We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hospitality, warm comfortable rooms, spacious bathrooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant hospitality, warm comfortable rooms, spacious bathrooms.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Once again we have been looked after at the Mecure @ Maitland. There was no problem with last minute arrangements for our large group that were attending the Lovedale long Lunch, the office ladies were more than helpful and also directed us on local services and dining facilities. Everyone was more than pleased with breaky and the large clean dining room was great to catch up with our friends before we headed back home. Thankyou once again to Sharon and Rena and the lovely chef that kept checking on our breaky to see if we were all well fed. See you all again soon hopefully.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Kassamack,
It was a joy to host your group during May this year.
We are pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us the following day.
Our guest feedback is very important to us at Mercure Maitland and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Looking forward to seeing you all again for Lovedale Long Lunch next year.

Kind Regards,

Sharon Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    122
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
55
95
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight and it was fabulous! Spacious showers, easy to find location and customer service was fantastic. For the cost the room was suitable. We took advantage of the buffet breakfast the morning of check out and it was delicious. Definitely use again when In the area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Tina L
Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay with us. I will pass this on to my staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

There is not enough space here to express our disappointment. Thin walls! had to listen to the person next door talking on the phone till 2am. Staines on the bedding and soft furniture. Yuk.

Rude staff, No Service. i Thought Mecure was an up market place to stay. I was very much mistaken.
How many stars is this place?

On a positive note, They always seem to have rooms available. If you need a place to crash and don't care much for anything but a place to sleep and willing to pay a premium. Then this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Happy T, I was shocked to read your comments regarding your stay with us. I am sorry your experience did not meet your expectations and I would really like the opportunity to discuss your stay issues in person. At Mercure Maitland we strive to provide superior service for every customer and your feedback is important to us.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Sincerely
Rena Taylor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My partner and I attended the Groovin the Moo festival and stayed here as everywhere else was booked out. It was really expensive for one night - I have paid less in the heart of Sydney CBD for a Saturday night, but due to the festival prices were inflated. We were happy with our choice.

Pros
- they had rooms available
- staff were nice when I spoke to them over the phone
- rooms were neat and nothing had grime or dirt on it
- Nice shower and bathroom
- Great sleep quality (once I removed the hairs.. read below)

Cons
- my pillow and side of the bed had small black hairs. I was really unhappy about this - I was lucky I brought my own pillow!
- there was also a previous guests hair tie on the floor. I know I am just being picky now but I really don't like strangers hair being everywhere.
-rooms were shoe-box sized
- I wanted to go for a swim but the pool didn't open til 9am and we had to leave the hotel soon after
- Not the hotels fault, but we couldn't get a parking spot in the hotel after the festival. This was the main draw card when we booked the hotel, but people attending the festivals obviously had taken up more than one spot. It was really frustrating to not be able to park our car and unload our luggage near our hotel room. I wish the hotel had a better way to monitor the cars parked there and how many spots are taken up by each room number. I would not have booked if I knew we were unable to park there.

TIP: Ladies, bring a conditioner. The one supplied by the hotel is not good, its a "conditioning shampoo" ... I checked and as far as I could see, the only difference between this conditioning shampoo and the body wash is the addition of glycerine. Left my hair tangled and knotty for the rest of my weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello Jody, thankyou for your review on your stay with us over the Groovin the Moo weekend.
I am very concerned about comments regarding the state of your room, under no circumstances is this acceptable. Can you please contact me either via phone on 02 4937 7999 or email: rena.taylor@mercuremaitland.com.au so that I may the appropriate measure to ensure all our rooms are up to standard.

Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager
Mercure Maitland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Friends and I had a couple of nights here on the weekend.. The room was clean and beds comfortable.
Close to food and petrol station.
Absolutely cannot fault the staff, they were so helpful. In particular Sharon who made a massive effort in helping us get to where we needed to be!

Would stay again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leesh1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your wonderful review regarding your stay with us over the Groovin the Moo weekend. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your comments to Sharon.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just stopping for the one night we found this place to be very convenient and easy to find. Close to lots of eateries with a pub right next door...walking distance. Huge room and bathroom, very clean. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again anytime. Breakfast was included and full buffet style, staff very nice.

Room Tip: I think most rooms would be of equal quality and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your positive review. I was so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay. I will pass your comments onto our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
2.9 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
283 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
14.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
13.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway

Property: Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Address: 11 Denton Park Drive, Rutherford, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hunter Gateway)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hunter Gateway consists of 61 well-appointed rooms; all situated at ground level, with easy access and off street parking. Opened in October 2007 this modern, Motel and Conference Centre complex is situated 5 minutes west of historic Maitland the gateway to the Hunter Valley wine region. The BEST WESTERN Hunter Gateway is ideally located for a break on route, either traveling to northern NSW or southbound to Sydney. Enjoy a short break to go winetasting in the vineyards, play golf or travel to Port Stephens to cruise the bay on a dolphin watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Hotel Maitland
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway Maitland/Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing