We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
34
23
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
23
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope swingtree houseoutdoor showerlake bunyonyihot watermotor boateaster weekendgreat funhour walkmainlandtoiletjohnsontentbirdscottageugandacanoeing
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 71 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Amazing tree house accommodations, wonderful views and attentive staff. A wonderful retreat after an exhausting safari. We absolutely loved our stay at Bushara Island! The privacy of the island and each of the rooms is amazing - it feels like you have the entire island to yourself. We also thoroughly enjoyed the evening fire in the restaurant area. There were only a few other guests and it was truly an amazing experience. It is also a wonderful place to star gaze and enjoy bird watching. Food is excellent!

Room Tip: Highly recommend staying in the "tree house!" It was truly the treat of our entire trip!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent a couple of very enjoyable days relaxing here after climbing the Rwenzori mountains. Arrived by boat on the tranquil lake and did nothing for 2 days except walked the island (approx 15 mins round), sat on our balcony watching birds and spotting otters and wondering up to the Swallows restaurant for crayfish!!! Basic but very comfortable huts with a fabulous hot outdoor shower. The staff were wonderful waking us with morning coffee and pre-ordered pancakes (huge portions!) Seems to be a one night stop after the gorillas but definitely worth longer.... If you like birds - an absolute paradise (240 species confirmed sightings).

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a lovely time here. From the moment we arrived at the jetty on the lake shore the staff took care of us. They immediately transported us to the island in one of their boats. The tents are spacious with proper beds and good bedding. The tents are well spaced out. Each tent is down it's own separate path and we never heard anything from the other tents.
The showers had hot water (although you sometimes need to let the water run a while for it to get through from the hot water tank further up-hill.) The food was excellent, several choices and provided you ordered it in advance was always ready on time. It is mainly a place to relax, but we enjoyed wandering around the island and hiring one of the dug-out canoes and some quick dips in the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I travelled to Bushara Island in June 2010 after spending 2 months volunteering in Kenya. It was the perfect way to end a great experience.
You get to the island from mainlaind by boat and unfortunately have a steep climb to the reception area, it is totally worth it though. The staff are very welcoming and appreciate you so much. I was able to stay in 2 rooms as some friends planned to leave early to go home. firstly i stayed in a 2 bed cottage. The rooms are very basic but all you need is a bed and a toilet :). After one night we moved to a 2 bedroom cottage which sleeps 5. This was like a mini house. the bathroom was out of the cottage. The toilet was eco friendly and used no water, was just a toilet sat on top of a hole. You had to make sure your showers were quick as every morning they fill up the very small tank for you all to have a shower, (probably easier to wash in the lake). The breakfasts were filling and had lots of choices. most morning i chose pancakes and fruits and tea. Lunch and dinner a menu was given again lots of choice, traditional and international.
During the day you could relax. They had board games to play, badminton, football and you can go swimming in the lake from many of the decks around the island or the rope swing (just be careful of the trees!), you can get snacks throughout the day. At night when dinner had finished they put the fire on where you can sit around and chat and meet lovely people who are also staying and also talk to the staff. The staff try to teach you the culture by playing traditional music and dancing. They will offer to take you to the mainland as well for the market and visit communities which is a must.
The island does have minimum electricity run from solar energy so if you need to check emails are charge phones they will do that for you. They even allowed us to watch the football whilst we were there.
it's an island not to be missed!!!! lovely people and lots of time to relax and reflect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACS611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were incredibly impressed by our stay at Bushara. Having visited many community projects around the world, this one seemed to be a truly sincere and successful initiative! They provide great service and care to detail for visitors. Be sure to take a historical tour to the nearby islands (William was an incredible guide!) or ask to hear about all of the initiatives that the Island Camp supports for surrounding areas and families (seedlings, swim lessons, health projects, widows' income co-op, schools, etc). Not to mention the incredible location and amazing food and great staff!!
Although their solar energy system isn't ideal for charging phones or computers (they did their best to accommodate it), they have a plan in place to improve this for people that want electricity. We stayed in the Kingfisher cottage, hot water was provided for showers anytime, and the view was amazing. Very rejuvenating after hectic work and travel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews