We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Come Back In The Summer.”

Botanic Garden Meise
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.41*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Meise
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
United States
Level Contributor
534 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Must Come Back In The Summer.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

To get to the garden from Brussels Gare du Nord station take the De Lijn bus #250 or #251. Tickets can be purchased inside the station at a little booth and cost 2.60 euro round trip per person. The driver will let you out directly in front of the Botanical Garden and picks up at the same spot. The cost was 6 euros to get in and in good weather you could plan to spend the entire day here. We visited on a rainy day in mid February and mainly stayed inside the green houses but we would have loved to have adventured farther afield as the brochure indicates that the park consists of 226 acres and holds 18000 kinds of plants. There is a restaurant on site called the Orangery but it is only open between April and October. We tried to get a cup of hot tea at the gift shop but only coffee or hot chocolate were on offer out of a vending machine. In the gift shop there is a small area for having your coffee out of the rain but there were only 2 chairs available and they were already taken. There were plenty of picnic tables out side which would be lovely to sit at in nicer weather. Bathrooms are available on site. There was some reconstruction going on in the green houses as well as the front entrance, but, never the less, it was wonderful and relaxing to walk through and we would highly recommend a visit. Again, the best time would be when the weather was better and when in Belgium again we will be returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TACOB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a mess!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I will actually start by saying that it was not the best weather to visit these gardens, and this somewhat tainted the visit, as I could see that on a sunny day the grounds and trees around the castle and lake could be very pretty, but as an attraction this is an awful example. Firstly, the signposts are almost non existent and the entrance is certainly unimpressive. As it was a cold day we made directly for the greenhouses where we assumed there would be warmth and color inside given that he website describes the wonderful selection of plants from all over the world. Upon approach, having followed the small signposts, we arrived at the main doors which were fenced off and locked. No signs, no indication of how to get in, no lights on inside, and the place looked deserted. Fortunately, just as we were about to turn and leave someone said we should walk around to the other side of the building. The greenhouses are old, dirty and in a terrible state of repair. Once inside it was plain to see that the whole place needs some TLC.......I have seen healthier plants in my 'last chance' side yard, where I put things that are not making it in the environment where I plant them in my own garden, to see if they can get with the program!
The plants were not only unattractively displayed in black plastic pots, but had brown leaves, needed dead-heading, and were overgrown. We wandered from one habitat to another, through the savanna grasslands exhibit, the tropical forest, and other promising sounding areas. Each one was slightly worse than the last....it was actually like a very poorly run garden center with no frills and no love!
The only thing worse......was the fact that we walked 15 minutes to the restaurant to find the doors locked. No 'closed' sign on the door, or anywhere on the signposts which directed the way.
This is by far the worst attraction I have seen in Belgium......

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wshiresd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
306 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A beautiful botanical garden (what you would expect)”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited the garden by taking a bus from downtown Brussels and it lets you off right at the park which is north of town about 20 minutes. The bus runs every 15 minutes so an easy way to go if you don't have a car. It is very well laid out and well kept. The greenhouses are very nice and are laid out according to type of landscape and climate - arid, humid, tropical, orchids etc. You go from one area to another and their collection is nice. Having lived in DR Congo and Madagascar, many of their plants originated from there. It is a very worthwhile place to visit and slow down and enjoy nature and it is especially nice on a sunny day which can be rare in Brussels. We got lucky and had a very nice couple of hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The great escape from the summer crowds”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

You can enjoy city architecture on early moning or late evening, visit museums before midday and whole day devote to this vast, nice and quiet park

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeyKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The green houses are lovely from the outside, the lay out of the park is an absolute delight, the scents intoxicating, all in all it is well worth to spend an hour or two here. There is also a small cafe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fatimazahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanic Garden Meise also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
La Hulpe, Walloon Brabant Province
 

Been to Botanic Garden Meise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing