We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Caletas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$209
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Carlo Condominium(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$122
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$274
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$365
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$264
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Backyard Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$200
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveler rating
1,014
239
98
65
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,014
239
98
65
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla caletascosta ricainfinity poolprivate beachzephyr palaceamazing viewswatch the sunsetjunior suiteour honeymoonsan josemy boyfriendthe pacific oceanbeautiful placescarlet macawsrainy seasonlos suenospura vida
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We discovered this place online as part of our 10 day trip in CR.
The pictures do not give it justice. You feel like you are with the gods and it touches your soul.
The place and views are stunning.
Even if you cannot stay here then go for sunset cocktails and enjoy the beauty.
We stayed here for 3 days, loved it especially the affinity pool and came back for dinner on our way to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear friends, thank you very much your review !! We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and we are expecting you back in "Heaven" soon !! Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When it comes to the architecture, landscape and views, this is an amazing hotel. It has to be one of the best places to watch a sunset in all of Costa Rica. But the difference between a good hotel and a great one is in the details.

I stayed in a deluxe villa since I invited a friend to share in the experience. I loved the fact that the villa had it's own private yard which was home to toucans, iguanas, various frogs and lizzards. It also had a nice jacuzzi with views of the yard and a private pool. The size of the villa was also fine. But when a hotel claims to be 5-stars I hold it to a high standard compared to other 5-stars I have experienced. At about $600/night I expect it to have the details of a luxury hotel I'm paying for.

To start, the hotel was extremely slow to respond to emails and I usually had to wait about 3 days for a response. But they always would eventually respond and I got the reservations completed. The room seriously lacked electric outlets which can be frustrating in modern times. Many travelers have computers, cameras, phones, ipods, ipads and other items that need charging. There are only a couple of useable sockets in the room and none outside. Additionally, the sofa bed they provided for my guest was the absolute worst any of us ever tried. When we requested a better mattress, it never came. Another frustration was the lack of wifi at the main pool and most of the restaurants, so forget about using your iphone near the pool. Finally, the overall customer service is seriously lacking, not just for a 5-star hotel, but much lesser quality hotels. I often found myself having to hunt down waiters to get service and when I did find them, the friendliness just wasn't there. A little smile and kindness goes a long way with me.

Overall my stay there wasn't bad at all. Visually it's a great hotel but it definitely needs some bugs worked out to be held at the 5-star rating they claim. I might visit there again for drinks but probably not to stay. I found the Gaia Hotel about an hour south to be a much better option.

Room Tip: Look for last minute deals if you can hold off on the reservation, especially on the low season. Most of the top hotels in Costa Rica are only at 60-80% occupancy during the low/green season so you can wait for those last minute deals.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newyorker2LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear friend, thank you very much for your constructive comments. We have paid close attention to your review and will make some important changes in the Master Suite you are talking about so our guests can enjoyed it at 110%. We do hope that you will change your mind and visit us again.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous, every villa is different and beautifully decorated. The spa is lovely, the staff is friendly and helpful. The main pool has a gorgeous view of the pacific. If you stay here I recommend renting a car on your way to jaco, keep it through your stay so that you can drive out to town and the multiple beaches in the area. Go down to hermosa, jaco beach or punta Leona they are worth it. Also, make sure you view their sunset, it's the most amazing sunset I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyMinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review !
It is true that the sunset at Villa Caletas is recognized as a must see !!. We are glad you could enjoy all the other facets of the hotel too !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went there to celebrate my wife birthday, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset at their amphitheater, amazing service from all the staff (from Don Rafeal at the main entrance to the General Manager who kindly stop to say hi). Special thank to Edgar our waiter and Don Dougles who put all this together for us! (kudos!!!)
W'll be back!
Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBAWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear friend, thank you very much for your kind comments. It is allways a pleasure for us to know that guests not only enjoyed the place but also the service we give. We strive to give the best of us every day and we thank you for your words. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

PROS: The cliffside villa we reserved (a Junior suite) was spacious, unique --- hot pink and black --- and had a stunning, tropical jungle/ocean views. The large porch was totally private and had a hot tub. Landscaping was LUSHLY TROPICAL. A Toucan perched in a tree right beside our porch the 1st day. Staff were extremely pleasant; the concierge, Laura, was especially helpful. Meals we had at the terrace restaurant were delicious Costa Rican specialties presented beautifully, some wrapped in palm leaves. Sunset drinks in the mini-colosseum seating were perfect.
CONS: The beach (way down below) is accessible only by their jeep or a LONG, steep, jungle-y walking trail. They do provide walking sticks, and you will need them. The beach itself is so rocky it is not very desirable, even tho' there are comfy cabanas and a gracious attendant providing beach towels and serving food/drinks if desired. If you plan to swim, wear shoes! The one hotel pool is lovely, mostly shallow but small. We paid a driver to take us to the black sand Playa Herradura which we enjoyed one day, and we ate a nice Costa Rican lunch at the Pelicano restaurant on that beach.
While there is a beautiful yoga studio, there is only instruction on the weekend. There was confusion about whether or not we were even permitted to use it ourselves, which we finally did as my travel companion is a yoga instructor herself.
In summary, go there if you want a secluded, romantic getaway. Otherwise, keep looking...

Room Tip: I think we spent more than necessary in order to get two beds. Probably you should call re your desired sleeping arrangements, as the website is not very clear. For example, a guest we met said his standard room was probably the nicest accomodation he had ever had, and it had two beds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingGrandma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review ! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room and the Toucans that came to visit you !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews