We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, if you are looking for an alternative to italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calycanto

Calycanto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, if you are looking for an alternative to italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Another very good restaurant in this beautiful small town. The tastefully decorated place features a nice terrace and is tucked away in a small street in the car-free center. There are almost no Italian dishes on the menu. Instead the recipes come from allover the world. Despite being determined to eat only Italian food during our holidays, we enjoyed the meal very much. Reasonably priced, friendly service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OgeUf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    201
    52
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing! The best food, service and atmosphere in Santarcangelo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

As said before, Calycanto is love at first sight. It is by far the best restaurant in Santarcangelo. The food is great and the menu is definitely exquisite.
The atmosphere is very delightful and the service completes the whole package of this incredible place.
It is impossible not to mention the variety of desserts they offer. However I always go for the "Bongo Chobi" which is indeed one of the best desserts I've tasted all over the world.
Congratulations to the Calycanto team for being able to create such and exclusive space up the hills of Santarcangelodi Romagna.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank guikc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An absolute must to visit in Santarcangelo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Visited this restaurant last year with friends when we were staying in Rimini - and what a find!! It is in the picturesque old town in Santarcangelo. The food is out of this world. Italian cuisine to me is very repetative. Pasta, Pizza or red meat, unless you go to a fish restaurant where the fish is served with the head ,tail and bones and you have to sort through it to get to the fillet. At Calycanto we were amazed by the varied choice on offer. Starters such as cous cous, small indian chicken skewers with various dips, soup etc. For mains they had fillet steak with pepper sauce, curry, moroccan tagine and I had a mouthwatering large tuna steak cooked to perfection on the grill with a lime and pepper sauce. I was told the sweets were all home-made and not a Tiramisu in sight. The wine waiter was on hand to offer advice on the wine list and we were not disappointed. If you want something different to all the other restaurants in the town you will not be disappointed in Calycanto. Make sure you are hungry as the portions are huge. At the back of the restaurant there is one of the old grottos that the town is famous for and they had it all lit up with fairy lights, really romantic. You will be amazed by this restaurant. It is only open in the evening apparently. We sent some friends but they went at lunchtime and it was closed.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Abolutely Fabulos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

This restaurant is AB FAB!!!!
if i had the money id go there every day!
id reccomend it to anyone, no matter how fussy you are about your food, there will always be somthing there for you!
the menus change seasonally so there will always be somthing different each visit! cost is in euros

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calycanto also viewed

Santarcangelo di Romagna, Province of Rimini
Santarcangelo di Romagna, Province of Rimini
 
Santarcangelo di Romagna, Province of Rimini
Santarcangelo di Romagna, Province of Rimini
 

Been to Calycanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing