We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Worth a trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noirefontaine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for one night in late October 2009. Were able to grab the last room on a Sunday night on short notice. Sat/Sun nights are usually sold out.

Excellent very small hotel. Nice, newly refurbished rooms.

The fourth generation of the owner have produced the 5th generation, which in Oct 2009 was around 4 months old.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Moulin Hideux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

This elegant hotel is as near as possible to perfection! Elegant rooms, impeccable service, fabulous restaurant! Its just all fabulous! Our family of four was incredibly comfortable and made to feel very very welcome! We have traveled widely and this is among the best places we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This inn was our first "Relais and Cateau" stop on our trip thru the Netherlands, Belgium, and the Normandy coast of France. The only drawback was that this hostelery spoiled us totally, and raised our expectations in lodging, service, and especially food, to what turned out to be unattainable heights. Uuuummmm soooo good!

Our recommendation: try to make the "Auberge du Moulin Hideux" the last stop on your itinery; not the first!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ofteninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We booked our stay though the site of Relais et Chäteaux. Everything was OK, the room was reserved and we prepared to enjoy a fine stay at this place. However, the hotel informed us that our reservation was valid at the condition to have our evening meals also taken at the hotel's restaurant. There was no way out! This kind of forced business is not allowed by law in Belgium => don't hesitate to refuse and keep your freedom to eat where you want!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JanMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

This hotel was ok.People where nice and treated us very nice.
Despite this good feeling the hotel was a bit old fashioned. Blankets covers in stead of modern bedlinnen (this could be fixed easily). The food was excellent, but not modern (this also could be fixed easilly). The staf was very very polite and could be a bit less formal although formal is not always a bad thing. The only payment method was by cash or creditcard, no pin.

So overall this hotel was very nice but not great (yet) and should update some elements of the service in order to stay competitive.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank InKnowvator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

When we arrived at this hotel our hearts lifted. It is in the most beautiful location, set in a valley with a small river running through the hotel grounds. Visiting the Ardennes in autumn is recommended. We had booked a standard room, but were given a suite. Although this went into the eves, it was very spacious with a separate sitting room and a spacious bathroom. All was beautifully decorated and spotless.
The food was very good, one thing really annoyed me was that on the first night we were given the menus in French, these had a la carte as well as a selection of 'gourmet' menus, one of which we chose and it was delicious. The second night we were given the English menu, which just had the a la carte selection. No mention was made of the 'gourmet' menus (which were actually better value) and we thought they were not on that evening until we saw a French speaking couple being given them. The excuse was there was not room for them on the English menu because of the translation. It is well worth knowing some French here as not all the staff speak English and the French speakers get a far better menu choice!
We would return here and I would give it 5 stars if they had done a full menu translation, or given everyone the French version!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at this fabulous hotel. It is tucked in the Ardennes surrounded by the forest, hiking trails and the Semois River. About 15 km away lay the Abbey d'Orval. Home of one of the best beers in the world! We highly recommend this beer and a visit to the Abbey. The Moulin Hideux is a peaceful place where you can relax on the lawn while sipping cocktails and reading a book. Dinner was an experience worth experiencing! We were not very big fans of French cuisine, however, the dining experience at the Moulin Hideux changed that. The staff treated us warmly and recommended a good walking trail. We typically minimize hotel expenses by staying in mid-range hotels. We splurged in this case and the Moulin Hideux justified it's price range.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank txsunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noirefontaine
1.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#2 of 7 in Bouillon
216 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Malle Poste Rochefort
La Malle Poste Rochefort
#1 of 1 in Rochefort
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste - Relais Napoleon III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel des Ardennes
Hotel des Ardennes
#1 of 2 in Corbion sur Semois
163 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Prieure de Conques
24.3 mi away
Le Beau Sejour
Le Beau Sejour
#1 of 1 in Nassogne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Moulin Hideux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Moulin Hideux

Address: Moulin-Hideux 1, Noirefontaine 6831, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Noirefontaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noirefontaine
Price Range: $221 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Moulin Hideux 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Moulin Hideux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Moulin Hideux Noirefontaine
Auberge Du Moulin Hideux Belgium/Noirefontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing