We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ammos
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Polychrono)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Hotel(Polychrono)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Odysseas Hotel(Polychrono)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Summer Dream(Polychrono)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
209
38
15
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
38
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriday nightnothing is too much troubleother guestsgreek saladbbq nightlittle gemself cateringpool area is smallair conshort walka small family run hotelsky newshotel is situatedexcellent hoststwo daughterssmall and friendly hotelreturn visit
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 266 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We couldn't fault this lovely friendly little hotel - without doubt the best accommodation we've had in Greece. A great deal of thought has gone into this hotel, from the modern fixtures and fittings and colourful decor to the fact that the walls between rooms are quite thick, meaning you don't get disturbed by any noise from neighbouring rooms. The maid doesn't come at ungodly hours of the morning to clean your room either, which has been a problem in some other hotels we've stayed in! The owner, Kristina makes a real effort to get to know everyone, greeting you by name every morning. Nothing is too much trouble for her, husband Vangelis or George - maker of delicious cocktails!
Polichrono itself is a fairly quiet village with plenty of restaurants and bars along the sea front and up side streets. Our favourites were the Akrogiali - beautifully cooked food in a quiet, chic atmosphere, and one (can't remember its name) near the bottom of the lane from the hotel to the beach with a lovely garden and yellow walls! Great menu - try the Tsoulpeki. We never had a poor meal in any of the restaurants we ate in in Polichrono, and prices were reasonable - you often get a free ouzo/ metaxxa and cake after your meal too. We liked Laska's bar on the sea front for drinks and good music - great for people watching.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birthdaygirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Cannot add much to the other reviews apart from agreeing that it is excellent and you will be made to feel very welcome. Worth asking for a high floor to get the view over the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

If like me you check these reviews to make sure of a place before booking, go ahead & book Hotel Ammos without any worries. It is a small hotel as other people have said but as they also say, Christina makes your stay so wonderful that it is a much nicer experience to stay here than in a large hotel. If you want to visit anywhere or need any local knowledge Christina, her husband and George the incredibly talented barman ( you're famous now George ! ) will do their best to help you. Try Georges cocktails, they are the best as is Christina's Greek salad!

Visit Georges Restaurant (down to the church, turn left and take a right with the signposts for Tulip etc) and you will see this on the left near the bottom of the road. It has white plastic furniture but don't let that put you off. It is nice to sit under the grape vines and sample some good greek cooking. Try the spicy cheese dip, or the feta with tomatoes and sliced chilli's.

Local wines are fine to drink as is Mythos beer.

The seafront has changed a lot since our last visit which was 9 years ago, it gets very busy at night but you can still find quieter spots on the side streets.
As for swimming and sunbathing, the beach gets busy in the middle but walk to either end and it is quiet and peaceful. The waters are shallow and perfect for swimming and cooling off. It can be very hot so a parasol may be useful, you can buy these everywhere for 5.5 + euros, reef / water shoes are also a good idea as it can be pebbly in the water on the shore before you get out to the sand.

If you like to explore a car is a good option although be warned at the moment petrol is about the same prices as the UK. Visit the turtles if you can find them! There are many little beaches to be found along the coast if you like a quieter spot, most with swimming and snorkelling to be had. Also Petralona's cave is interesting if you like that sort of thing.

Even if you don't like Polichrono at the end of your stay you won't regret staying at the Hotel Ammos, it's lovely. I highly recommended it for couples and friends. It is welcoming and attentive without being intrusive & you leave feeling like a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatsWhiskers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We arrived on 17th May for 2 weeks staying in a studio for two.

Christina and Vangelis are an excellent example of how hoteliers should be towards their guests , friendly , always available to offer advice and assistance. Nothing was too much trouble.

We had a studio on the 3rd floor. It was very clean, hot water always available and the room was very large. Facilities included fridge with small freezer compartment, kettle and two ring electric hob. A hairdryer was provided but was fixed in the bathroom which is not my favourite location , luckily I had taken my own anyway. Cleaning was done 7 days a week ! bed linen changed once a week, towels twice.

Prices were reasonable around the pool for drinks and snacks, 2.50 Euro for a large Mythos . If you wanted to drink one at your sunlounger around the pool they served a slightly smaller beer in a plastic tumbler for 2 Euros. Cheese toastie 2Euro, Greek Salad 4.50Euro.
An Ice cream in a sugar twist cone was only one Euro , very popular.
Evening 'happy hour' from 8pm-10pm for cocktails priced at 3.50 Euro.

Aircon is available at 5 Euros per day, it was starting to get very hot when we were there at the end May.

THE HILL- yes there is a hill, two to choose from as there are two entrances to the Ammos, one hill is steeper than the other but it is only short , the other gradient is more gradual .

We used the local buses to get to Pefkohori and Hanioti, the price was the same for both , 1.40Euro pp each way.

There was nothing that we didn't like about our stay , I would highly recommend it to couples and groups of friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swintontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Ammos and were met with smiling friendly faces it proved that we had made the right choice.
The rooms are extemely comfortable and we even had a sea view from our balcony which was lovely while we sat there eating our breakfast.
The majority of people staying would stop and chat in the bar area in the evening before going into the village for a meal and in fact we almost took over Georges Restaurant on our last night and had a wonderful evening.
Christina, Vogellis and Georgos really did make us feel comfortable and are always available to help when required and this made it one of the most friendly place we have ever been.
We hope to be back soon.
Paul and Leita

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdjlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews