We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accomodation and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayton Wickham Farmhouse
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation and hosts”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful accomodation in lovely grounds, with superb breakfasts and an astonishing eye for details. We had the Seaside room for 3 for a weekend, and it was really lovely. Extremely comfortable beds, whole room done to an very high level, although maybe the shower could do with a refurbishment, as it it's not quite up to the high standard of the rest of the room. Hosts were truly delightful, and couldn't do enough to ensure everything was just perfect. Cooked breakfasts were a delight to behold, and very tasty too. All in all, a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The seaside room was lovely, didn't see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A stunningly beautiful, traditional Sussex farmhouse on the edge of a lovely village. The owners pride themselves in making the stay as perfect as possible for their guests and I would hugely recommend using this accommodation if you seek a relaxed and informal stay in luxury B and B accommodation.

Room Tip: Nothing to choose between the rooms because they're all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Faultless. Faultless. Faultless. This is truly a most unforgettable place to stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The attention to detail, not only in the rooms and how you are treated is second to none. Susie has an amazing eye of combining all manner of elements when decorating the rooms that leaves you wanting to return home and start redecorating your our own property! The rooms are perfect, clean and beautifully furnished. The house is stunning and the recent work they have completed in the dining room and living room shows how truly talented they are as a couple. The huge garden is breathtaking and takes some time to wonder around, but again is littered with the unique touches that Susie and Mike have worked so hard to make the experience complete. You are free to sit next to the pond on the swing bench or relax in the Thai House; both with uninterrupted views across the Sussex countryside. You haven't stay in a bed and breakfast until you have stayed at Clayton Wickham Farmhouse and we will both be coming to stay for many many years to come.

Room Tip: The top of the range room with the four poster bed, is excellent and has a bath and separate shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithraygage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great location, great experience, great food, great company and hospitality,beautiful home, beautiful cat, and the hosts aren't bad either. We will definitely return,
Diane and Gary
Gunning
NSW
Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for about half a year every Tuesday and Wednesday because I needed to be near Hurstpierpoint. Everybody there is very welcoming, the house is lovely, it is in a brilliant location and there are no faults whatsoever. Words cannot describe the brilliance of this B&B. It is better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. I highly recommend it to anyone for any reason of staying.

Room Tip: Stayed in Hydrangea Room and Seaside Room. Both were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tribblator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was our third visit and we very much hope that it won't be our last. The old farmhouse and its tranquil setting are just perfect. The welcome from Susie and Mike is warm, friendly and entirely genuine. They go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are comfortable (spectacular in the case of the four-poster room) and impeccably presented. Breakfasts are fantastic. Once settled in, guests are left alone to explore and enjoy the extensive grounds but have only to ask if there is anything they need.

I can't see b&b getting much better than this.

Chris Day

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Dotandcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Spent a weekend at Clayton Wickham with friends for a wedding, we had most of the place booked out for both nights. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, they were great conversation and company too. Their home is beautiful, their gardens even more so. They're short on rules and long on enjoyment and the breakfasts are far better than the vast majority of good hotels. It may cost a little bit more per night but for an individual, beautiful and enjoyable stay ditch the generic Travelodge nonsense and go for this. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomp186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurstpierpoint
3.0 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tovey Lodge
Tovey Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ditchling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Wickham Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Wickham Farmhouse

Property: Clayton Wickham Farmhouse
Address: Clayton Wickham Farmhouse Belmont Lane, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Hurstpierpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hurstpierpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clayton Wickham Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Wickham Farmhouse Hotel Hurstpierpoint
Clayton Wickham Farmhouse Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing