We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular!”

The Rutherford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Rutherford
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Regular!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are locals and regulars. Its good pub food and pretty consistent. They arent gourmet fancy food and they dont pretend too. Just a simple local pub with a family atmostphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8neyney8, Staff member at The Rutherford Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Rachel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Rutherford hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind words and hearing that you enjoy regularly visiting our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch was ordinary”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Standard pub food not done very well. I had a Peri Peri chicken burger for lunch and it was a chicken schnitzel (overcooked) with a slab of sour cream and some sweet chilli sauce. I could've cooked better at home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8neyney8, Staff member at The Rutherford Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Adaff,

We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience at The Rutherford hotel. Since you're review we have been compiling a new menu and continually working to improve our standard of service. Our lunch menu (including the peri peri burger) is a compilation of $10 meals designed to be simple, quick meals at a nice low price. However this does not excuse that you were disappointed with you meal and for this we apologise.


Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Rutherford for many years and I used to frequent this place regularly with good results.

It's not 5 star but they don't pretend to be either. It's just good quality pub food that the locals are more than happy to eat at and if the locals like it then they must be doing something right?

Most nights of the week they have a discount night ($12 schnitzels, surf & turf and grill night etc) and these meals are good value.

All in all te food is good, the service is friendly and the beer is cold... You can't ask much more from a small pub!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devil_Child78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meh!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Very average pub style food, seating odd. Little to no parking available. Service slow and sloppy. My chicken was still bleeding! Will never go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turfy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food - wide choice”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great pub food with pub prices. Recommend that you phone ahead and book as this is a popular haunt with the locals especially for birthdays etc. I was there mid-week and we were lucky to get a table.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LiggySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rutherford Hotel also viewed

Rutherford, Maitland
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Rutherford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing