We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm welcome”

The King's House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Pembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With over thirty-five years in the hospitality industry, you can rely on Stuart and Jan to provide a meal to remember.Whether you like a tasty traditional treat or something inspired by restaurants around the world. Jan's creation will not disappoint. Drop in for lunch or book for dinner, you'll receive a warm welcome and the chance to choose from a mouthwatering menu. If you are planning a celebration - for a small party or a romantic meal for two - Stuart and Jan will make it a date to remember. All the food is cooked to order and you may wish to compliment your food with a glass of wine or champagne from the equally impressive wine list. Round it off with a delicious pud, an aromatic freshly ground coffee and home-made chocolates and you'll be certain to leave with a SMILE ON YOUR FACE AND A VERY HAPPY TUMMY.
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited The Kings House with some friends,the building is amazing and the restaurant has a very cosy atmosphere,we found the welcome and service second to none! The food was great as well.There was only one thing we could fault:our steaks were overcooked,I ordered rare and it came what I would call medium rare,my wife ordered medium rare and it was well done! having said that the meat was delicious as was everything we had! Would we return? Yes. If we are in the area again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stjohnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We enjoyed meeting you and your friends and were pleased you all had a good dining experience. We are sorry that the steaks were a tad overdone for your liking and will try to turn the grill down a little next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    24
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FINE CUISINE IN WARM SURROUNDINGS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well what can we say, we have lived just 12-14 minutes away since 1980 and just discovered this fantastic 14th/15th century Inn, well to be honest more of a fantastic 21st century restaurant.
First visit this summer, daughter, son-in-law and three children were camping just down the road, wife wanted to visit Grandkids . . . weather not to good and I did not want to be wrapping up beside camp fire, so suggested we take them out to Sunday lunch . . . what a decision, Stuart managed to fit us in, that's me, the wife, daughter and husband and three ragga-muffin camping children all welcomed and looked after in fine style by Stuart and catered for by Jan in fine style.
So much enjoyed decided to take eldest daughter and hubby and kids out for Sunday Lunch on their 25th Wedding Anni. Family Party of 13 in all. again fanatastic greeting and fantastic food but not least of all the table laid for 14 just in case one of our family was superstitious . . that's class . . . but even better the 14th seat was occupied by a huge Teddy which was well appreciated by the Grandkids. . . So wife Barbara's (Boss) birthday arrived this month (15th Nov) and I said we should go to The Kings House for dinner to celebrate . . . here we are in the evening and again it was great both greeting, service and cuisine, so like it or not Jan and Stuart, we will be back . . . Thanks, Les and Barbara

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank les r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking the trouble to note your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We alwas pass on both the "bouquets and the brickbats" to our team and we all take them very seriously and are always trying to improve things at The Kings House Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Like Grandma's...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Read the reviews of the Kings House and they were right... good ol'fashioned cooking just like your Grandmas!

Sunday Lunch, the traditional way - roast beef was well cooked, lovely roasts, gravy full of taste and the odd twist... parsnips with cream and breadcrumbs! Tastes better than it sounds, honest!

Puddings were areal treat too - looked great & tasted just as good. Profiteroles were really popular and for good reason! And the 'sparkler' on the 'Birthday Girls' pud was a lovely gesture too.

The only thing my Grandma wouldn't do is serve 'off' milk - an accident that the Waitresses were genuinely mortified with. Easily done, hence the 4/5 but don't let that put you off! The KH is friendly and attentive in a good old fashioned way with food to match. Be aware that you need to order by 1.15pm - another ol'fashioned feature. Not saying it is right or wrong but just so you know.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments as we actually pride ourself on providing old fashioned service and hospitality as there is far too little in this busy world we all live in. We do however have modern touches like free WiFi and we will take a photo and put it on an iPad for the guests to email to themselves for when they get home! So all is not lost !! Again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Came here last year for Sunday lunch it was so good we decided to call again this year. We were not dissapointed in any way, the food and service were fantastic. Jan and Stuart are the nicest people ever and make you very welcome. We can't wait for our next visit to this area we will certainly be back here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garageman0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. The team take our reviews seriously and are always trying to "up our game". We always look forward to seeing you all again and are waiting eagerly for next Easter to come around !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back in time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We felt we were taking part in an episode of the Avengers. One of the early ones in black and white with Emma Peel. The food was cooked just like I remember from then with lots of thick rich gravy. Not to say it was bad, just if you are used to modern cuisine it is a bit of a shock. Service was friendly, nice people, just not our style.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3994sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan and Stuart B, Owner at The King's House Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are really sorry that you found our menu to be over-sauced. It is a fact that, in the last quarter of the year, we tend to produce more of the "comfort food" style of presentation. Although,I must say that Fillet of Sea Bass on a Stir Fry of Oriental Vegetables with Lemon and Ginger or Smoked Haddock with a Pea and Mint Pureee are more "New Tricks" than "The Avengers". If you should feel able to visit us again, please ask and we will happily adapt to suit your tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's House Restaurant also viewed

Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Shobdon, Herefordshire
Kingsland, Leominster
 

Been to The King's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing