We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Madera's Inn(Masaya)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$51
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/25
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/22
$68
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
116
22
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
22
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake nicaraguahowler monkeysbeautiful hotelapoyo lagoonbeach clubstar resortinfinity poollocal artisansevery morningamazing viewscool breezeminute drivenature walkhotel restaurantrooms are lovelythree nightsmain building
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 148 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Pacaya 5 nights and loved it! The rooms are very comfortable with amazing views of Laguna De Apolo in Catarina. The food is delicious too. Breakfast breads, fruit and coffee come in a cute basket every morning but be sure to specify a time at the front desk each day. Pool and spa are clean. The bartender Eddie was so friendly and helpful and was pretty good with his English. Knowing a little Spanish in Nicaragua is a necessity since tourism is sort of new they never had a need to learn english. But we know they are trying. There is a shuttle to take you to and from the airport and to Granada or even the Laguna Beach club wich by the way is the BEST way to experience the lake in our opinion. Very clean and has a bar and food and top of the line resort feeling with free stand up paddle boards and kayaks. We also went to the Painted Ponies horse riding tour. 5 stars for sure!!!

Really nice experience overall!! Wonderful memories forever!!

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacayaLodge, Director of Sales at Pacaya Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Yvette! Glad you had a wonderful experience and would be thrilled to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice quiet small hotel. The rooms are clean & decorated with Nicaraguan Artisanal objects. The water smells a little off - but it is by a volcanic crater so this is not unusual.

The breakfast that is included is limited to bread, fruit , & coffee with other options to buy.

The main issue is with the shuttle service. Their literature & website advertise complimentary shuttle service to the Laguna (the trail requires a paíd guide & is steep) and also complimentary shuttle service to Granada. What they fail to tell you is that you have only 2 options of times to leave the hotel (9am & 12pm) & 1 return (4pm). The quote for RT taxi service to Granada for 5 ppl was $60. What this means is that if you don't have transportation you will either have to pay to leave at your convenience or eat dinner at the hotel. If you are aware of this in advance it is easier to make adjustments to your plans.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank PRgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacayaLodge, Director of Sales at Pacaya Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As you noted, the shuttle to the laguna leaves a certain times during the day. This is a necessity as we use this vehicle for airport transfers in the morning and evenings as well. For guests who would like to travel to Granada or elsewhere, there are various other options that we would be happy to work with you to arrange. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

A friend and I went to the Laguna for a spontaneous weekend trip with no reservations, and as luck would have it, we found Pacaya upon our arrival. We were blown away. The grounds and rooms are top notch, down to the last detail. Incredible views of the crater lake from your private patio, very comfortable beds, AC, great decor, delicious coffee, well equipped bathrooms, etc. Pure luxury. We spent the evening in the jacuzzi and infinity pool, drinking champagne and enjoying a spectacular view. Food was great and beautifully prepared (though the wait time was a bit long during lunch- not sure why.)
A unique element of note- breakfast is brought to you in picnic baskets, where you'll find coffee, fruits, and an assortment of breads.

It's worth mentioning that some of the staff at Pacaya are students that are being trained in hospitality via an entrepreneurship school and they are doing fieldwork at Pacaya, which is a fantastic opportunity to empower local youth and provide top notch training, this being difficult to find in Nicaragua for students of humble means. Overall the staff was very professional- exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this rank.

I can't wait to come back for a full weekend and take advantage of their spa and massage packages. Until next time!

Room Tip: Try one of the casitas- breathtaking views and incredible decor
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacayaLodge, Director of Sales at Pacaya Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Hi Lucy- thank you for your thoughtful review and for staying with us in May! We're glad you found Pacaya to be "pure luxury" and enjoyed your stay. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

We live close to the resort and visit almost daily the restaurant. I think we almost tried everything on the menu and to be quiet honest it is of decent quality and all the dishes are well presented. Where things start to go wrong is first of all on the Service side. Some of the waiters are not properly trained and miss customer service attitude. To give a brief example: one night we ordered a good bottle of wine. The wine had a cork taste and I send the bottle back. The waiter took the bottle, never put any excuses and let us sit on the table without coming back with an alternative. And we are talking about a 5 star hotel! Another night we ordered a pizza (tiny mini pizza costing $12.00 and gone in 2 bites). And 2 days earlier we ordered the same dish and it was okay. In a restaurant it is all about consistency. We complained but got little response, feedback nor compensation. If you look for a nice hotel with a view, beautiful rooms in a quiet area it is definitely a place I recommend but be critical with the restaurant, it has the potential but misses management also the restaurant management needs to improve.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank Franco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacayaLodge, Director of Sales at Pacaya Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

Hi Franco-
Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest, thoughtful review of your experiences with Pacaya. We're thrilled that you have been such a loyal guest and have enjoyed Pacaya's view, beautiful rooms, and quiet setting. Like you said, consistency is crucial in our industry and we hold ourselves and our staff to the highest standard in service and hospitality. I'm sorry that you've had experiences with us that have been otherwise. We are addressing this issue and will be revisiting our training protocols and standard operating procedures with front of house staff. As you know, we are a very new property and are still working out some of the kinks in operations, but promoting a culture of customer service and hospitality at the property is our first priority. I hope that your next next experience at Pacaya reflects our commitment to continually improve our service and consistently exceeds your expectations.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

My wife and I live and work in remote parts of Nicaragua and are always looking for new places to stay that offer peace, quiet, cleanliness, and great service. Pacaya Lodge came up in a search offering 5 star quality. Based upon the pics we took a chance and stayed there for our recent 3 night break. We booked one of the King Suites. The quality of this property, the rooms (we stayed in a Casita, not the main lodge), and the staff service are several notches above most Nicaraguan hotels. We would compare it to the service/quality we experienced at Jicaro which is quite a bit more expensive most of the time.

The Room: Amazing view of the crater lake, nice outdoor sitting area with hammock. Inside nice tile floors, premium bed, great a/c, comfortable sitting area, 5 star bathroom with tile water fall style shower with reliable solar hot water. From our balcony we saw howler monkeys, Capuchin monkeys, flocks of parakeets and more! The room had wifi access that had reasonable bandwidth for Nicaragua (the highest speeds avail range 5mb-10mb range...low by foreign standards I know..) The only thing that might improve the room would be a mini-frig to keep cold water etc in-room or snacks.

The Pool: beautiful infiniti pool overlooking the crater lake. Was kept clean and was the perfect area to relax. Only improvement we would suggest is to have umbrellas available for the lounger area; that nica sun can be strong some times!

Food: The restaurant and bar on location offer great menu choices from Nica inspired fare to international cuisine. The prices are higher than local restaurants in nearby Granada, but the ambiance, quality, location, and level of service help justify the higher prices. This is not a bargain hunters place or for backpackers on a budget. All of this dishes we tried for well seasoned and freshly prepared.

Location: The hotel does offer airport transfer and shuttles to nearby activities in Masaya and Granada. Since we are used to driving in Nica we rented a car to have a little more freedom. If you are reasonably comfortable with driving in foreign countries the resort is easy to find and they have done an excellent job with signage leading from the main road to the location. Much better than many other places we had to find in the past. We enjoyed having the peaceful location to stay while also only being 15 mins from Granada which offers bustling cafe scene and many activities and sites to see.

I also want to mention that the property is equipped with an automated generator system which kicks on almost immediately during any power outages. Power issues are common in Nica and its kind of a downer if you stay at place that does not have this amenity in place...no electricity = no fans, no a/c, and darkness!

We will definitely be back when we will be in that area for a long weekend etc.

Room Tip: Casitas 9a and 9b are at end of the property and offer absolute privacy and quiet
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacayaLodge, Director of Sales at Pacaya Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Hi Dustin- thank you for your thoughtful review! It's great to hear that you had a positive experience and enjoyed the rooms, food, location, activities and generator! Thanks for the tip about the umbrellas in the lounge area! Really looking forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews