We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Westonbury Mill Water Gardens
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Pembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

lovely gardens and friendly staff in the coffee shop. Prices in the shop were a bit expensive but the quality of the food was good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fnorma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    28
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightfully eccentric”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a gem of a garden to delight the eye and entertain the mind. The adults in the party enjoyed the changing vistas, the variety of planting and the quirky follies whilst the small children loved imagining themselves as dinosaurs in the tunnel under the Gunnera Manicata (Giant Rhubarb) or repelling border marauders on the spiral mound. Not to be missed are the stone tower, water powered cuckoo clock or the bottle house, all in truly English eccentric manner. This is a lovely garden that displays sincerity, knowledge and wit and is the realisation of one man's vision.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Double0sable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Picked up a leaflet whilst staying overnight in Titley and because the weather was good we decided to give it a go.
Got there before it opened but the owner said it wax okay to go into the gardens and we could pay later, very trusting I thought.
Anyway the gardens are fantastic with little follies dotted around to make it more interesting, we actually went around a couple of times and spent the best part of 3 hours there.
Due to all the clever planting there were more Butterfly's than I've seen for many Summers and also plenty of very happy Bees.
The Cuckoo Clock wasn't working but it's hardly the main purpose of these gardens so no loss of enjoyment for us, didn't eat at the Cafe so I can't really comment on the hygiene (as a previous reviewed did), again not why we went I didn't feel it right to knock off stars.
A lot of hard work and commitment has gone into producing this beautiful wildlife haven and its definitely worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sutsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltsh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden but cafe hygiene needs attention.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visited this lovely little garden whilst staying with family.The twists and turns and 'natural' planting were a delight For those that wished to admire the peace and planting, there was ample strategically placed seating.Unfortunately the cuckoo clock was not working at the time of our visit..We visited Polly's Pantry for lunch.However, it is here that we feel the owner needs to review procedure. There were people queueing for the one till to pay for plants from the Nursery, order meals and buy drinks from the chiller. Consequently there was a lot of dodging to keep out of others' way. Worse than this, the girl on the till handled money and then served a scone using the same hand. Where were the tongs? Also another girl was serving up salad, again with bare hands. It is usual to use blue disposable gloves for this purpose. The pork pie salad was tasty but we might have felt differently if we had seen the hygiene standards before we ate it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great visit for families, especially in this heat!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wonderful location, unique use of water in Herefordshire and that enormous cuckoo clock and water tower. Also enjoyed ramble up the mound pretending to be a marauding welshwoman fighting for Owain Glyndwr. Teas were great too - served by Polly's Pantry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westonbury Mill Water Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Westonbury Mill Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing