We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous meal (again)”

The King's House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Pembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With over thirty-five years in the hospitality industry, you can rely on Stuart and Jan to provide a meal to remember.Whether you like a tasty traditional treat or something inspired by restaurants around the world. Jan's creation will not disappoint. Drop in for lunch or book for dinner, you'll receive a warm welcome and the chance to choose from a mouthwatering menu. If you are planning a celebration - for a small party or a romantic meal for two - Stuart and Jan will make it a date to remember. All the food is cooked to order and you may wish to compliment your food with a glass of wine or champagne from the equally impressive wine list. Round it off with a delicious pud, an aromatic freshly ground coffee and home-made chocolates and you'll be certain to leave with a SMILE ON YOUR FACE AND A VERY HAPPY TUMMY.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fabulous meal (again)”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having found this wonderful restaurant by accident earlier in the year we travelled 80 miles and stayed locally overnight for a return visit to this exceptional establishment. It lived up to our expectations and the boasting we had done to the friends we took with us. The meal was fabulous and the staff are all so friendly, but not in the least pushy, the special birthday candles in the desserts were a lovely little extra. I might have to find another excuse to go back again next year!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allyson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are always flattered when someone chooses to celebrate a special occasion of any sort with us, but traveling 80 miles and stopping overnight goes beyond the call of duty! However I do know that the local B&B you used would have spoiled you rotten as well so, hopefully you may repeat the experience again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    24
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Kings House: it's worth its name”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Pembridge is but a small village, but The Kings House is a restaurant one would expect in a much larger town. Apparently the people from the region know where to find quality and therefore give the right advise to foreign guests like me and my wife. When you simply want to get rid of your hunger, don’t go to The Kings House but go to McDonalds. When you want an evening, centred around excellent food, hospitality and wonderful atmosphere, then The Kings house is the place to be. We cherish our memory of this gem of Herefordshire.
Cor + Paula

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Manager at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Meeting people like yourselves, both from afar and and nearer to home, is what we so enjoy about the hospitality industry that Jan and I have both been associated with for the last forty two years. Here's to the next forty two !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional menu and great meals”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The menu was extensive, food beautiful prepared and plentiful. Great wine list and excellent, friendly service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReneDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for a succinct and glowing review. We all keep working as a team to ensure all our guests get to feel as you did about your visit to us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Evening for a bi annual 'meeting'”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

After a long journey fromNew Zealand the well anticipated evening meal at 'The King's Head' with old friends proved to be successful with as usual great food and a most welcoming service provided by Jan and Stuart,anyone travelling by and wanting a good meal should look no further!
Be back again in 2015.
thanks
Willy'

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank willy250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much Willy. All being well we will be ready to welcome you again in 2015. We all look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“have better food at home”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What can I say really disappointed our steaks were rubbery and dry,frozen chips, the plate on the table when we arrived was a plate of stale bread with soft cheese, awful. Really overpriced.None of us enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 307jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to us. We are revising our offering of "nibbles" at the table from toasted french bread which two reviewers have now interpreted as "stale" to small savoury biscuits and olives instead. The review of the steaks does surprise us as we are often complimented on our local butchers skills, and we cannot understand why nothing was said at the table as every one of our guests is asked if they enjoyed their meal. We could at least had a chance to make amends if all was not well. Howevere if you feel compelled to let us know your views in this way, so be it. We can only offer our belated apologies but are now unable to rectify the problem on a person to person basis as we would have preferred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's House Restaurant also viewed

Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Shobdon, Herefordshire
 

Been to The King's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing