We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy 5/5”
Review of Villa La Fagianaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Fagianaia
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The road isnt as bad as some of the comments make out, and the villa is just as pretty as others do. Plenty of hidey holes in the garden to sit and devour books under the sun.

Dinner was a treat with great wine matching. The room was lovely, quality soft furnishings very well finished. and we had some invigorating morning swims in the pool.

A final plus was being able to bring our Labrador who got on great with the other dogs at the villa.

We paid 80 € for a room and 30 € each for the full dinner shebang.

I recommend this place. Hope my review helps :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomw_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Villa La Fagianaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at la fagianaia for the last 2 weeks in June 2013. Prior to our stay my various communications with Francesca had been informative and she had shown a lot of patience in responding to my (many) questions. Top tip stick with her directions and don't come off the motorway too early as it is a longer and more confusing route. I am in agreement with the comments on here about the track to get to the villa. While it is paved it is single lane with infrequent passing places and extremely steep so not for the faint-hearted. I must admit with 2 in my family suffering from vertigo negotiating this track was one aspect of our trip that we came to dread particularly if a car was coming in the opposite direction! It also meant that we were not as 'mobile' as we would have liked trying to ensure we were back before dark or checking the weather conditions particularly when we were relying on an unknown and in our case several unreliable rental cars (had to change cars twice so avoid firefly car rental!). We as also had to change apartments after one week which was not ideal. True it was to a larger property by still took time and cut into our stay. Francesca and Leo are very accommodating hosts however. Leo being happy to collect us from a local restaurant as and Francesca with her tips on places to visit and it is true her meals are truly wonderful. My husband even learned how to make pasta while he was there as she is happy to give cooking lessons. The views from the property for me was the best part of it all. They are truly to die for and I would know anyone with artistic leanings or lovers of nature would just love it here.

Room Tip: Downstairs 2 bedroom apartment opposite the pool is the best one
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57jtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

An incredible holiday we'll never forget. After searching for weeks for a great week holiday we finally came across Villa La Fagianaia. The great reviews about Francesca's cooking made the decision to stay even easier. Unlike many properties in the higher hills of Tuscany this property has a paved road that leads all the way - nobody needs to carry the suitcases uphill!Fantastic!! I will say the road is narrow & paved but we had no trouble..we came with our Range Rover and she found it easy. Arriving at 7pm we had just enough time to be shown our room before dinner, offering us 2 double bedrooms, adjoining lounge / dining room with kitchenette & bathroom, travelling as a family of 3 it was very spacious and more than met our expectations. The shower was excellent. La Fagianaia is pet friendly and we were even welcome to bring our 2 cats. Our daughter particularly loved visiting Duchessa the horse and Laura the goose. Francesca & Leonardo are serious animal lovers and during our stay invited our daughter to help buy chickens..if you have young children this holiday place is a must. The highlight of our week stay was dinner each night. Home cooking never tasted this good at our house. Francesca is a maestro in the kitchen and we ate at her place 4 of the 7 nights. Expect to be full, she prepares 4 courses! There is no menu so just tell her if there are certain things you cannot eat, if you tell her in advance she'll be able to create something extra special for you. Spaghetti with clams & mussels, fish fillets, antipasto, fresh rocket salads, great steak, crunchy white bait, amazing pannacotta and tiramisu, all your Italian favorites. We ate outside under the shelter of the pergola, each table set with fresh white linens, candle light and pretty antique crockery, Italian country chic. Pre dinner drinks were served by Leonardo and dinner is at 8pm. The homegrown olive oil was an excellent accompaniment but even better was the red wine which was refilled constantly. We stayed up late, communicating in various languages with the other guests and shared our passionate views on all matters in life, the energy in the petite dining room was warm and very welcoming. The views are lovely from the house, the pool and lounges are in the full sun for those who need some colour and there are plenty of cosy spots around the property for some restful shade. If your book is boring there is cable tv with an enormous amount of channels and Francesca has lots of great places to visit, just ask her, she's a font of local knowledge. Breakfast is a simple Italian continental affair, serve yourself to the buffet of yoghurt, fresh croissants, fruit, preserves and good coffee. We left La Fagianaia with heartfelt hugs and had a most restful and reviving break before the new school term started. Agriturismo at its best!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandelionkidgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Villa Fagianaia was just not for us. The villa was very, very hard to find and although driving a small car, some of the curves in the road up the hill were too small to take in one time. The swimming pool was filled with leaves and the chairs near the pool were dirty. Not very inviting to take a swim... As the owner stated, the last couple of days were very windy, taking al the leaves down from the surrounding trees. And a couple of days earlier the pool was completely cleaned. That might be true. And yes, it was windy. But if you know guests are coming, you might want to let them use a clean pool and clean chairs...

The food prepared was ok, but not as great as expected (once again, maybe our expectations were to high). The room was ok and the bed was comfortable.

Since we didn't feel like going down and up the hill again, couldn't take a swim, we left after one night. Although we made reservations for two nights, the owners didn't claim the second night. That was a nice gesture!

Concluding: sometimes you arrive at a place and it doesn't match your expectations. That's what happened to us. That said, it might be an excellent place for others!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_k_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very nice residence, with decent pool and an amazing view over the region. The tenants are absolutely charming and we felt at home after 30 seconds. We have been very well treated and had an amazing dinner there with many courses and extras! We will be back next time we are in the region for sure! This is the true Italian agriturismo experience.

Room Tip: The room we had had no view but was very nicely decorated and very comfortable. I guess no rooms are...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Tucked away up the hill, surrounded by an olive orchard with an exquisite view over the plane streched out down below. I had the great pleasure of staying with Francesca and Leo for a long period of time. During my 3 months in italy i was able to stay with them for over a month in total encompassing 3 different stays.
The rooms are immaculate, The meals exquisitely prepared by a woman who closed the doors of a local favorite restaurant to focus on providing only the highest quality traditional meals to guests from around the world who come to tuscany not only for its beauty but for its food.

Room Tip: Tell Francesca Gunnar sent you
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gunnarmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gianluca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Buggiano
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Amici del Colle
Agriturismo Amici del Colle
#1 of 1 in Borgo a Buggiano
71 reviews
31.9 mi away
Agriturismo il Pillone
Agriturismo il Pillone
#1 of 1 in Nievole
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Podere Raffanna Ecologic House
Podere Raffanna Ecologic House
#1 of 7 in Massa e Cozzile
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Piana
La Piana
#1 of 2 in Buggiano Castello
102 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fattoria Le Poggiola
Fattoria Le Poggiola
#4 of 9 in Serravalle Pistoiese
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Sermolli
Villa Sermolli
#1 of 1 in Buggiano Castello
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Fagianaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Fagianaia

Address: Via Stradella 1, 51011 Colle di Buggiano, Buggiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Buggiano > Colle di Buggiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Colle di Buggiano
Price Range: $94 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pefect property for year round holidays, restful tuscan vacations or as a base for exploring Tuscany. Francesca is the most hospitable person and will bend over backwards to make your Italian vacation memorable. She is a master in the kitchen and will serve you the best food you have ever had. She also offers cooking lessons. You can have a relaxing day by the pool or go exploring by the day, Lucca and Vinci are both within thirty minutes of La Fagianaia. You can also hop on the train and be in Florence in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa La Fagianaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Fagianaia Italy/Colle Di Buggiano, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing