We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food, super wine. super value.”
Review of T'Hurst Bistro - CLOSED

T'Hurst Bistro
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super food, super wine. super value.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have eaten at T'Hurst, a newly opened eaterie in Hurspierpoint, a couple of times now and the meals have been delicious. It is really nice to have great tasting food that you know is freshly prepared. You can really taste the difference. Another bonus is great tasting food at a very reasonable price. This combination can be hard to find. The wine list very informative, the front of house guy know's his wine just as much as Chef cooks delicious food. The service was great, staff friendly, just a very nice way to spend an evening. So much so that I have just booked to eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    1
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Took my mum and daughters for a mid week evening meal a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed the experience. We took the precaution of booking a table. I left a message on the answerphone and was promptly called back confirming the booking. The staff were friendly and made sure our meals were to our liking. The food was excellent with all of us enjoying our meals. Not often do I have a pudding as well, but my daughters were desperate for a taste of the brownies and they were fantastic. Really good value food and great atmosphere. Will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1024017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I real gem!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and knowledgable staff. Chilled atmosphere. Fantastic menu with delicious meat, fish and vegetarian dishes on offer, locally sourced and perfectly cooked! Attention to detail is great here! Matteo the owner and chef takes great pride in his food and this place and each time I have been I have loved the experience. We come out from Brighton regularly to eat here with friends and family and they are always impressed. Well worth visiting for a delicious meal ! Kat

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katgreenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Too brightly lit for atmosphere and food is hit and miss, nice steak but otherwise very average. Choice of wine is good and well priced but beer not great. Needs to step if to be a long term survivor after novelty wears off

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRatatouille64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo W, Owner at T'Hurst Bistro, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I think this is a one off upset customer. Reading the review, it would seem obvious that we have failed to make this particular person happy, however, there doesn't seem to be any specific grievance to address. Regarding the few specific comments that were made; regarding lighting - we try to strike a balance between atmosphere, and having enough light to adequately read the menu. Sometimes people who have no problems reading the menu will think that their opinion is the only take on the situation, but as the owner we have to try and do best by all our customers. With regards to the beer selection - there is still a segment of the population that wants our business to be run more like a pub as it has been in the past, however we are indeed a wine bar, and as such our focus is on wine. We do have two nice ales on draught, as well as a selection of three lagers, and a stout on the tee bar. We also have seven bottled beers which include some European and non alcoholic choices. This seems quite adequate to me as a selection in a bar that is officially a wine bar... and the bulk of our sales are wine. I would think that this would be obvious, particularly given our small size and rural location... No business is exactly what everyone wants it to be... but then again, it's a free country and anyone who wants to open a restaurant is free to do so. I think we hit much more often than we miss, and I know that we do our best to offer good fresh food, at reasonable prices, served by a genuinely nice and friendly staff. I would recommend that you judge for yourselves. Cheers, Matteo Watkins, Owner, T'Hurst - Wine/Food/Shelter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“lovey restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

really lovey food, delicious in fact. Good value for money compared to the gastro pubs in the area, simple small menu which i like as i hate too much choice.... need to book a table in advance at the weekend as its so small it gets booked out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T'Hurst Bistro also viewed

Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex
Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex
 
Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex
Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex
 
Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex
Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing