoy their holiday.

Room Tip: A Super Deluxe room - we stayed in 204 - spectacular views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts, Jiya, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your constructive feedback and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya.
The views speak for themselves and the Great Snow capped Dhauladhar's and the Baner River next door are a sight to behold.Your positive words are a great source of Encouragement for the Team at the Resort.It is our responsibility to make your stay as comfortable as possible .
i have taken a personal note of your feedback and monitoring things personally .i assure you that you will find a few changes at the Resort on your next visit.We are working seriously on your feedback.

Looking forward to greet you at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya again ....



With Warm Regards

Rajat Chauhan
94188-79512

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews