We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding night.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maitland City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maitland City Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
tenambit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wedding night.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a room for the night of our wedding which was included in our wedding package at maitland city bowling club.Whilst the quality and service at the reception was fantastic we were very dissapointed with the staff at the reception of the motel.We found them to be very rude and unobliging and was not the finish we were expecting to otherwise a beautiful day. Not only once but in the weeks leading up to the wedding every time we contacted them they were very rude and unhelpful.We would definitely not stay there again nor recommend to any of our friends.DISSAPOINTED!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
13
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very very comfortable, and very reasonable rates. Stayed there for five days. Staff where very nice and helpful. Great location, Shops and super market very close ( 1 minute walk.) Bowling Club over the back fence. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and didn't have a good night sleep any night because of road noise, we stayed in a rm out the front and the trucks are very loud all day and night, apart from this it was a pleasant place to stay. Got woken up 3 mornings for our room to be serviced at around 9am, as we didn't get much sleep during the night we were still in bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlynmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed one night in February, room clean, cable tv, all the things you'd expect in a mid range country motel. Walking distance to bowling club where the food was above average for a bowing club.

Couple of minor issues, lumpy and hard bed. Rooms facing the highway could do with more sound insulation.

I'd stay there again but ask for a room with a better bed.

Room Tip: room at the back if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Nth Coast Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Booked this room for one night on Wotif as alternative to accommodation in Singleton as it was totally booked out. Paid $90 for the night for standard room but was upgraded to the sparoom as the hotel was full of miner workers. Even though the hotel was full to capacity and situated on the New England Highway it was surprisingly quiet. Room was very clean and had LCD tv with sky channel. It had tea/coffee making facilities and some biscuits. Hotel is just under a 2km easy walk from Telarah Station but you can catch a bus. Bed was comfortable and room was air conditioned. Staff friendly and there is parking on site. Free Wifi just need code from reception.

NB: All the hotels from Singleton to Maitland on a Tuesday and Wednesday were at capacity with miners so it may pay to book ahead.

Room Tip: I was in room 53 which has a spa bath and was facing away from Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISMORE,NSW
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for three nights for a family wedding. Basic three star motel - very clean amenities - within walking distance to club - comfortable beds. Very helpful and friendly owners/managers - would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel was spotless, as was the room. New LCD TV with digital channels, air conditioning, bar fridge, clean shower and toilet.

Great place to stay if you're traveling through the area, or need to stay in or around the Hunter area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormulaLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
4.2 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hunter Gateway
0.2 mi away
Old Maitland Inn
Old Maitland Inn
#2 of 3 in Rutherford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.2 mi away
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in East Maitland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitland City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitland City Motel

Property: Maitland City Motel
Address: 258 New England Hwy, Rutherford, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitland City Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Maitland City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maitland City Motel Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing