We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what a chateau should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Using our trusty GPS,we arrived in the afternoon. We were a bit dismayed as the promised and confirmed room was not available, since its occupants elected to stay longer. We were given another room at the junior suite level and found it to our liking. There was an elegant bathroom with double sinks and all was well lit. The bedroom was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The property itself is wonderful,with ancient buildings and a moat adding to the scenery. There are all kinds of birds and geese plus three dogs wandering around. -the dogs all friendly. Dinner was good, but not over the top. Service was excellent. They garaged our car and made sure the windows were clean every day. They even mapped out routes we could take to explore this historic area.Highly recommended

Room Tip: Make sure your room has more than one window in it. Those tend to be quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

Location is fantastic as were the buildings and grounds. Proprietor and staff were all very friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much trouble. The quality of the food and wine was absolutely excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay and would certainly return. All this comes at a price though - it is not a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robp748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

this must be paradise! moats, goats, gardens, peacocks, a dungeon and medieval grand chateau and the town of espoisses around the corner. there are rolling hills with white cows grazing everywhere. the hosts could not have been kinder and it is no surprise to see the upscale group of backroad bikers also as guests. our intimate dining experience could also be described with perfection!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abl510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

As i've repeatedly said, hotels are like food and wine, very personal and subjective.
We had been here previously and my wife hesitates at returning to the same location.
Yet on this trip,Lynn suggested that we return to the Chsteau - we had such fond memories - and the roaming peacocks and other birds were a major part of this - other reviewers though obviously see them as a sideshow.
We'd previously had a suite and I was slightly disappointed to be "downgraded" - the owners response was "you obviously booked by the internet" and they clearly didn;t bother checking that I was a repeat customer.
The service was probably ordinary and the food was so-so but we didn;t come here for a food experience - it is what it is - and we love it for that.
Vezelay is a wonderful base to explore the Burgundy region and we would certainly come back to the Chateau again and again - hopefully the owners next time remember us and give us a better room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We just got back from spending 4 nights at this property and we could not have been more pleased. First off, we were upgraded to a junior suite at no extra cost when we arrived. The room was large with a very comfortable bed and a large modern bathroom. The staff could not have been nicer. They were very courteous and always wanted to make sure you had everything you wanted. We ate at the hotel restaurant which was incredible. One of the chefs preparations was foie gras soup and foie gras creme brulee which we still talk about. The meal was exquisitely served in a charming dining room and the wait staff could not have been more professional. The grounds of the hotel could not be better. The most enjoyable time for us was sitting on lounge chairs under a 400 year old tree drinking a glass of wine while watching the geese, ducks, peacocks, and turkeys stroll by. The sounds of the geese and ducks and turkeys screaming out bring a smile to my face everytime I think of them. It was fun to walk around the grounds of this castle with its moat and watchtower. If you want a beautiful hotel where you can relax after a day of touring, this is the place for you. You feel you are in a special setting because there are very few rooms and you really feel like you a lord of the manor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We just finished a magical stay at the Château de Vault-de-Lugny in Burgundy. The chateau and its grounds are everything we could have hoped for in the French countryside—a stately chateau, an ancient keep, a moat and its river and a beautiful park. All of this surrounding a courtyard where we sat every evening before dining. Dinner was served each night in front of a majestic fireplace, in an ancient room with a vaulted ceiling. The surrounding countryside also contributed to the romance of the vacation with its pastoral setting replete with tiny ancient villages many having their own chateaux; churches, abbayes and museums. It was truly romantic!
The young chef and the pastry chef did such a good job of blending the traditional Burgundian food with creative touches that made every meal exciting. We ate a simple rack of lamb and potato puree, breast of chicken and risotto with morel sauce, and small ravioli in a delicious asparagus cream. We loved the snails with watercress garnished with fried garlic slivers, a much lighter dish than the usual preparation--perfect for a warm spring evening. We also enjoyed a delicious pigeon, fresh vegetables from the garden, ecrevisses, and numerous dishes seasoned with the flowers from the wild “garlic of the bear” a native herb that grows in abundance on the banks of the river on the property. A highlight was a coq au vin a la royale, a variation on the same dish usually made with wild hare and foi gras. It was lighter than hare and absolutely delicious.
Desserts were light and delicious and for the first time we tasted whipped cream flavored with the essence of acacia flowers, something we had only read about in old French novels. The pastry chef also made the best vanilla macarons we have ever tasted, a delightful addition to several desserts and the traditional little treats that came with the coffee.
The wine list had something for everyone. There were bottles of great vintages for the true connoisseurs but also excellent bottles that represent the region well at reasonable prices and a very good list of wins by the glass.
The servers at dinner were attentive; kind and professional. This was true of all the hotel personnel. The maitre-d’hotel was especially patient and helpful. On arriving we were greeted promptly and shown to our room efficiently. The feeling we took away of all the staff was one of competence and graciousness.
Our room was so pretty! It had a view of the courtyard and the green hills beyond the gates. It was elegant and every comfort was provided including a working fireplace.
The owners of the chateau and their team tried to do everything to make our visit memorable and they succeeded!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scclark1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this establishment for two nights in late April. The setting and grounds were absolutely gorgeous. We had a comfortable - but nothing spectacular - room in one of the outbuildings. For unique entertainment there were geese, goats, peacocks, chickens, dogs, and turkeys roaming around. These creatures were not at all bothersome and added to the uniqueness of the property. There was also a moat around the property with access thru a controlled gate. Just very delightful and we did not experience any screaming kids that others posted about. The disappointment, though, was the restaurant. The restaurant itself had nice ambiance with a hugh open fireplace and nice background music. The menu itself was somewhat ponderous with respect to descriptions and the wine list was the size of large city telephone book - with many selections costing well in excess of 4000 euros a bottle. After a lot of searching, I managed to find a white burgundy for 98 euros (appx $150). The waitstaff consisted of a "lead" waiter/sommelier and a "helper." The helper was basically clueless through the meal and the waiter seemed somewhat stressed out. Due to the vagueness of the menu descriptions we ordered an a la carte meal that totaled out to around 325 euros including the wine (appx $500). My main selections were scallops and a mild white fish. My wife ordered escargots and chicken. My selections turned out ok but nothing very memorable in terms of presentation or taste. My wife liked the snails but her chicken was a disaster. I doubt it was a Bresse chicken but in any event it was coated in a heavy red wine sauce that overpowered the chicken such that you couldn't tell what it was that you were eating. The meat was also very shredded which added to the mystery. All throughout, the waitstaff was bumbling and confused. Just keeping water and wine glasses filled seemed to be a great effort. For dessert we were interested in their ice cream selection but we were unable to get the waiter or helper to describe what flavor or flavors were available. We were led to believe that we could each receive one scoop of ice cream of some TBD flavor at a price of 22 euros each. At that point my brain kicked in to determine that the dessert would be like two ice cream cones - without the cones - for a price of appx. $65 dollars. Sanity prevailed at that point and we passed on dessert as well as eating there the following night. You would think at the prices they were charging that they could at least orchestrate the meal better. There seemed to be more emphasis on the presentation versus the quality of the meal itself. My wife clearly articulated the chicken experience to the desk staff the next morning and and she said "Merci" and proceeded to prepare the check. But it was a very beautiful place but with no other restaurants close by.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the outbuildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vault-de-Lugny
0.7 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
257 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
572 reviews
23.1 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
24.8 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny

Address: 11 rue du Chateau, 89200 Vault-de-Lugny, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Vault-de-Lugny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Price Range: $201 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idealy located between Vezelay and Chablis, the moated Chateau de Vault de Lugny has been built between the XIII & XVII Century. the Chateau offers 16 luxurious rooms overlooking the spacious gardens, several with fireplaces, four poster bed & period furniture. Award of the best indoor pool & jacuzzi. A unique place for a romantic & relaxing stay in Burgundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vault-De-Lugny Hotel Vault-De-Lugny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing