We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour, even if you're detouring from China.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We came from Washington, DC to Burgundy and spent a perfect three nights at the Chateau, a movie set worthy of Catherine Deneuve, with magnificent grounds, a vegetable garden that, with a little help from the innovative kitchen, showcases vegetables that turn up on your table in the evening meal. The adorable dog, known to turn up at day's end with truffles in his mouth, is worthy of a New Yorker story. The indoor cave-like pool and setting melts stress in a second.

You could easily spend a day under the beautiful tree in the center of the front yard, reading a book and forgetting about the overflowing gutters at home. If you must, there are neighboring wine towns for retail therapy and Paris is not too far away.

I'm planning to return.
Sofia B

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Please imagine a magnificent chateau situated alongside a lovely river surrounded by beautiful flowers and mature trees. Sound like a dream? On our first visit we drove up the driveway and we were granted access through an iron gate. We were greeted by peacocks, birds of all kinds and a lovely dog his name was Reglise and we will never forget him. He went with us on our daily walks - king and queen of the manor. This is a lovely place to stay in burgundy. We are returning for our fifth visit and frankly we have constructed this trip to be able to stay here. The owners are warm and welcoming and it truly feels like coming home.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piper150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is one of the very few special places I have been, where I desire to came back to, over and over again. The midieval castle is one of the most gorgeous in the French countryside, in a beautifully wooded settting, along a picturesque stream, on the edge of the historic village, Lugny, which is home to one of France's most famous 3-Star Michelin resatuarants. The rooms are individually and tastefully decorated, with elegance and warmth. The dining room is in the historic kitchen in front of the enormous hearth/fireplace. Most important is the service, warmth and friendliness of the staff, especially the owners Elisabeth and Paquel. They cater to your every need and want; and can even create fun and excitment inside the chateau as well as offering help with many activities and excursions in the Burgundy region. I recently had a midieval costume party there. Elisabeth supplied the very realistic custumes along with a dance group and music troubadours... I warn you that this will be habit forming if you come just once.
EG
US Ambassador, Ret.

Room Tip: All the rooms are special, different and exquisite. There are no bad rooms in the Chateau that I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EdG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our second stay at Chateau de Vault de Lugny and once again the experience was exceptional. The location is private and beautiful and the accommodation is spacious, décor traditional and opulent with all the mod cons. For those guests driving the parking is covered and secure. The service is excellent (respectful, friendly and efficient - nothing is too much trouble) and then there is the truly amazing food! The chef had noted the food we particularly loved from our last stay and on our first visit to the dining room this time consulted with us - would we like to order from the new menu or would we like him to cook our favourite dishes/food from our last visit. The wine list is good and extensive and the service staff very knowledgeable. The property is occupied by the owners Elisabeth and Pascal who are always on hand to offer assistance and advice of this very special region. We found their approach to be professional, relaxed and friendly - the perfect mix!. If you have enjoyed such properties as Southern Ocean Lodge (Kangaroo Island, South Australia) Saffire (Tasmania, Australia) or the Hotel le Bristol in Paris, you will love this Chateau. I can not recommend visiting this fantastic place enough - every reason to come to France!

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are great but our room on the first floor looked out over the front gardens of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This stunning Chateau set in the quiet Burgundian countryside is what one dreams of when planning to escape to France. The rooms are gorgeous and the grounds and common areas are impeccably maintained, dotted with cozy little nooks to relax and read in. There is a lovely indoor pool under a vaulted ceiling that is inviting and private, which I really enjoyed.

I could speak volumes of the architectural marvel that is the Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny, but it is the staff that makes this getaway the special place that it is. The owners, Elizabeth and Pascal, have succeeded in striking the perfect balance between providing service fit for royalty and making you feel right at home. The staff is friendly yet unimposing, willing and ready to do anything to make your stay special.

The dining experience is the best that I have had in France, and in my line of work I dine in some of the finest establishments this country has to offer. The Chef and his culinary team are passionate about serving only the freshest ingredients they harvest from their garden and the best that the local terroir has to offer. The wine list provides yet another reason to extend your stay.

This Chateau is a wonderful place to come relax and discover France's finest wine region. Elizabeth and Pascal can help with recommendations of local attractions; some highlights: truffle hunting with their dog and a hot air balloon excursion. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nestled in the rolling hills around Avallon is this perfect chateau. It exudes an aristocratic quality, surrounded by a moat, old stone walls and well furnished. The staff are so friendly and helpful and just do everything without fuss or making you feel uncomfortable. All the rooms are individually decorated to a very standard. The dinner was fabulous. The swimming pool in the cellar is unique.
Difficult to praise this enough and a big compliment to the owners for their vision.
If you are wanting to experience a romantic getaway this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandgNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

An incredible place and a perfect escape from the craziness of the city. My husband and I absolutely fell in love with the Chateau, it's sweet staff, four legged friends and by far the most exquisite dining experience. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vault-de-Lugny
0.7 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
276 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
12.3 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Beursaudiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#2 of 6 in Avallon
273 reviews
23.1 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
24.8 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny

Address: 11 rue du Chateau, 89200 Vault-de-Lugny, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Vault-de-Lugny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Price Range: $235 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idealy located between Vezelay and Chablis, the moated Chateau de Vault de Lugny has been built between the XIII & XVII Century. the Chateau offers 16 luxurious rooms overlooking the spacious gardens, several with fireplaces, four poster bed & period furniture. Award of the best indoor pool & jacuzzi. A unique place for a romantic & relaxing stay in Burgundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vault-De-Lugny Hotel Vault-De-Lugny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing