We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably good!! If you are thinking of staying here - do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Ferme du Chozal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ferme du Chozal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hauteluce
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good!! If you are thinking of staying here - do it!”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I booked for myself and my mother for a long weekend having discovered this little gem last Winter whilst on a ski holiday in the nearby ski resort of Les Saisies.
My mother is a coeliac and the waitress assured me this wouldn't be a problem as all of the food was home cooked. What amazing food! The dinners were such an experience, five courses and they would seriously give any Michelin star restaurant a run for their money. The staff went out of their way to cater for my mother and ensure she had no worries about the food. Although there is a set menu every night, on one night I said I wouldn't have the starter as it wasn't something I would eat and they made me a replacement, without any fuss. Our room was very nice and had an extra small room to one side which was perfect so that the two of us could have some privacy. The hotel is chalet style, built of wood and the owners have gone out of their way to make the guest stays extremely comfortable and enjoyable. There is a heated outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi looking out onto the the mountains and the hotel looks out towards Mont Blanc giving stunning views all round. The owners were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. I considered that the rate was very reasonable (we chose half board) for what was on offer. There are free bikes and helmets if you feel energetic (and you would need some energy to climb those steep roads). I can't recommend this hotel hghly enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliesaunt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    20
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We spent a few days in this gorgeous chalet hotel in September to take in the mountain scenery. It did not disappoint. Mont Blanc in the distance and beautiful hillsides and valleys around. The cable car is next door to enable easy access to ski slopes.
The hotel is very comfortable and friendly, a family run, relaxing atmosphere with every modern convenience. The outdoor spa was very inviting. Our room had an outdoor sitting area and suited all our needs. The wonderful surprise was the superb inhouse restaurant with amazing modern food which would give any London chef a run for his money. Local fresh ingredients and an innovative cuisine was very unexpected and surely not surpassed in the local area. No cheese fondues here, but sublime, top quality four - five course meals and a delicious cheeseboard to finish. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for both winter and summer holidays.

  • Liked — The food and views
  • Disliked — Nothing to do in bad weather or low cloud
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

La Ferme du Chozal was a delightful discovery. We found it on the internet a week in advance of our break and couldn't have been happier. We stayed in a 'tradition/mountain' room which was the cheaper of the two options. Despite what other reviews have said, we found the room to be very spacious and well appointed. We stayed in room 11 and the sloping roof was not a problem at all. It was beautiful to be able to lay down on the very comfortable bed and see the sky through the velux window. (There were also french doors leading from the room to the outside).

The setting of the hotel is perfect. Hauteluce is a small sleepy traditional village half way up the side of a valley with Mont Blanc sitting at the end. La Ferme du Chozal is situated in the top part of the village right next to the Chozal chair lift which in the winter links it to the Espace Diamant ski area boasting 185km of ski runs.

We decided to stay on a half-board basis and didn't regret it for one minute. The evening meals were spectacular! Their website calls it the 'discovery' menu because you don't get to chose from a menu - they just bring you course after course of delicious and unusual specialities that left us staggering back to our room with happily swollen stomachs. I don't think we could have done it for more than two nights in a row though - you can have too much of a good thing!

We found the owners to be very friendly and happy to speak English! They've just had an outside hot tub fitted and turned it on especially for us. The swimming pool will also be a great addition once it is finished. Perhaps next time we will stay for longer and take advantage of the other facilities such as sauna, steam room and massages.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return in the future, perhaps even for a skiing holiday!

  • Liked — The setting & the food
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaveHas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2007

What a wonderful place and a dream vacation we had at La ferme du Chozal, an outstanding chalet, located by the slopes of Hauteluce. The ski lift is right there and you can as well rent all the ski material nearby (basically across the street!). Food is outstanding and there is a wine list featuring the various wine regions of the Alps, fantastic choice and great recommendations from the owner who regularly goes searching for interesting wine makers. He can talk for hours about its wines and has always great recommendations with the food you have ordered. Talking about food, the chef has a great imagination and is very resourceful to present traditional dishes with a surprising twist. As we decided to take the full pension (room + breakfast & dinner), we had every single meal during the week we spend there and every single one was different and surprised our taste buds.

Service wise, it is always nice to have a young couple that is so present to assist their guests in every aspect of the stay. They always bend backward to find a solution for what seems to be a lost case. For example, one afternoon after one day of great skiing, we stopped for a hot coco in the nearby village of Les Saisies and missed the last shuttle back to la Ferme du Chozal. Fortunately we called them with our cell phone and the owner took his car to come to save us. All this was done with a smile and a lot of understanding.
Upon our arrival, our friend had forgotten to mention that they needed a baby crib for the newborn and all the cribs were used. Fortunately, the owner made several phone calls in the resort to find another hotel that could lend them the crib. Once again, the problem was solved with understanding and efficiency.

Rooms are lovely and different. Our son loved the suite with the little bedroom aside “only for children” (because the roof is pretty low, only small children can be accommodated there, and they have a feeling that they are in a cozy tent). The bathroom is modern and spacious and the sauna a big plus after a long day skiing. My wife tried the Balinese massage and came back with a big smile on her face, completely relaxed.

One night, while we were happily sipping a delicious glass of “Cerdon”, we met a family who has been coming since the hotel opening, and won’t miss a season at this lovely hotel. They have on the meantime met other families, and now make sure they all book together for the next year. The hotel has only 11 rooms, so you better book early! And “shuuut!”, keep this address secret, its worth a million!

We can only strongly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — L'accueil, le bien-être et la qualité de la cuisine
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevePhilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

This is a charming chalet hotel in a wonderful location with views over the valley of Beaufort. The village of Hauteluce is quiet, friendly and unspoiled. There is a ski lift and ski-rental 100 metres from the hotel. The food is excellent. The wine list, featuring alpine wines from several countries, is interesting. The restaurant staff were charming. Unfortunately we had a bad experience with the owners. I made the booking first for my husband and me and a friend (seven nights) then for my cousin and her husband. I could only get a room for the latter for three nights so booked them into the Lodge Park in Megeve for the other four nights. When we arrived at La Ferme du Chozal we were shown the rooms and told to choose between ourselves. Two rooms, a single and a double, were particularly poky and dark under the roof. Snow on the only window (in the roof) made it impossible for natural light to penetrate. There was onlyh a small space in which one could stand up.(These rooms would be fine in summer, or with a dormer window instead of a roof window). My cousins insisted we should have the better room because we had organised the trip, I needed a desk and my husband is over 6 feet tall. At no point did the owner say this room was an upgrade (although it was slightly easier to stand up in it and had a window.) When my cousins moved on to Megeve, the owner told my friend (not us) we would have to move rooms. When I questioned why, we were told the room was an upgrade and had been requested by other more important clients! When I pointed out this had not been made clear to us and was their mistake, not ours, she shouted at us. Then said she would sort something out. The following night, after going for a walk after dinner, we found the door locked on our return. When the owner let us in he said we would have to change rooms in the morning! Even though we would be away from 7am until 7pm! We refused. Another row ensued. That evening my husband was berated by a guest who shouted at him that we were in the room she had wanted. (She was part of a group of friends of the owners who came down to breakfast in pyjamas and skiing goggles, got drunk and made baying noises outside our rooms at night!)We suggested paying our bill the evening before we were due to check out. Don't bother, said the owner. It will print out quickly in the morning. It didn't. They couldn't find the second half of the bill. We were charged the upgraded price. We protested. Another row. It all left a bad taste. Such a shame. Had it not been for this experience we would have booked immediately for a larger group the following year. Nevertheless, I would recommed La Ferme du Chozal to others for the location, the food, the sitting room, with fireplace, the general ambiance. Just remember "mountain room" means no proper window, and, especially in winter, choose another room instead. And remember that in this hotel the owners, not the customers, are always right.


Helpful?
2 Thank quaestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauteluce
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Caribou
Hotel Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Les Saisies
98 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Caprice des Neiges
Le Caprice des Neiges
#1 of 2 in Crest-Voland
90 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Calgary
Le Calgary
#139 of 583 in Savoie
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Les Embrunes
Belambra Clubs - Les Embrunes
#1 of 1 in Villard-sur-Doron
109 reviews
6.1 mi away
Les Chalets de La Griyotire
Les Chalets de La Griyotire
#1 of 5 in Praz Sur Arly
98 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel les Ancolies
Hotel les Ancolies
#4 of 4 in Areches
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme du Chozal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme du Chozal

Property: La Ferme du Chozal
Address: 361 route des Combes, 73620, Hauteluce, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Hauteluce
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hauteluce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Ferme du Chozal 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All year round, indulge a relaxing stay in a preserved valley: the Beaufortain.In winter: 175 km of slopes, 160 km cross country skiing, snow shoe trails…in summer time discover the unspoiled nature and patrimony of Savoie.We welcome you in a recently restored farmhouse: stone, wood and warm fabrics, old pieces of furniture and rare objects contrast with a contemporary touch. At your disposal: sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi, massage room, outdoor pool and bicycles in summer time.Should it be in front of the fire place, comfortably sitting in the library or enjoying a delicious meal with friends contemplating the Mont-Blanc, you are at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Ferme du Chozal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing