We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
36
23
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
23
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope swing tree house outdoor shower motor boat lake bunyonyi hot water every evening easter weekend great fun hour walk treehouse mainland toilet johnson tents birds cottage
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 73 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We loved this place and plan to return.

Lodges or safari tents with beds. Our treehouse had a good solar shower and flush toilet. There is an excellent value lodge style restaurant.

You need to respect the service culture and plan your meals, which at least one reviewer did not understand. Current local availability or current Bushara stock eg need to source a chicken for tonight's meal, need to be taken into account. 'Is matooke available?' prompted a check of 'the plantation', presumably to see if any plaintains had ripened. Most food is freshly cooked and takes time.

Getting around needs average fitness and would be difficult for those with limited mobility. Altitude adds to this.

Mild climate - 2,000m up in mountains. Can be a little chilly at night in comparison with much of Uganda. Camping in your own tent is highly feasible and very cheap.

The island is hilly and wooded with many species of colourful, small birds. Lake Bunyonyi is famous for its beauty.

Room Tip: Tree houses are excellent but a party of 4 can stay for $60/night in one of the cottages, which is excellent value
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

We called before arriving and booked a cottage. The lady at the reception said the room will be ready by 1pm and that we can arrive earlier and order lunch meanwhile. When we arrived we realized that we need to wait until the current guests will leave so they can have the key back and prepare the room. By 2:30pm they still didn't get the room key, while all this time we had to just sit and wait. After eating and paying for the lunch who was also late (even though we ordered it two hours earlier) we told them we are not gonna wait anymore and that we want to go back to the mainland. Then the lady said that if we are not staying there we have to pay 40,000 shillings for the boat (which is very very expensive). After waiting half an hour more for the boat that didn't came we took a different boat who passed near (and paid only 10,000). Than when we arrived to the mainland they were waiting for us and started argue about the payment. It was a very bad experience having 13 men yelling at you and we eventually paid. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank FarAway656895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I visited Lake Bunyonyi because it was a convenient stop between Kampala and Kigali. But, it ended up being so SO much better than I had ever anticipated! First of all, the lake with all the little islands and rolling hills surrounding the place makes you feel like you are in The Lord of the Rings. It is magical and it is not very touristy which makes it so much better. What made the trip even better was Bushara Island Camp. We went over the Easter weekend, which was a particularly busy time for them. Unfortunately the room we had booked was occupied, but Johnson, the helpful and friendly manager, quickly made a plan and placed us in a luxury tent (with hot water, a non smelly drop hole toilet, 2 double beds & a sink) for the same price which I really appreciated. The island is great fun, with the swing, walks, swimming, canoeing and motor boat rides. I have also never seen & heard so many different birds in my life! I am no birder, but a 2 hour walk around the island with a really knowledgeable birder guy (whose name now escapes me) really got me very interested. The food is good, although you must order at least 4 hours in advance, and the roaring fire at night was just the cherry on top. I also have to mention that at one point, we got a random motor boat to the mainland, and one of my friends left a bag of clothes on the boat. Johnson, with the help of other staff, managed to track down the motor boat and return her bag of clothes the same day! Things like that don't happen in many places in the world. They organised us transport at 4:30AM in order to catch out bus at 6AM which we really appreciated. Uganda is amazing and Bushara island camp made our stay the great experience that it was.

Room Tip: I suggest luxury tents - BouBou tent or Sunbird tent
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiefarrand12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017

We stayed here for four days during the off season. While the place was nearly empty, we never felt uncomfortable or harassed. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and knew when to leave us alone.
The food in particular was excellent and the bar service was fast and accommodating. The open fire was also a real treat in the cooler evenings.
The hot water system was being maintained, but we had warm water provided. Also, our tent door wouldn't close so the manager happily upgraded us for no extra charge to a wonderful family cottage.
The rope swing in particular was great fun, but it was a perfect place to relax, read a book and enjoy the lake.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddandcocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We stayed at Bushara Island Camp over New Years and had a wonderful time! We had all the hot water we wanted in our rustic outdoor shower (which was great after a few day stint in the forest), the tent was really comfortable and the patio was great to relax on. The food and service were also great. The variety on the menu was astonishing, everything is made to order so be sure to order in advance! Eva was so friendly and helpful in navigating our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews