We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
10
6
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake hot tub toboggan hill banquet hall staff were amazing wedding bonfire fireplace cabin weekend summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Cottage 19 has a bathroom with mold on the shower curtain, grout, floor & a shower with a trickle of water flow. The kitchen has some plywood counter tops, ugh. We could find only one saucepan & no lid. We shared the attic space with most likely a noisy black squirrel that left in the morning & returned in the evening. And for this shabby accommodation we paid over $200. a night! Two friends came to spend one night with us (cottage can accommodate eight persons) & we were charged an extra $100 plus tax. This is outrageous & we had no choice but to pay as we couldn't uninvite our friends. We have had friends & our childrens' friends stay a month with us at a cottage on Hall's Lake & we did not pay one extra cent. Our business was valued.
We wish the new owners good luck & hope that customer relations becomes more of a priority.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Journey765507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthelot1, Owner at Sandy Lane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you for your valued feedback. We agree that our cabin is worn. We have plans to fix them but as new owners it will take some time. I wish you would have spoken to us prior to putting this in so that we could have had a chance look into things and come up with a satisfactory compromise.

As for the Sauce Pan issue all you have to do is ask and we will figure things out. There are many families that come up in groups and our items get misplaced between cabins.

We wish you all the best.

Sandy Lane Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We have been coming here since 1977 and have always been happy to do so. Lately it seems that the cabins could use a spruce up. Our cabin this weekend has lamps that don’t work, a fridge that cycles on/off every 15 minutes all night long. The carpet has been burned by sparks from the fireplace. The biggest problem is the bathroom; mold everywhere! On the grout, the sealant, the shower curtain and the floor. Certainly needs a freshen up, some of the furniture looks like it was the original back in the 70’s. Nice quiet place but not for us anymore, a bit rundown. There’s rustic and then there’s this!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Zekepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthelot1, Owner at Sandy Lane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I would appreciate it if you could tell us the Cabin number. We are new owners as of August 20th 2018 and we have plans to start renovations this fall. We are going to replace the Carpets with a new Barn Board looking Vinyl flooring that will be much nicer.

We agree that the furniture is old and we are planning on replacing the furniture with some very nice cedar furniture from a local vendor in Minden. We will also be updating the Heating cooling systems. If our plans work out we will have minimum four but up to eight cabins renovated within the next 6 months.

Feel free to ask us about our cabins next year.

Regards,

New Owners of Sandy Lane Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We took the kids for a week and they loved it the toboggan hill at the back of our cottage the skating and the hot tub. The owners are very friendly and helpful. This is our 3rd trip during the winter and will be looking at a summer visit.
Thanks for a great vacation

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank donaldsonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017

Our daughter and her fiancee held their wedding at Sandy Lane Resort at the end of September. Most of our guests stayed in the cabins and it was a great time! Joachim and his staff were amazing and helpful and very accommodating, enabling them to stay within their wedding budget. Even when we left items behind they agreed to mail them back to us without any hesitation. The beds were comfortable and cabins clean with everything we needed to be comfortable. I would come back for a vacation in the future.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaseltine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here while snowmobiling in the area and also while on the motorcycle. Very scenic area, the owners are more than accommodating, beautiful view of the lake and a nice beach, if your in the area any time of year is nice at Sandy Lane

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews