We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
171
9
10
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
9
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedjumbe islandscuba divingour honeymoonhis teamseafoodplunge poolsea viewlow tidespent dayswhite sandheaven on earthout of this worldclamsnatural beautyfresh fishevery mealfood was great
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 194 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stunning setting, beautiful resort. Snorkelling both off the island by boat but also at a small reef close to the beach...accessible from beach. Very good. Food mostly excellent. Staff in restuarant good and very pleasant. Water sports staff also good.
Lovely island holiday.
Only thing that marred the holiday was that within 2 hours of arriving (we went to lunch and both my partner and I locked our luggage) our cases were forced open. 1 lock broken and the other the actual case broken. This was reported to management and also to RANI Resort Head Office and we were promised feedback but have had none. Unfortunate that not dealt with properly by management/head office.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesburgAnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manmed, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2010

In the 5 years that Medjumbe has been operational, we have never had any break inns or theft on the Island. These guests came to us from one of the other Lodges in the Quirimbas, upon their arrival we noted that the locks on their luggage was broken as it came off the flight. They then claimed on the 2nd day that their luggage was tampered withand that the locks was broken but nothing stolen. they asked us to replace their luggage. During our investigation we discovered that they asked the GM at the previous lodge they stayed at for a screwdriver and hammer to break open their luggage as they had locked their keys in their baggage. Needless to say we refused to replace their luggage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We decided to spend our honeymoon at Medjumbe Island.
Yaani and his team are wonderfully attentive. In particular Salimo - one of the waiters who served us stood out. Steve with his travel stories kept us entertained at the bar and on the water (while we snorkelled). The island provides the correct mix of privacy and socialisation.

We thoroughly enjoyed and our time on the island - so much so that my wife still has withdrawal symptoms.The sound of a small aircraft passing overhead still reminds us of the airplane used to transport you from the town of Pemba to the heavenly island of Medjumbe.

The food is delicious and i was impressed with the variety of available on a tiny island so far away from the mainland.

I would highly recommend the island to anyone looking for tranquility, privacy - timeout from world.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udesh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

A real treat and an excellent location! Thanks to the management, Yanni and his staff who at all times provided excellent service. The food is to die for!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wietz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent 10 days on the amazing Medjumbe with Yanni and his staff. 10 star luxury from morning to night, excellent accommodation, great food (and caipirinhas!), picture perfect sunsets and everything else you need in a vacation spot!

I really hope I get the chance to go back - soon!

Thanks to Yanni and his amazing staff for making this a fantastic holiday with amazing memories!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you really want to unplug from the world and relax, this gorgeous private beach is just the place to be.

If you looking for a romantic private place to go on honeymoon, this is just the place for that romantic moments.

From the moment we stepped of the aircraft we began with the most wonderful experience in our life.

The staff received us with a warm welcome and took our belongings to the cottage and made sure everything is in order

The Cottage is very spacious, comfortable and clean with lots of candles, has its own Jacuzzi and even a shower outside for that special moments. You really have to try this, it stunning.

The Staff were brilliant always smiling, friendly and pleasant and nothing is too much trouble.

Don’t even talk about food; every meal was fabulous and so much to choose from. Dinner by candle light next to the ocean or even next to the swimming pool.

I will recommend this paradise to each and everyone because I had the most wonderful experience in my life and will remember it always

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rialda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews