We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noirefontaine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel is really nice, confortable rooms, beautiful view,but in middle of nowhere.
Be carefull about your room reservation and corresponding meals . We have been there for three nights., and there was a pressure to book a table for dinner., for the whole stay .The problem is that the menu is not extense and did not change for this period. For this reason you are obliged to eat by the same choices every day. Beyond this the food ,is expensive, despite been made carefully, ithe taste is only reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Luiza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Most hotels have their own restaurant, but the Auberge du Moulin Hideux is a restaurant with its own hotel. The Michelin-starred restaurant is excellent, and the obligation to eat at the restaurant when staying at the hotel guarantees that you make the most of your stay. The Auberge is set in a quiet forest in the Ardennes region of Belgium close to the French border. Nearby is the beautiful and historic town of Bouillon, with its winding river and Crusader castle. A lovely place to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelDawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

. . . one of the hotel's selling points is a lack of mobile phone reception. It also doesn't have satellite TV or WiFi in the bedrooms, so there is nothing to distract you from relaxing in the grounds, listening to the babbling brook, and above all, enjoying the food in the wonderful restaurant. Not cheap, but worth the expense for a special occasion

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesidees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Last Saturday we were travelling with three vintage cars from Holland to Switzerland.
Unfortunately our car broke down near Brussels and we had to cancel this hotel on Saturday morning for the Sunday evening.(high holiday season)
According to the hotel's regulations we were liable for the costs of the three rooms.
I sent them an email to cancel on Saturday morning 08.30 a.m.
At the end of the afternoon we looked on Booking.com and the hotel still announced to be fully booked.
Then, again on Saturday, one in our party phoned to ask for a room for the Sunday evening and he was told the hotel was fully booked for the Sunday evening.Thus we felt assured not to be charged for the evening of the Sunday.
To my amazement an email arrives yesterday to say that the owner has charged us for the 3 rooms as he was not able to relet them.
He will not charge us for the 6 meals though.
So we did not stay at this hotel but were left with an unpleasant afterthought.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
8  Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoulinHideux, Propriétaire at Auberge du Moulin Hideux, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Madame,
you cancelled your reservation for 3 rooms the day before your arrival and we applied the cancellation conditions well written and accepted while you did the reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Lahire family is able to offer a traditional hospitality with great charm and a lot of personal attention. The welcome is warm and feels like coming home. The kitchen is absolutely great and prepared as a dinner is ment to be. No frizzles just bestn qulaity of ingredients very well prepared. The swimmingpool and sauna are modern facilities which add a lot of pleasure after a long walk in the Ardennes forest. A place to come back

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

this hotel is still a "evergreen" for those who likes good food (michelin star) good wine and good hotel in a beautifull surrounding of the Belgian Ardennes (near city of Boullon)

Not cheap (450€ for 2 -dinner,wine,breakfast and 1 night) .

Family runned hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozeftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband I recently stayed here for two nights. The location and grounds are just beautiful. The inside spaces are so cozy and warm. Even though it was raining while we were there, we still enjoyed ourselves lounging around the inn. Dinner is spectacular but very very expensive and a bit pretentious. Dinner is about $100 per person but you'll eat excellent food of high quality. Service is fantastic, but there does seem to be lacking that personal connection. Maybe it was a little too "high class" for us, I'm not sure, but we felt like we had to whisper during dinner. It was a beautiful place, but I would rather stay at a bed and breakfast next time where you get that personal touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feedyoursoul_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noirefontaine
24.9 mi away
La Malle Poste Rochefort
La Malle Poste Rochefort
#1 of 1 in Rochefort
289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bouillon
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel des Ardennes
Hotel des Ardennes
#1 of 2 in Corbion sur Semois
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Prieure de Conques
12.3 mi away
Chateau de Grandvoir
Chateau de Grandvoir
#2 of 3 in Neufchateau
30 reviews
24.3 mi away
Le Beau Sejour
Le Beau Sejour
#1 of 1 in Nassogne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Moulin Hideux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Moulin Hideux

Address: Moulin-Hideux 1, Noirefontaine 6831, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Noirefontaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noirefontaine
Price Range: $216 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Moulin Hideux 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Moulin Hideux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Moulin Hideux Noirefontaine
Auberge Du Moulin Hideux Belgium/Noirefontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing