We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to Ben, Kieran and Will!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge sur la Montagne
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thank you to Ben, Kieran and Will!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Auberge and Bubble House. Great for beginners ski. Easy free local bus to/from sainte foy that stops outside both in case you miss shuttle bus organised by Auberge.

The highlight of the Auberge would have to be the food - delicious. Thank you Will for meeting all of our dietary requirements and for the great dishes.

The other highlight would be the service from Ben, Kieran, Will and the friendly blonde who served us our dinner for the week (I'm sorry I just cannot recall your name!) All 4 were friendly, warm and genuine and the Auberge are very luck to have them!

I am a very positive person, maybe we were unlucky but I have never written a big list of negatives like this before (check out my other reviews!!)

1. Don't order ski passes through the Auberge - on the afternoon of our check in we asked for our ski passes (that started that day) and nobody seemed to know where they were. We were told we'd know more at breakfast. As it was the first day of our holiday we woke up late just in time for breakfast and were informed in a not so friendly fashion that the shuttle bus had already left for sainte foy, that there was another that had been delayed especially for us, that we needed to hurry in order to collect our pass that was waiting for us there. We even had a knock on our room door as we were rushing around to hurry us up even more! Felt like we were actually going out of our way to rectify other people's mistakes, especially as we didn't have much to do in sainte foy once we got there so early as our beginners lesson booked through the Auberge wasn't until the afternoon anyway! As the pass was valid from the day before too, surely we should have been given them already, had a relaxing morning and then made our way up for our lesson in the afternoon using the local bus. Unprofessional.

2. Half way through the holiday we were transferred from the Auberge to the Bubble House as planned. The night before I became ill with flu so when we came down for breakfast I asked if we could stay in our room until the Bubble House was ready as I was unwell. I was told no twice, check out was at 10.00 and that we'd be picked up around 13.00. We packed our things and from 10.00 we sat in the lounge of the Auberge as I experienced the worst temperature of my life. When we were later picked up for the transfer, our luggage was still in our room. When we collected it we noticed the room had not even been cleaned/beds had not been made so it's not as if the room was needed. Absolutely disgraceful. On a positive note, when Kieran started his shift, he offered to make me a hot drink with lemon and honey.

3. If you stay in the Bubble House, make sure you have enough kindling. We were told we'd be given some more the day we checked in but nobody returned. We didn't have enough so couldn't light the stove for our first night. We ended up going to the shop the next day to buy some but couldn't find any. Luckily we happened to bump into the ever helpful Ben outside the shop! He then took care of this for us straight away.

4. Check out at the Bubble House was at 10.00. We assumed we'd be picked up and taken to the Auberge that morning to settle our bill, drop off our equipment, leave tips and then be given a lift a few hours later to our coach stop. The night before, we had an unannounced knock at the door and were asked to settle our bill there and then. We asked that as our coach transfer was at 14.45 could we wait in the lounge of the Auberge from 10.00 and then get a lift to the coach stop at 12.00 so that we only had 2hr 45mins to wait. Unfortunately they did not allow this and we were taken straight to where the coach would pick us up at 10.00! I understand that it was a Saturday, they might have been busy and were giving the lift for free etc but 4hr 45mins to wait by a row of restaurants (that hadn't opened for the day) and a shop, was a bit much. There was literally nowhere to walk or anything to do there. Luckily the hotel opposite the coach stop were much more accommodating when we explained the situation- they let us stay in the lobby/restaurant area with our luggage and order breakfast, lunch and tea for the whole 4 hrs 45mins. They even suggested we make ourselves comfortable and use our laptop to watch a film while we waited! We now know where we will be staying on our next trip to Sainte Foy.


Having spoken to other guests however and reading these reviews, I believe we were just unlucky and hopefully improvements can be made from my criticisms!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicken765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
2
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for an off-piste course. Amazingly helpfull staff, lovely atmosphere, brilliant food. The Auberge run a highly convenient shuttle bus service to Ste Foy and many of the other local resorts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

a great time was had by all - how could it fail...fantastic snow, a variety of resorts; St Foy, la Rossiere, la Thuile, Val D, Les Arcs on our doorstep which we explored under the expert eye of Bryan our instructor and no queues! And the delights of L'Auberge - great food from Will, friendly relaxed service from the team, a cosy lounge, the hot tub to rid us of our ski aches. It was all rather wonderful..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Second time with Sue & Andy and as good as the first. Excellent selection of staff means that he can put his feet up watch Bath play rugby and enjoy the lifestyle whilst ensuring that the guests are uncompromisingly looked after! Unsung heros include Kieran at the bar and the tub, Chris in those fetching yellow gloves scraping windscreens, and of course the indefatigable Will, in the kitchen. Early morning porridge demands were ably met by Lisa, Jazz and Laura. Other than that it is impossible to get a perfect boiled egg. Guess I will have to go back and keep practising!

Room Tip: WAtch out for the bunks, the slats fall out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had the most fantastic week at the auberge that began with lost bags and skis at Geneva (still at Heathrow!), with Sue being available to assist with transfer options and very late pick up in Sainte-Foy (thank you Sue). The auberge ski team provided all the equipment needed and we felt settled from the moment we walked through the front door.

The food couldn't be faulted with night after night of delicious and varied meals coupled with highly drinkable wine.

The whole place ran like clockwork, supporting a group of six skiing from early morning to late afternoon.

In the next year or two we felt that some refurbishment work in the bedroom would create a more comfortable ambiance ..

Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Brilliant family ski lodge, 10 minutes away from the slopes, but the transport arrangements to take you to the snow are exemplary. Tignes, Val d'Isere, all a short distance away and the guys in the hotel take you there and pick you up at the end of the day. Off piste skiing is amazing in St Foy, and at the end of a long run in the middle of nowhere, turn a corner and the minibus is there to take you somewhere else! Brilliant!!!
Food was magnificent in the evening... outstanding chef, great staff to wait at the table, and there was a great ski service facility.
No queues on the ski lifts, fresh powder every day, get home knackered, lie in hot tub until supper, then get spoiled rotten all evening. Its not a five star hotel, but Andy and Sue made me feel like a 5 star guest. Best european ski holiday I've ever had. As soon as we got home, we booked again for next year. Thinking about going back in the summer to do some cycling...

Room Tip: Garden rooms great for easy access to the hot tub and sauna, but a bit chilly at times. Plenty of ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V12Vantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at the auberge for 5 nights on a last minute break. What a gem of a place, the staff went out of their way to make us welcome, comfortable and more than well fed! Will is an extraordinary chef, fine dining every night, he even came in early the day we left to cook us a hot breakfast- what a star! We were collected from our transfer coach by the lovely Ben who drove us safely through the snowy night, kitted us out the next day, ferried us to the piste everyday and was always great company. Our room was cosy and comfortable, as was the beautiful lounge and bar area. Dinner is a communal affair, which we thoroughly enjoyed, was lovely to talk to different people every night.
Andy and Sue, the owners, very clearly know how to run a first class chalet. Their staff are a credit to them and we look forward to returning soon. Thank you for a great holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlo_b70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence Club mmv Sainte Foy Tarentaise L'Etoile des Cimes
Residence Club mmv Sainte Foy Ta...
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Monal
Hotel Le Monal
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet White Eden
Chalet White Eden
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy
Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sain...
#5 of 24 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence CGH Le Ruitor
Residence CGH Le Ruitor
#3 of 24 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Chalet des Anges
Le Chalet des Anges
#6 of 9 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge sur la Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge sur la Montagne

Property: Auberge sur la Montagne
Address: la Thuile, 73640 Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge sur la Montagne is a small boutique chalet-hotel decorated in a harmonious mix of contemporary and traditional design. Our spacious lounge with its 200 year old wooden beams has comfy sofas, a fully stocked bar and a huge fireplace. It has been styled in colours that reflect the local scenery - slate grey, sky blue and snowy white. Our candle-lit dining room has been decorated in tones of cool grey with contemporary bright accent colours. We have a separate Kid's Den with squashy bean-bags and Sky TV (terrestrial & free-to-view channels), a sun trap south-facing terrace and garden, boules court and eight guest bedrooms sleeping up to twenty-one people. We have a state-of-the-art outdoor hot tub and sauna installed in the garden. A great way to relax after a hard day on the mountain! Wherever you choose to stay you'll benefit from our personal service and the experience that comes with 20 years of ensuring that our guests enjoy their holidays to the full. We can help take the strain out of organising your holiday by pre-booking the following for you: transfers, instruction or guiding, equipment rental, lift passes, childcare. We can help you make the most of your holiday by making things easier during your stay too. We can advise on local restaurants and make bookings for you; book apres-ski activities, a soothing massage or spa treatment; order a birthday cake or have fresh flowers delivered for that special occasion. Whatever your request, our resort team will be happy to help. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing