We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and warm welcome”
Review of Wickham Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hurstpierpoint
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickham Place
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort and warm welcome”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at Wickham Place several times ow and have always found it welcoming and comfortable. Joan and Bill look after their guests well and remeber what we have had before. Everywhere is clean and tidy and we can come and go as we please

Room Tip: We like bedroom one which has a comfy settee and an ensuite. It overlooks the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
That is why we try so hard to make a stay here enjoyable .It is the people that keep returning to stay with us that makes for such a friendly atmosphere .We love having repeat business which makes a huge difference and our approach so worthwhile .
Thank you for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed just the1 night at this B & B in September 2012 and was very impressed with the welcome that we got and the lovely breakfast that we had the following morning. We had been to the Bolney vineyard and just wanted a place to stay over for 1 night, this certainly met all our needs. There was a very good choice for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Bill, we chatted with other guest round the breakfast table which was very nice. Loved the history of the house and if we ever wanted to go down that way again would stay here. The room was very comfortable. Thank you for a good breakfast & we loved the dogs.............

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the en-suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineygirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We always try to make our guests welcome so they enjoy their visit and would want to stay with us again .It was a pleasure and so nice of you to take the trouble to write a review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here (the first was with my wife and 2 dogs, this time solo), and we're already looking forward to the 3rd, 4th, 5th . . . . . Joan and Bill are wonderful relaxed hosts and provide a delightful welcome to their magnificent home.

If you like the boring, plastic, uniform offerings of some other establishments, especially modern hotels, then this is not the place for you. If you like individuality, character, and being welcomed into a charming, luxurious B&B, full of history, as we do, then it's wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We enjoy having guests stay with us and so many are now coming back when they are in the area it is a bit like old friends coming to say hello again.
Taking the trouble to write a review is really appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were made to feel extremely welcome by bill and Joan who gave us loads of local info and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast is excellent and served in a sumptuous dining room. Beds very comfortable and loads of bathrooms. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Chaps it was a pleasure to have you here even with the early breakfast
Come back again anytime and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time I a few days two couples for over night stay on a walking weekend very nice experience and lovely fresh breakfast would stay again when In the area

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
It is so nice to have guests stay who enjoy their visit and it makes it a pleasure for us to meet them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were the guests of Wickham place for three nights at the start of November. It is very quiet luxurious guest house, incredibly well run by Bill and Joan Moore who are charming they have created an atmosphere of homeliness, beautiful sitting and dining room with breakfasts to die for. The bedrooms are very well furnished with comfortable beds a large TV and coffee making facilities with the kind offer of extra milk if we needed it, thick towelling dressing gowns and big luxurious towels in the bathroom, the way that they are running and decorated the hotel is impressive and fabulous. They were very helpful and were eager to help. There is secure parking behind electric gates. A delightful guest house in the stunning village of Hurst Pierpoint. We are already looking forward to staying with them in the near future. Many thanks for looking after us

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Manager at Wickham Place, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
It is always so nice when guests who have enjoyed their stay with us take the time to report on their visit .
Thank you for the review it is really appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been staying in the UK for a month from Aug to Sep, traveling to different places (including London, Brighton, Lake District, Chester, Cheltenham, Cotswolds, Canterbury, Salisbury, Bath.....), Wickham Place is the 'home' I kept on going back every weekend.

It is a very nice place to stay, the room is cosy and comfortable. The hosts are very accommodating. The guests there are very friendly. The hosts have given me a lot of good suggestions and advices for traveling in the UK. I enjoyed the stay very much!

I found it very convenient for me to start from Wickham Place to many other places. Sometimes I traveled by car and sometimes by train. It is just a few minutes driving from Wickham Place to the Hassocks rail station (walking takes about 20 minutes). Hassocks to London is just 50 minutes by train (at least 2 trains every hour).

Oh the breakfast, I like the full English breakfast there so much.........I wish I could have it everyday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurstpierpoint
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
222 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
386 reviews
7.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickham Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Place

Property: Wickham Place
Address: Wickham Place Wickham Drive, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Hurstpierpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hurstpierpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WICKHAM PLACE IS a 4 star VISIT ENGLAND inspected Band B as well as our family home .A large number of our guests are repeat visitors who enjoy staying here as we provide a friendly atmosphere and quality service .visit our web site and have a look around.we provide a varied breakfast menu which when selected is cooked to order. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickham Place Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing