We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Location, Apartment Facilities &”
Review of Club Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Alpina
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value, Location, Apartment Facilities &”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends therefore we had x2 six bedroom rooms. The apartments are by no means big but the space is useful. For the price of these apartments you get alot for your money in terms of cleanliness, facilities and location. It is located 200yds from the main resort gondala, a short walk with the all the gear.

When we arrived the staff were lovely and friendly. They also sell ski passes there for the same price as the lift, so you don't need to go anywhere to get your pass.

It has a separate toilet, bath & shower. Therefore you don't have to wait for the bathroom.

The only double bed in the apartment is very small and ours seemed to cave inwards, but it was a warm little snug at the front. The other two rooms were upstairs. One twin room is in the attic, therefore it has a sloping roof. The other room is spacious with twin beds and a sink.

Microwave and oven is a little strange. It has some odd settings, so don't expect to cook a four course meal. But it worked perfectly for heating already cooked food.

There are some great facilities with a table tennis, foozball table, sauna, steam room and swimming pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms on the 3rd floor and you get the sun at lunchtime on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although we upgraded to a 6 person apartment at the last minute there is no way 6 people could have used the apartment we were given. There was only ever enough hot water for 2.5 showers in the morning or evening, the toilet was laughable - it was in a broom cupboard and ridiculously tiny, the "sofa" took 3 people but 2 comfortably so at that end of the day 2 of us had to sit on hard dining room chairs, the double bed was only accessible from one side so I had to wake my husband up if I needed to get out of bed in the night for example and that room was tiny too. There was not enough room to put clothes away for 4 people again let alone 6! The swimming pool was not open and that was one of the main reason's we choose this place, the sauna was good though and I ended up booking the sauna just to use the shower down there as there was not enough hot water in the apartment - not very convenient! The kitchen was well equipped, the view was good and the proximity to the lift was good but otherwise the hotel was not liked by us very much. The bar was small and we found the staff not very friendly. Be aware also that Reception closes at 8.00pm and so when we found it was getting very cold on our first night we struggled to put the heaters on as there was no information pack about the apartment in the apartment apart from the restaurant's menu! It would seem that other people found this to be a good hotel so I would just suggest that you avoid Room 11 at all costs!

Room Tip: The views from the front of the hotel are lovely but avoid Room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club A, Propriétaire at Club Alpina, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Google Translation
Traduction google:
Without controversy we recall that we are a family residence classified 2 ** (not 4 ****!) That meets including with respect to areas of national rankings. In 2 **, the reception is open EVERY day from 8h to 19h (20h for arrivals) and we offer free Sauna, Hammam, Swimming pool (OPEN from 16h to 20h30, when our customers return from skiing to relax), bathroom games ... The bar is not an English pub! or a night bar (there are facilities for it in the station) and we prefer the tranquility of the people dining at the restaurant (independent) or wishing to enjoy peacefully the living room with fireplace. About the apartment, electric heaters all have as standard everywhere on and off button and drive it just turn! Hot water is provided by water heaters INDIVIDUAL apartment, and we can only regret that these clients do not report this problem during the stay as ALL being owner-operators our chalet for 25 years we remain fully responsive to all problems ... it is still necessary that we are aware! Given the price paid for our services, your choice may not be comparable to a 4 * residence and advise you for your next vacation to direct you to an institution of higher category
En français:
Sans faire de polémique nous tenons à rappeler que nous sommes une résidence familiale classée 2** ( et non pas 4****!) qui répond aux normes dont notamment en ce qui concerne les superficies du classement national. En 2**, la réception est ouverte TOUS les jours de 8h à 19h (20h pour les arrivées) et nous proposons gratuitement Sauna, Hammam, Piscine ( OUVERTE des 16h à 20h30, lorsque nos clients rentrent du ski pour se détendre), salle de jeux ... Le bar n'est pas un pub anglais ! ni un bar de nuit (il y a des établissements pour cela dans la station) et nous privilégions la tranquillité des personnes dînant au restaurant (indépendant) ou souhaitant profiter paisiblement du salon avec cheminée. Concernant l'appartement, les radiateurs électriques standards possèdent tous comme partout un bouton on et off et un variateur qu'il suffit de tourner! L'eau chaude est assurée par des chauffe-eau INDIVIDUELS par appartement, et nous ne pouvons regretter que ces clients n'aient pas signaler ce problème durant TOUT le séjour car étant les propriétaires exploitants de notre chalet depuis 25 ans nous restons entièrement réactifs a tous problèmes...encore faut-il que nous en soyons informés! Eu égard au prix payé pour nos prestations, votre choix ne peut pas être comparable a une résidence 4* et nous vous conseillons pour vos prochaines vacances de vous orienter vers un établissement de catégorie supérieure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Skiing holiday for 17 (4 families including 9 teenagers) some expert and some complete beginners is not so easy to plan but Erna Low were amazing. Recommended the Club Alpina rather than chalet so we all had our own family space. We were upgraded as couldn't get size of room requested, we are used to Pierre et Vacances this was so huge with all we needed to self cater but we mostly ate out, had breakfast in hotel which kept us going to tea! Pool and snug bar area used daily by kids. Perfect location as 1min walk to gondola lift to nursery slope and then 2 more short lifts into main La Plagne area. Couple of bars, shops etc in town also 2 mins walk. If you love to ski distances but don't want the commercalisation ofa big resort this is perfect.

Room Tip: We had a room for 7 for 4 of us and it was HUGE. Be careful on the stairs in apartments as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiingaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Club Alpina, Champagny en Vanoise from 21st to 28th January 2012. A great hotel with such friendly staff at every level, the owners could not have made us more welcome from the minute we arrived to the moment we left. I have ski'd in France many times and this Chalet /Hotel is clean, bright and for skiers who want a pretty village, a great location and fab skiing this place is spot on....by the way the food and wine is reasonably priced and very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnybchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited this apartment block for Christmas 2011, and had a really good time. The apartments were clean, and well maintained. Very spacious for a ski apartment! The owners are very friendly, and the kids enjoyed the swimming pool. We chose the half board option, and the food was really good. Four courses every night, plus wine. Access to the ski slopes was very easy, and the parking was free. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
2 Thank BungleBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in the Club Alpina on self catering basis for half term skiing. The location is at the top of the village but 3 minutes walk from the gondola lift. The two person studio whilst small had a balcony and was functional. The owner immediately dealt with two problems we had (light bulbs and two broken sofa bed wooden slats). Club Alpina has a complimentary sauna and hamman and you can hire the jacuzzi for 8 euros.
There is a restaurant where we had a meal one night. We chose the 26 euro fixed price menu and thoroghly enjoyed all courses.
For self catering there are two small supermarkets a wonderful boulangerie and good quality butchers and a Farmers shop selling wonderful cheese etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champagny-en-Vanoise hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Glieres
Les Glieres
#2 of 4 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Les Edelweiss
Residence Les Edelweiss
#1 of 5 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
CGH Residences & Spas Les Alpages de Champagny
CGH Residences & Spas Les Alpage...
#2 of 5 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ancolie
Hotel Ancolie
#1 of 4 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
58 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Club Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Alpina

Property: Club Alpina
Address: | Les Hauts du Crey, 73350 Champagny-en-Vanoise, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Champagny-en-Vanoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Champagny-en-Vanoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Club Alpina 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneviève and René welcome you in their charming chalet with a family atmosphere, exposed to the South in the heart of an authentic Savoyard village: Champagny en Vanoise. You will have the choice of renting apartments for 2 to 12 people, fully equipped and functional, ideally located in winter, starting from the ski slopes ski area La Plagne - Les Arcs and in summer in the center of the village. For a carefree holiday, enjoy the services of a hotel and the "plus" FREE including SPA and SWIMMING POOL indoor and outdoor, games room and Fitness. The choice of the chalet hotel residence rental offers you independence and autonomy ... without constraints. Reception, Restaurant, Bar, Living room fireplace with library Savoy, Massages and Beauty Treatments and Jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Club Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing