We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the ardennes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noirefontaine
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the ardennes”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We made a reservation over the phone and the receptionist was very bad at english but the reservation went through at least. With this in mind we thought it might be difficult as non french speaking guests at Moulin Hideux, but when we arrived it wasn't a problem at all. The super friendly staff was good at english and very helpful.

We had the dinner package which included lodging, dinner and breakfast. We got the room in the top of the tower. From the room we had a magnificent view of the garden and the swan pond. The room was spacious and everything (except the small TV) was in early 19 century style, very romantic. The bathroom is probably the best we've ever seen! Very big with two zinks, bathtub and even an bidé. :)

In the afternoon we just relaxed in the garden where the butler took orders for drinks and we just enjoyed the silence and sun.

Before the dinner we had an appertif in the lounge. Accompanied with the drinks were plenty of snacks - cheesy crusted breadsticks, shrimp with marinated vegetables and popcorn. Meanwhile you can look at the menu and tell the waiter how you'd like your meat cooked for dinner. They truly make you feel like kings and queens!

The dinner was spectacular! The kitchen served fouie gras with ratatoille as an appertizer. The first course was king crab with radish foam. OMG! It was one of the best dishes we've ever eaten! Second course was grilled cod and clam soup. OMG again! Simply amazing! Main course was tender duck with a very tasty sause, esparagous and some strange wheat hotchpotch. When it was time for the cheeses they brought an entire cart with at least 15 different cheeses to choose among! We tried maybe 10 and most were excellent, especially the parmesan! For desserts they also brought in a cart with all sorts of desserts to choose from. The wines that accompanied the food was great and they refilled the glasses several times. The kitchen at Moulin Hideux is well worth their Michelin star!

Although the bed was comfortable we had trouble sleeping because we were so full! :)

They breakfast can either be served in the garden, in the restaurant or in your room. We had it in the restaurant and honestly it wasn't in par with the rest of the experience. It was ok though.

We are in our 30s and ALL other guests were 60+, but we don't mind. It's just a great place to take it easy and spend some romantic quality time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fincozmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    42
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
24
124
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Fabulous place, great location, out of this world service. Rooms are a little simple and dated, bathroom exquisite. Excellent dinner, with a beatiful breakfast outside the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

It's been almost 28 years since my wife and I vistied this beautifull Auberge for the first time. Been there since then several times, though the last time was almost 10 years ago.
Location is (obviously) still perfect. In the meantime their restaurant has been awarded 1 - 3 Michelin-stars (currently it's just one again). Nevertheless they still serve a wonderfull dish here. Prices however have been raised regularly over the years where one could wonder if the steep prices still reflect the quality of food and stay. Place was almost empty (Fridaynight) which of course makes one wonder how they stay in business.
However, if you're looking for a nice retreat in the Ardennes, this still is the place to be.
Nice pool (only open from 08.30 AM) , beautifull surroundings, friendly service and nice rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1,085 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for one night in late October 2009. Were able to grab the last room on a Sunday night on short notice. Sat/Sun nights are usually sold out.

Excellent very small hotel. Nice, newly refurbished rooms.

The fourth generation of the owner have produced the 5th generation, which in Oct 2009 was around 4 months old.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
378 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This elegant hotel is as near as possible to perfection! Elegant rooms, impeccable service, fabulous restaurant! Its just all fabulous! Our family of four was incredibly comfortable and made to feel very very welcome! We have traveled widely and this is among the best places we have ever stayed!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — It is a bit remote, but that can be a positive as well.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This inn was our first "Relais and Cateau" stop on our trip thru the Netherlands, Belgium, and the Normandy coast of France. The only drawback was that this hostelery spoiled us totally, and raised our expectations in lodging, service, and especially food, to what turned out to be unattainable heights. Uuuummmm soooo good!

Our recommendation: try to make the "Auberge du Moulin Hideux" the last stop on your itinery; not the first!

  • Liked — food service location romance luxury
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ofteninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We booked our stay though the site of Relais et Chäteaux. Everything was OK, the room was reserved and we prepared to enjoy a fine stay at this place. However, the hotel informed us that our reservation was valid at the condition to have our evening meals also taken at the hotel's restaurant. There was no way out! This kind of forced business is not allowed by law in Belgium => don't hesitate to refuse and keep your freedom to eat where you want!

  • Disliked — Forced to take evening meal at hotel's restaurant after reservation was affective
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JanMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noirefontaine
1.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bouillon
205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste - Relais Napoleon III
24.9 mi away
La Malle Poste Rochefort
La Malle Poste Rochefort
#1 of 1 in Rochefort
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Le Beau Sejour
Le Beau Sejour
#1 of 1 in Nassogne
109 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cap Au Vert
Cap Au Vert
#3 of 3 in Neufchateau
15 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel des Ardennes
Hotel des Ardennes
#1 of 2 in Corbion sur Semois
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Moulin Hideux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Moulin Hideux

Property: Auberge du Moulin Hideux
Address: Moulin-Hideux 1, Noirefontaine 6831, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Noirefontaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noirefontaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Moulin Hideux 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Auberge du Moulin Hideux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Moulin Hideux Noirefontaine
Auberge Du Moulin Hideux Belgium/Noirefontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing